Revenge of the nerds

Know who this is?

Jennifer_garner_yearbook_2

Holy Moly, it’s Jennifer Garner!!

Hair_4

I’ve been looking at hairstyle photos for a few weeks, and I’ve decided that I like her bangs the best (and yes, it has everything to do with the fact that she is the star of my favorite television show ever).  I’m making a hair appointment this week and totally taking this picture with me.  Today I found the yearbook photo of her and it totally helped my self-esteem.  Why, you ask?  Well I’ll show you:

Me_and_ivy_1991_cropped_2

So do you know what this means?  This means that there’s HOPE!  My message to nerdy awkward teenage girls everywhere is:  JUST WAIT FOR IT. It also means that the late 80s/early 90s (or adolescence for that matter) weren’t good to ANYONE.  Why were mall bangs and big glasses EVER considered to be "stylish"?  And a Puffy Paint-ed visor AND t-shirt?  GAHH.  And DON’T YOU DARE say that this is "cute."  The only thing cute in the picture is my late dog, Ivy.  She was such an awesome dog.  I, on the other hand, was such a not-awesome nerd and got so razzed by my classmates for being the tallest 4-eyed freak in the 6th grade I’ve pretty much blocked out that entire portion of my life.

That just goes to show them, eh?

Myspace_me_2

[photo cred to Nate Conrad] 

6 thoughts on “Revenge of the nerds

  1. Jenny says:

    Can’t wait to see your new bangs! I’m getting a new ‘do too in a few weeks – yea! I’ve been tempted to go for bangs, but I’m chicken. Plus, I had those stupid short, thick bangs for 20 years and I’m still suffering seven years later from the trauma they inflicted.

  2. Nate says:

    I think I took that picture! and, at first, I thought you were with a small gorilla in that early nineties shot! 😉

    You turned out well, kid.

  3. bud says:

    The visor accents your warm, luscious eyes. You and Ivy have the exact same expressions on your faces – who is copying whom?

Leave a Reply

