Time to wash the world in PINK!

Friends, I have a confession to make.  John and I have played a terrible, terrible, wonderful April Fool’s joke on you all.  What’s that?  April Fool’s Day is on April 1?  We seem to have misunderstood the concept of how exactly to pull off an April Fool’s joke, which is only supposed to last one day?

Well, whatever.

The point I’m trying to make is that when we went to the doctor earlier this month, we found out the gender of our baby.  Would you like to know what it is?  Yes?  We thought so.

(drumroll please)

LITTLE BUDDY IS A GIRL!

Ohmygoodness we are SO excited.  And a bit shocked.  We totally thought all signs (active, active baby with a fast heartbeat) were pointing to boy.  Nevermind, though, WE ARE THRILLED!  A baby girl!!

Dsc02307

Sorry if I’ve outright lied to any of you.  Chances are that if I’ve spoken to any of you on the phone or in person I’ve straight up lied and told you we didn’t find out the gender.  Oops!  My bad!  The reason I did that is because it took me months to finally talk John into finding out if it was a boy or girl and the only compromise we could reach was that if we found out, it had to be a strict doctor-husband-wife secret.  People, I was desperate.  I NEEDED to know if it was a her or him in there.  I was a good girl and I DIDN’T TELL!  Then after about a week he said that for one of my birthday presents I could tell everyone that it’s a girl.  Then on Monday he told me that I could have that birthday present early!!  So last night we called our families with the big news!  SO FUN!  There was lots of screaming!!  This is the first girl in a long line of boys so we’re fully expecting lots of pink EVERYTHING to rain down soon.  Ah, so much for recyclable gender-neutralness!

A warning:  We will not under any circumstances share the name until Little Buddy comes along between August 16-18.  There are a few reasons for this, but mostly we like to annoy you (hee hee).  No really, we think that our girl should probably be the first to know her name (it’s only fair, right? It is her name after all!), and we also reserve the right to change our minds several times about it between then and now.  Plus I’m a little superstitious.  Plus we’re married and we think secrets are fun!

And can I just say for the record that I am SO happy to now be able to say "her" instead of "it"?

So of course all this now leads to a registry question (other than the obvious, "Why do babies need so much crap?").  The reason I keep asking these silly questions is because I feel like there might be some strategy involved here that I am vastly unaware of … if so, help!  We have registries at Target and Babies ‘R’ Us.  I’m wondering … do you register for the same things on both registries (such as pack n’ plays or high chairs in duplicate)?  Target has many of the things we’d like for the baby, but a lot of them are only available online.  Babies ‘R’ Us has most of the big things available in-store (except of course the top safety-rated travel system, dangit).  I’m stumped. 

6 thoughts on “Time to wash the world in PINK!

  1. Jenny says:

    Congrats! Welcome to the club. Little girls are the best and I will happily give you advice on where to get cute girly accessories if you want. We’re having a baby girl streak with our friends lately — you make #7! We’ve decided to start a compound and not let the girls off (and no boys in) until they’re 30. Wanna sign up? 🙂

  2. KATHY V says:

    Congrats on a little girl.

    My cousin registered for the same things at both of her registry sites. She got 4 count them 1, 2, 3, 4 diaper genies. Obviously she had to return three of them. So I guess it depends on if you want the possibility of getting 4 of something and then having to return them. Maybe see if you can divide the big things so that no matter where people go they have a choice of something relativley big or small. Of course if you do get duplicates, then you can take it back for something else you want.

    If you get something that you don’t need, add it to your registry to make returning it slightly easier (provided you actually know where it came from.) hope this helps.

  3. Kara says:

    YEAH!!! WOOHOOO! I am so thrilled for you. 🙂 I love having girls…although I do hope the next one is a boy. 😉

    As for teh registry…do NOT duplicate. You WILL get doubles and Target has a terrible return policy.

  4. Caroline says:

    Girls are so much fun!! I would register at both. We in end did most of it at Babies R US because they return policy was a lot better than Targets. However in the short almost 2 years, Babies R US return policy is horrible. You have to have a receipt.

  5. Larmar says:

    youuuuuuu…. tricky tricky. just so you know, paul says that he will never talk to you again for pulling that. and when i reminded him that he has in fact never spoken to you, he paused… and said that well now it’s going to be intentional.
    but he’s all talk don’t worry. but if there is an awkward silence between you two at the wedding, chalk it up to the longest lasting april fools joke ever.

    that being said… A GIRL!!! yay!!! now, i can’t compare, but having a girl is so fun!

    and when it comes to the registry question, i did not double anything. i registered for most of the stuff on target, but then totally regreted it when i actually stepped in a babies r us for the first time. they have EVERYTHING. but i did see that things were a little more expensive there than at target. so maybe target was a better choice…

    no help, eh? sorry. 🙂

    a GIRL!

    im so excited.

  6. Lily says:

    Congratulations Manda & Johnny! By all means, register for the same stuff at both places. When you receive the item(s), you can simply check it off of both sites as received.

Leave a Reply

