Somewhere among the rambling this post is actually informative. Sorta.

My mother-in-law came over today and helped me clean the house.  Can I just say OH MY GOSH?  It is amazing what you can do while someone else Swiffers the floor and wipes down the kitchen counter (and cleans the bathroom, and dusts and vacuums…).  All of my dirty laundry is currently in the garage IN THE MACHINE.  The bed is made.  I cooked dinner tonight and THEN I put the dishes in the dishwasher.  I really don’t know what to do with myself.  To all of you ladies who have mothers-in-law who are total crabapples (I am sure to be one of those one day, I’m afraid), I really can’t empathize.  And no, I will never give up my husband so you can have Melody as your mom-in-law.  Ha ha! 

Can I also just say how frustrating the amount of stuff you just can’t do in the late stages of pregnancy is?  And the stuff you can do but have no energy to do?  I really think that someone probably staged a cleaning intervention on me over here.  I left our poor friend Jessica — who babysits our pups for us — up to her neck in dust and dog hair when we breezed out the door on our little vacation this weekend.  Add to that the inevitable mess of unpacking, dogs who reward your homecoming with a nice pee-pee on the floor and a vandalized trash can (oh yes, that’s how we started the morning today), and you’ve got a trash heap that would make raccoons salivate with joy.  But what can I do?  Pushing around a Swiffer throws my hip (and my husband) all out of joint, and trying to get the filthy blades of the fan on our dresser clean makes me PREGMOTIONAL. 

Gosh when did I become such a fussbucket by the way?  My husband was up all night last night with horrible sinus pain and drainage and coughed his brains out and all I could say this morning was something along the lines of “Your ass is SO not sleeping in my bed EVER AGAIN!”  Whenever someone compliments me on how glowy and happy I seem during pregnancy I just nod and smile because they have NO IDEA (and the reason I seem so “glowy and happy” is probably because I’m exhausted and overheated and the idea of bothering anyone seems like too much effort at the time).

ANYWAY, the whole reason I got up here is to give you the scoop from my doctor’s appointment today!  I knew I had something important to share!  Lucky for us, Dr. P was out of town today and we had a lovely visit with his physician’s assistant Mariah instead.  What a breath of fresh air!  Not only did she spend more than 30 seconds with us, she also: 1) Listened to our questions and concerns 2) Acted like we were normal human beings for having questions about our first pregnancy 3) Answered our questions thoroughly and gave us feedback about what was normal and what we should be concerned about.  BRILLIANT!  After 34 weeks of pregnancy we’ve finally had a medical professional’s help!  Woo hoo! 

Since my last visit I have lost 1 pound (nothing to be worried about, says Mariah.  The only time for concern would be if I lost say, 10 pounds.  Good to know!).  The baby’s heartbeat was 158 (good) and according to measurement she has grown significantly and is right on track for our due date.  My blood pressure was fine and my pulse was high as usual from climbing three flights of stairs.  All in all things look good!  In the next few days I will have a stool culture because of my suspicious b.m.s over the past few months, although Mariah (can you hear the angels singing??!!) told me that some women just react differently (i.e. do NOT get constipated) to the influx of progesterone in their blood stream.  She wants to have the culture done just to be sure and so I can finally rest easy about what’s going on.  IMAGINE!  The luxury!!

In two weeks we go back and Dr. P will be back from vacation.  Sigh.

You’d think this day couldn’t get any better, but when my friend Ronny came to pick me up tonight for a little hang out time she asked me if I would mind if we went to get pedicures?!!  Do I MIND??  Since I’d ripped off a toenail today and really can’t reach my feet, the timing was fabulous.  I hit repeat on the massage chair three times and came home a new woman.  And now all I need to do is find a comfortable sleeping position and I’ll be all set!  Ha ha you can’t win them all, I guess. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Somewhere among the rambling this post is actually informative. Sorta.

  1. Liz says:

    I want Melody! All I can say is that my mom-in-law has good intentions. I usually have to leave it at that. That said, I’m glad we live so far away or I might get a little homicidal. Although, I wouldn’t mind some help cleaning around here…

  2. Twisted Cinderella says:

    I LOVE my MIL too. She is the most loving, helpful, wonderful lady I have ever known.

    I have been getting frustrated with getting housework done around here too. I just don’t have the energy to keep up.

    I had a doctor’s appointment today too. Unfortunately I had some less that good news at mine. I would love love love a pedicure and a good nights sleep too!

Leave a Reply

