Can you flick yourself off? Or, how I am systematically/accidentally babyproofing our house.

Dear Universe,

I thought we were totally good for a while after The Blender/Coffee Mug Disaster of March 2008.  No?

First, there was this morning at Viva Fresh, when after THOROUGHLY enjoying a breakfast burrito larger than my baby, my empty Snapple bottle rolled directly off my tray and shattered all over the floor as I waddled toward the door.  It was embarrassing, but a nice man came and swept it all up and repeated over and over again in Spanish that it was ok.  I blamed Little Buddy, as I do every time I bump into anything, drop anything, or wobble as if I’m going to fall over (one of which happens about every 30 minutes, alternating with the every 30 minutes I have to pee.  Sigh).  I feel bad for the kid.

Then there was this:

Dsc02297

THIS, which we shall now refer to as The Vaccuuming Incident of April 2008, occurred less than 8 hours later.  What did I do with those 8 hours, you ask?  I’ll tell you:  I unpacked our bags and put everything away, I coached track, grocery shopped, did laundry, cleaned the kitchen, cooked a lovely dinner, dusted the living room, vaccuumed the living room, and at the end of it all I thought I’d just move the plant stand a bit and get those last few poofs of Henry hair so I could blog in peace for hours tonight in my lovely clean living room with my freshly charged laptop.

But you didn’t like that idea, did you Universe.  DID YOU!

So off the hurricane filled with little rocks and a candle went in sloooow motion and for the last half hour I’ve been picking those dang little rocks up and sweeping up glass and you know something?  MY BACK HURTS.

But I’ll tell you what Universe you didn’t get me this time.  I didn’t cuss, and I didn’t blame my unborn child for this one so why don’t you just SUCK ON THAT!

Love,

Manda

And now on to our regularly scheduled blogging.

First things first, I am now 22 weeks pregnant.  And enjoy jazz hands.

Img_0211_2

And yes, I realize that I need to STOP wearing my non-maternity shirts with a tank top under them because clearly, I am no longer a size medium at Old Navy.  Yikes. For the first time since I’ve been pregnant I’m starting to get uncomfortable.  My bellybutton is GONE and my stomach area is feeling really, really tight.  I’m sure it has a lot to do with recent travel and all the potatoes and pie I’ve been eating!!  I have a feeling that we’re going to see a significant jump in weight at my next doctor’s appointment on May 4.

John and I went to Indianapolis this weekend for an amazing church planting seminar.  We feel refreshed and inspired and really, really appreciated the time away.  The seminar lasted from Wednesday afternoon to Sunday morning and required a lot of sitting in chairs that were tilted just a leeetle bit too far back.  After the first day my back was barking badly after the long plane ride and then sitting for so long.  So I got a "princess chair" dragged in for me from the lobby!  Woo prego perk!!

Iphone_transfer_1_066

The flight home was loooong and brutal after being on Eastern time for three days (three hours earlier than Pacific time, OUCH).  We tried to watch a movie but my laptop battery died 3/4 of the way into it.  DANGIT!  To top that off, we had a 45-minute layover in Chicago and we didn’t have time to see my mom.  I was a bit bummed out about it, so John and the Blues Brothers sang me a song. 🙂

Img_0212

It’s really good to be home, where the internet is fast and the puppies are warm.  I’ve updated my food blog at http://feedyourinnerfatkid.blogspot.com if you want to check it out.  Speaking of fat kids, I think I’ll go scoop myself some ice cream. But first I want to leave you with an image of what lives just 5 minutes from my house.  I can’t wait to take Little Buddy here in the stroller! Blessed!

Img_0214

2 thoughts on “Can you flick yourself off? Or, how I am systematically/accidentally babyproofing our house.

  1. Annaaaaaaaa says:

    I have a friend at work who tells me at least once a week to MOISTURIZE WHEN YOU’RE PREGNANT! IT WILL HELP WITH THE STRETCHING TUMMY! hope that helps. 🙂

  2. Larmar says:

    if you tickle your belly, it feels really nice. just lightly with the tips of your fingers (or John’s fingers) in circles. soo nice and relaxing.
    also, i found that whenever i was uncomfortable in the later months, whether it was from exhaustion, body aches, braxton hicks contractions, i found that if you chug a glass of water and lay down on your left side with a pillow between your legs… it does wonders. water and the left side. a great combo.
    and i wore my non-maternity shirts throughout my whole pregnancy. in fact, besides my bra, i did not have one item of pregnant clothes on when i went into the hospital to have a baby. as long as your comfy, you can wear whatever the heck you want. you’re pregnant!!

Leave a Reply

