Week 34: The fastest man in the world, the slowest woman in the world

DSC02591


I am happy to bring you a very special edition of the weekly pregnancy update from Eugene, OR!  John and I have been here this weekend for the U.S. Track & Field Time Trials.  I won the trip in a raffle when I went to a Nike coaches’ clinic this past winter, and the timing has been perfect for our last trip as just John and Manda (as opposed to Mommy and Daddy).  We’ve had a great time!  Yesterday we saw Tyson Gay break the American record for the 100 meter dash and then today we saw him break the world record!!  It was incredible. Since he’s so fast and I’m so slow, we just had to take our picture together.


DSC02590


Ok, so maybe I just totally guilted him and said, “can you sign an autograph for my baby?”  and then “oh, can we take a picture together for my baby?”  Tyson, being a lovely human being, agreed, even though I’m sure he was very tired from being the fastest human being on the planet, like, in history.  It was the coolest thing EVER!


Some other highlights for us were watching Adam Nelson in the shot put, the women’s 400 meter hurdles, and the men’s long jump.  Our seats were fabulous:  we’re in the historic grandstands at Hayward Field (covered, which equals SHADE!!) right at the finish line. 


And now, for the pregnancy report:  When I asked John about what his highlights from today were he answered “Getting you an icee and helping you feel better.”  I had a heat-related episode today that has convinced me that for the remaining six weeks of this pregnancy I will be at home in front of my new window-unit air conditioner.  I have no intention of getting myself put on bedrest NOR having this baby at the exact time my husband is in Alaska performing a wedding three-ish weeks before the baby is due.  NO SIR!  It seems my body is not very willing to control temperature, which has also led me to another command decision: NO MORE SUMMER BABIES (if at all possible).  My hip is still giving me a lot of trouble.  The pain was really bad after our flight on Friday afternoon so we had to stay at the hotel Friday night (it was crazy pain shooting up my back and down my leg).  I tried but I could barely get out of the lobby … and then had a nice little weep out of frustration.  It was good that we stayed in because I probably wouldn’t have made it through the weekend otherwise. 


Let’s see what else?  Oh yes, I only packed myself ONE pair of shorts for the entire trip (and maybe 10 shirts).  Luckily there’s a mall across from our hotel so I was able to get a stretchy skirt pretty cheap at Gap so I didn’t have to re-wear the same sweaty shorts three times.  I also forgot my contact case and am short one pair of underwear.


So, to sum up: I’m hot, I’m emotional, my hip hurts and I forgot what else.  Send ice cream.


We head home tomorrow and thus I will begin my 6-week hibernation.


Love, Manda

4 thoughts on “Week 34: The fastest man in the world, the slowest woman in the world

  1. Brandy says:

    I just happened upon your blog and haven’t had a chance to read your archives yet. I just wanted to say that if you haven’t tried it that chiropractic care can do WONDERS for hip pain. I had a ton of hip issues when I was pregnant with my son and never thought of going to a chiropractor. I am now 30 weeks pregnant with my daughter and work for a chiropractor who adjusts me every 1-2 weeks and it has made a world of difference. Again, you may have already tried that but I just wanted to give you my tiny bit of knowledge in that area. 🙂

    P.S. – The picture is AWESOME. That would be an amazing experience and definitely something neat to tell your little one that you did while you were pregnant.

  2. Liz says:

    Too cool! I was just reading about the trials! Too bad Gay’s not going to get credit for the record because of the tailwind. Severe bummer, but at least he gets to go to Bejing. Really cool that you saw it.

    We’re “hunkering down” too. There’s basically nothing on our calendar until November!

  3. Emily says:

    I was totally watching, because I am an Olympics Whore. And now I am SO JEALOUS. Except for the part about being 34 weeks pregnant. That I’d like to put off for a while.

Leave a Reply

