Sure, I’m narcissistic, BUT I WAS ON NIGHTLINE!

So, remember a while back when I randomly shared with you that I'd been featured on Whoorl's "Hair Thursday"? No? 

Well, then, look here

and here.

Back in November I emailed Whoorl a picture of myself because:

a) I had not had a haircut in 7-ish months.

b) Jobless, new in town, bored (in other words, on the internet ALL THE TIME).

c) Have had a 95% failure rate with bangs in the past.

d) Poor and could not afford to have a messed-up haircut redone.

Anyway, I emailed Sarah at Whoorl after following her blog for a few weeks and witnessing a few inspiring hair makeovers (I found Whoorl through Emily's not that you asked… which is my favorite "random person on the internet" blog, by the way.  I have no idea how I stumbled across her, but I'm glad I did!).  And then much to my surprise, many many months later, she featured me!  And people said I had nice hair!  It was all very lovely for my then 5-months-pregnant-feeling-chubby self esteem.

I know, I know, GET TO THE POINT!  A blog pal, K, was kind enough to inform me this last week that the photograph I orginally sent Whoorl had been "flashed" on a Nightline segment that recently featured Whoorl's Hair Thursday posts (Sarah is now officially a Famous Person).  Here's the picture:

Hair thursday1

Originally my thoughts were:

a) It's probably not really me.

b) If it is really me, K must have super crazy intensely good vision because I'm probably on there for a nanosecond.

c) Ohmygosh is this ODD?

Then I watched the clip.  The segment is basically all about how Americans are narcissistic and self-absorbed and post all kinds of personal random stuff on the internet because all they do is think about themselves and how they look and then … THERE I AM.

Crap.

At least I got on television.

Nightline from Hair Thursday on Vimeo.

7 thoughts on “Sure, I’m narcissistic, BUT I WAS ON NIGHTLINE!

  1. maggie says:

    The moment you realize Nightline doesn’t get it is when they say deciding to cut your hair is a “trivial decision”.

    Think of all the pictures they could have picked and they chose YOU! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Liz says:

    Haha. That’s really funny. Too bad Nightline trivializes all this. Well, ok, I can see the ‘do you think I’m hot’ posts being worthless, but Hair Thursday? Come on. Integral. Here’s to you being famous! ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

