I’m an aunt! I’m an aunt!

Wiley_2

Go over and congratulate Ashley on her new dog, Wiley.  Three cheers for shelter dogs!  Yay! 

If you are looking for a new companion I totally recommend the website Petfinder.com.  It can help you find tons of pets up for adoption in your area!  And as a side note, let’s put pet stores out of business, please.  I learned this the hard way.  The ONE time I went to a pet store as an adult resulted in the purchase of a dog who was sick, malnourished, and in need of rescue.  A thousand dollars later we brought Juicy home and he spent the next two months visiting the vet on a weekly basis.  He is healthy now, (although his growth was stunted and he still gets ear infections that require special prescription drops) but I cannot emphasize to you enough that I could not leave him there in that condition, knowing that if he was not purchased soon he would probably be put down in lieu of receiving the medical attention that he needed.  We brought him home with the knowledge that there was a good chance he would not recover fully and I still get angry when I think about how he was mistreated during the first months of his life.  He is such a sweet boy and has brought so much joy to our lives.  No animal should have to go through what he did. 

We were experienced dog owners and we knew what to look for, and were willing to spend what it took to get him healthy.  I feel so bad for people who don’t know about pets, purchase a puppy, and months later have to deal with the dog’s death because it was sick and they didn’t realize it.  How awful, especially if you have children.  If we refuse to even visit these stores (and I refuse to cross the threshold of a pet store ever, ever again, I don’t care how reputable)  eventually they will go out of business.  There are thousands of great dogs and cats — and even reptiles and birds and barnyard animals — in shelters right now who deserve a chance at a home and a family.  They have all the popular breeds, even puppies.  Please, I beg you.  Do not ever go to a pet store.  I had to learn the hard way.  Support your local Humane Society.  It is so worth it. 

Ok, rant over.   

In unimportant news, we’re dropping the shower curtain issue for now.  I know, kind of a letdown! Thanks for your input, though!  I’ll just wait until I come across "The One."  Until then I am definitely taking suggestions and as one of you pointed out, my husband certainly doesn’t mind the non-opaque shower curtain in our bathroom!  🙂

Also, I finally submitted my picture for Hair Thursday at whoorl.  I hope she puts me on her list!  What are your hair suggestions for me?  Bangs?  I need to confess that my dream hair is Penelope Cruz’s style in Vanilla Sky.  The movie was not all that great (sorry, Tom Cruise bugs), and she’s not my favorite actress, but HER HAIR!  I want it.  What do you think?  Obviously I can’t go that dark (and I’m not willing to start the crazy cycle of hair dye until I start going gray), but how about the cut?

Hair_thursday1Penelopecruz24

P.S.  It is REALLY hard to take a picture of yourself.  How the crap do all those myspace kids do it?

3 thoughts on “I’m an aunt! I’m an aunt!

  1. Lily says:

    3 cheers for adopting pets from shelters or rescues. I’ve never purchased any pets from pet stores. My first cat was from the animal shelter. My second cat was from a home wanting get rid of the litter of kittens; found the ad in the newspaper.

  2. Caroline says:

    Bangs, I have them, hate them. They annoy me all the time. Keep in mind it looks like Penelope has a long forehead?.

  3. Katia says:

    Amanda, I want YOUR hair!
    I missed the poll but I dislike both shower curtains, I hope you find something more elegant to match your nice towels and color scheme.
    I was able to post on your blog!! one lurker less…

Leave a Reply

