Beer pong and blogging. Another Saturday night in L.A.

Here I sit on a Saturday night listening to the soothing sounds of my neighbors playing beer pong and exclaiming "F*** YOU B****!" every five seconds and naturally, I’m sittting here watching Antiques Roadshow and eating cookies and my thoughts turn to the blog.  Hello blog!  How are you?  Are you bored since I went out of town?

I know.  SAD!

Anyhoo, I stayed at a nice resort this week in Oxnard (which is North of Malibu).  It was a great time!  We had a swanky room and I was blessed enough to get a bed all to myself!  Yes!  There are some benefits to being "old" in comparison to most people you work with!  We had a suite.  Nice, huh?

Dsc01423

Dsc01424

The trip was called a "staff retreat" for Young Life.  In the three years I’ve been with Young Life I haven’t been fortunate enough to attend a staff event (our area was super poor and couldn’t afford to send me because I was only "part-time" on the payroll).  Even though I didn’t really know anyone and felt like the new kid on the first day of school, I was REALLY excited to be there!  I got to meet the central Los Angeles team and get to know everyone a little bit.  I also got hooked up with lots of free food, and since it was a resort I got to lounge by the pool for a few hours on Thursday.  WOOT!  My favorite part, though, was worshipping with the other staff, sharing, and praying together.  No matter how well you know people it is so awesome to work a job that hinges on a love of God, a heart for lost teens, and (usually) being goofy.  I am blessed to work my dream job and I’m excited to see what God’s gonna do with me here in LA!

Also, I have a fireplace.  I still can’t get over it.  P.S. Like the re-arrange?

Dsc01430

Do you like how I’m making this here blog more interactive for you?  I’m also going to try out Flickr for photos.  So you can, ya know, INTERACT? Manda likes comments. Manda likes it when you remind her that you read. πŸ™‚

In other important news, we got a down blanket for our bed.  Warm wonderfulness!  The freezing cold problem is solved and it was VERY hard to get out of bed today.  When I did get out of bed we watched Johnny’s YES! show that was on PBS over the summer called State of Tomorrow.  If you click on the link you can see a little preview of the show and HEAR John in a voice over for the commercial (at the end).  First of all, my husband’s face is ALL up on that show and his interview (that was taped last summer) takes up a majority of the segment, called "Exploring New Worlds." At one point they do a HUGE close up on his eyes and my heart was all a-twitter I was so PROUD!  I wish I could figure out how to upload it and put it on this here blog but it’s probably copy-protected.  Boo.  Also, John already LENT IT OUT to someone so keep your fingers crossed that we get it back in working order.  AHH!

Also, I cooked a real meal tonight.  I KNOW!  We had chicken with mushrooms and onions and asparagus on the side.  Good stuff if I do say so myself.  The recipe is going up on my recipe blog at http://feedyourinnerfatkid.blogspot.com soon.  Check it out (and yes, it IS called "Feed Your Inner Fat Kid").

Welp, love to all.  Have a great rest of your weekend!

2 thoughts on “Beer pong and blogging. Another Saturday night in L.A.

  1. Sally says:

    Love hearing about your YL retreat. the living room looks like TLC has been there. I want to be there it looks so cozy.

Leave a Reply

