Dr. P, was that you?

Yesterday when we went to the doctor’s office we were expecting the usual jerkwad Dr. P to waltz in the door and spend 2 seconds with us.  How SHOCKED were we when Dr. P bounced in the door in what was obviously a good mood and joked around a bit before beginning a conversation with “How are things going?”!?!  We were so flabbergasted we hardly knew what to do!  We went over our phone call from last week, then he had me lay on the table and then TOUCHED MY BELLY, explained how the baby was positioned and how we could tell that she’d dropped or when I was having a real honest-to-goodness contraction.  It was unbelievable.  When we were walking out of the office we wondered out loud to each other if Dr. P has been having a bad year this year … maybe his wife left him or he lost a parent? … we almost felt BAD.  My guess?  Today he took his meds (either that or he has a twin brother).  It was nice to see this side of him, however shocking it was.  We see him again in 2 weeks and the dreaded pelvic exams begin, so we’ll see if he can do a repeat of “nice Dr. P.”


My belly has grown another 3 cm!  I’ve regained the one pound I lost so I’m the same weight I’ve been for a month.  My blood pressure was a little higher but still normal … the nurse explained that it happens that way the more pregnant you get (I believe her, breathing is tougher lately since my lungs are so squished so I imagine my heart is doing overtime right now).  The baby’s heartbeat was 143 and instead of that crazy swooshing sound we’re so used to hearing we heard a real “boom boom” style heartbeat.  I asked the nurse why the baby’s pulse was so much lower and she just chuckled and told me that her heart was growing!  There really is a little person in there!


After the appointment John had a meeting so I thought I would have just enough time to scrape together some dinner and rest a little before we headed off to breastfeeding class but one of my runners and her mom stopped by the house to bring Little Buddy a present … the cutest newborn outfit EVER! 


DSC02809


It’s going to be what she wears home from the hospital, so it was totally worth not getting a meal at home!!  I made John drive through KFC (I refuse to eat another Clif bar for the rest of my life) and we gorged ourselves on fried chicken on the way to class and ended up being late … again, worth it.


So yeah, breastfeeding class.  They had videos of topless women and a fake boob and about a dozen baby dolls upon which we had to PRACTICE (with our own boobs, not the fake one).  I’m not kidding.  Granted, we got some great information in a packet, a few handy tips, and a lot of encouragement but … 55 bucks?  Seriously?  I’m not going to remember most of what she said — except for maybe the video of the woman with totally traumatized boobs — when I’m in the hospital with a squalling infant rooting around on my chest.  I hope John was paying close attention … even though I suspect he was also traumatized by the boob videos. Luckily the class was kind enough to refer me to a place called The Pump Station (I’ve been told about this place by a few others who just RAVE!) which offers lots of breastfeeding support to new moms.  This magical place coupled with the rumored amazing nursing staff at the hospital will hopefully get us off to a good start.  I’m actually considering NOT purchasing a pump right away.  We got a manual one at the last baby shower so I keep wondering if I can get by without one.  Is that crazy?

7 thoughts on “Dr. P, was that you?

  1. Caroline says:

    I never got a breast pump. If you decide to get one, ask the hospital if you can rent one. Most hospitals usually offer that service. PATIENCE is the #1 thing to remember while breastfeeding. #2 is that Lanosil does not work as well as you like, use breast milk when your nipps feel raw. IF breastmilk is so good for babies, it works really well.

  2. Morgan Swanson says:

    I would go ahead and make sure you are all set in the breast pump department. And, yes, HECK YES, get an electric one!!!! You do not want to sit there hand pumping away – way too much work. If you can rent one from the hospital, go for it.

    With Baby #1, I did not have a pump when we came home from the hospital with her. The breastfeeding was not going well (she would nurse for 45 minutes at a time, but she was not really eating, just enjoying relaxing on my tummy and gumming and when I would take her off, she would scream). She was not putting on enough weight to keep the Ped. happy. So, I had to keep weighing her at the Dr. office and going to the lactation lady, which was VERY stressful to say the least. I finally had a panic attack/nervous breakdown after three weeks of that and went to Target and bought the only electric pump they had in stock. And….

