Confessions of a Product Junkie.

Dsc01558You know that page in InStyle magazine where they have celebrities dump out their purses and show what’s in their makeup bags or have a whole layout of their guilty pleasures?  I love those pages.  I called InStyle and asked would they like to know what my favorite cosmetic and grooming items are?  Well, they said: "No.  We would not really care to know.  Because you are not famous."  Good thing I have this here blog, huh?

I will start this by saying that I became a "Product Junkie" in college.  I began to experiment with hair color, makeup, and different styles whilst out from the watchful eye of my mother, who kept me from doing silly things like dying my hair platinum blonde just to see what it looked like and then dying it chestnut brown a few weeks later when I got irked by the milimeter of root outgrowth I saw with a magnifying glass.  She also kept me from looking like a hussy for most of my high school career, which I now appreciate when I look back at my prom pictures.  But alas, a girl’s gotta huss up at least one Halloween, right?  Ok, so it was probably more than one Halloween but my mom reads this so I’m shutting up now.

Being a Product Junkie means that I’ve probably tried every single product you can buy at Target.  I’ve tried everything in the Clinique free gift.  When my sister-in-law is not looking I rifle through her cosmetic bag just BRIMMING with M.A.C. makeup. You know your medicine cabinet?  I’ve totally looked in it.  Once a year I have to go through my drawers and purge the old to make room for the NEW.  The NEW exciting breakthroughs in grooming that will CHANGE MY LIFE!

Ok so fine, products don’t change anyone’s life but they sure do help us smell better and have more defined eyebrow arches and other VERY IMPORTANT things, right?

And so … here are some of my favorite products in no particular order.  Hopefully you won’t have to become a junkie to learn from one.Dsc01551_2

Dsc01555_2>Arbonne Ginger Citrus Sugar Scrub.
>Arbonne Intelligence Daily Moisturizing Cream
You have to go through an Arbonne sales rep to get Arbonne products.  They are pricey, but soooo worth it.  It’s the one "party" I would recommend attending if you know someone who reps for this company.

Dsc01561_2

>Dove Cream Oil body wash
Cherry blossom & almond scent.
>Dove Sensitive Skin Unscented Beauty BarDsc01553_2
I wash my face with this twice a day.  It somehow gets my makeup off my face and does not irritate my skin.  It’s cheap and it travels well, how can you argue with that?  I did Cetaphil for a while but when I woke up in the morning I’d have makeup all over my pillowcase.  Yuck.

Dsc01554_2 >TRESemme No Frizz Shine Spray.  I am blessed to have ultra-manageable super-straight hair.  I use this every day to tame flyaways in humidity.  It does a great job without making my hair greasy.

>TRESemme ooh la la Smooth & Silky Shampoo and Conditioner
I usually buy Back to Basics conditioner because it is so thick and creamy, but they don’t sell it at Target (bah!) and if it’s not on sale it runs $20 a bottle.  It’s a big bottle, but still!  This conditioner is the closest I’ve ever found to pro quality and it’s about $4 for a huge bottle.  Amazing.  Also, I always get compliments on how good my hair smells when I use it so big points there.Dsc01578_2

Dsc01577_2 >C.O. Bigelow Ultra Mentha Lip Shine
From Bath & Body Works.  How can you not love lip balm that makes your breath smell good?!  They have it in tints but I like the clear version best.

>Almay Face Brightener in Tan Afterglow
The answer to my quest to find light coverage foundation with sunscreen that DOES NOT MAKE ME BREAK OUT.  It is also great because it doesn’t settle on your face like regular foundation and has a slight "bronzer" sparkle.

Dsc01581_2 >Elizabeth Arden Red Door Revealed
I get asked what fragrance I’m wearing all the time.  People are shocked that it’s an "old lady" perfume that I snatch up at Marshalls for $12.99 a bottle.  I have my sister to thank for this one!

Other honorable mentions:
 
> Max Factor 2,000 Calorie Lash Waterproof Mascara in Very Black

> Vital Radiance Brow Fill-In Powder in Blonde
This is actually more than an honorable mention … it made my eyebrows reappear in photographs and doesn’t require a lot of skill or panache to apply (like a brow pencil does).  Amazing.

>Bath & Body Works lotion in Brown Sugar and Fig.  Yum.

>Orly Sec’N Dry Topcoat
This stuff really does dry in about a minute (or however long it takes me to get sick of waving my fingers around, which ain’t long).  I picked this up at my nail salon.  It seriously doubles the life of my twice-a-month mani-pedi. 

>OPI Nail Lacquer in Mrs. O’Leary’s BBQ.  My fav dark burgundy red.

>Mary Kay Oil-Free Eye Makeup Remover
I have tried them all, this is still the best.  I wear waterproof mascara AND contacts and I can use this while they are still in my eyes and it gets off every. little. bit.

So, are you a Product Junkie?  What are your favorite products?

2 thoughts on “Confessions of a Product Junkie.

  1. Jenny says:

    Thanks for the suggestions – I look forward to trying some of them when we move back stateside. I used to be a product junkie too until we moved overseas. Now I’m teaching myself to use what I have until it’s gone. It’s hard, but a lot cheaper! Plus every skin care product over here has whitening agents in it — NO THANKS!

Leave a Reply