    My life became infinitely more relaxed and the baby was happy. I had PROOF she was drinking milk. We enjoyed each other again and I was not a freaked out mess, wondering if she was starving. I didn’t pump all that often, since we both became much better at the nursing, but I loved knowing I COULD pump a bottle anytime. I am pumping/nursing with the same pump this second time around.

    I would suggest you get yourself a very nice pump and know how to use it BEFORE the baby comes. One less thing to worry about when you bring her home and you are having a rough patch with the feedings.

    Long post, I know. But, I am thinking back to how stressed I was with Baby #1 and how I would have appreciated advice like this.

  3. Katia says:

    Naomi would stay at the breast for no longer than 10, 15 minutes at the most, so my electric pump was essential for getting the breasts “emptied”, although they say they’re never really empty. It’s a demand-supply mechanism where if there’s too much milk left in the breasts your brain will think it doesn’t need to produce more and your milk production will go down. If you’re planning on going back to work I would recommend investing in an electric pump, all it takes is 10 minutes and you can do both breasts at the same time, unlike manual. If you’ll be home for a while you may get away with not needing one but you’ll have to nurse frequently (demand feeding!). I recommend a La Leche League class in your area, they’re great, supportive and it’s free!

  4. maggie says:

    Oooh, I’m going to have to go with Morgan on this one. I had a relatively easy time (compared to what I thought it would be like!) but a pump meant Phillip could do one of the night feedings and OMG SO WORTH IT. I haaaated pumping, but if it meant I wasn’t the only person in the world who could feed the baby, I was all over it. And, you know, supply issues, storing milk, a way to get the milk out when you can’t stand the baby eating from that one tender side… I’d recommend an electric one too, just because it goes faster!

  5. Brandy says:

    I am actually of the school that you may not need one right away. šŸ™‚ I didn’t start using mine until Aiden was 5 weeks old and that was just to start getting a good supply in the freezer and to be able to feed Aiden a bottle while at church and in public (I hated nursing in public, just too hard for me, especially the older and more fidgety he got). Besides, you may even be able to get one while you’re in the hospital and not have to worry about preparing beforehand.

    If you do decide to get one I would only rent for a month to see how you like it if you do plan on pumping for the long term. The pumps at my hospital are $50.00/month and I used one for 9 months. If I had rented that would have been $450.00. I bought my pump for $300.00 and now I have it for my second child, definitely worth the investment.

    One last thing. I don’t know if you are by chance a reader of Julie over at “A Little Pregnant” but she has an amazing list of pumping suggestions. I didn’t find this until I was about 2-3 months into pumping but when I did it was a lifesaver. Seriously, suggestion #6 saved me SO much washing and sterilizing time I could have kissed Julie right on the mouth when I read it! šŸ™‚

    Anyway, those are just my personal thoughts on the subject – good luck!

  6. Brandy says:

    I didn’t say this in the other email because I completely forgot. I don’t know if you’re a big book reader or not (I didn’t really get into the pregnancy books all the much myself) but I had a couple of breastfeeding books that I would recommend to every woman. I loved “The Complete Book of Breastfeeding” and “The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding”. They did each have their own drawbacks (womanly is a bit big on preaching staying at home, which wasn’t an option for me at all and gets a little old reading) but they both had EXCELLENT advice and a fabulous roadmap on how to have a good breastfeeding experience. I wouldn’t have had a clue what cluster feeding was or if his latch was wrong if I hadn’t read these books. I didn’t take any classes, none were available in my area at the time, but these books were a huge help to me.

  7. larmar says:

    ooo the pump. i hate that thing. BUT. i have to use it. my milk supply is so dang fickle, if i miss one feeding with (via bottle), it drops. so annoying. i just about dried up when paul’s family was here because they all wanted to feed her.
    the one thing i wish is that i had started pumping right from the beginning, to really get my supply up. it’s so hard for me to get any extra to freeze.
    and i would suggest an electric pump. it’s annoying just having to hold the things there, let alone having to pump it yourself. i wouldn’t have the patience for that. with the electric, once you get the hang of it (which takes a while.. be patient), you can be done in 10 minutes (double-pumping).
    but, if you just plan to feed baby, and not really want to get much to freeze or whatever, then by all means, a manual one is great. you will be able to get enough for john to feed her as well.

Leave a Reply

