Waxing sentimental

(Stick with me to the end of this post … I need your help!)


John is out of town for a few days so I’m home with the boys spending what will most certainly be my last weekend alone for the next, oh, 20 years or so.  Don’t worry about my safety … Henry is actually quite vicious when it comes to strangers.  Juicy is just good at getting underfoot and giving me time to get to my weapon of choice … a taser!


2348617957_83d08f5860


When I got home from dropping him off at the airport I set about finally checking my email and regular blogs and I stumbled across a new blog.  It was sad and profound … I’m not even ready to share the link because I’m afraid a fellow prego will link up to it from here (a husband is writing about his wife dying from a pulmonary embolism the day after their daughter was born)…


Anyway, I got really sad and a little scared so I had to get out of the house for that mani-pedi I was telling you about!  I thought I’d finally found a good place to get purtied up near my house but alas … I GOT BUTCHERED.  For the last few months I’ve been going fairly regularly to get my toes done because I can’t reach them.  Not once have any of the manicurists told me what the little gal told me today: “You have an ingrown toenail.”  Why did she say this, you ask?  Because she got a little crazy with the cuticle scissors and MADE ME BLEED.  I’m sorry, I’m not the sort of person to just sit there and smile and not say anything when I’m being PUNISHED in the spa chair.  If I don’t like the way my nails are filed I always make them re-do it so, yeah, bleeding made me speak up.  ARGH!  If I get an infection I am going to be SO PISSED.


After that I got home and internetted a while and set about making myself a frozen pizza.  I was in the recliner when the buzzer went off and I didn’t feel much like getting up (what else is new?).  As I got the food out of the oven I had the sudden realization that I couldn’t remember the last time I’d gotten my own pizza out of the oven … John almost always gets it for me.  And then there’s the whole “Ice water WITH A STRAW” phenomenon that has been the theme of this pregnancy … he’s gotten me most of those too.  Not to mention countless Tums runs (one of which was near midnight), watermelon runs, return trips to grocery stores when I’ve forgotten key ingredients to that night’s dinner which cannot be altered because of cravings/emotional meltdowns.  And lets not forget the Preparation-H run which will live in infamy.  What I’m saying is that I am so incredibly blessed to have my loving husband taking such good care of me.  I can’t wait to see him with our daughter.  Sniff sniff!


And now, at long last, I need your help Internet.  First off, you’ve been so AWESOME with all the encouraging comments you’ve been dropping on me lately!!  It’s getting me through this end-phase of pregnancy like a bowl of ice cream drenched in hot fudge (mmm, mental note to get that later)!! 


So, here’s my big question of the day:  What kind of infant sling/carrier should we get?  We have an Ergo for when Little Buddy gets a bit bigger thanks to my uber-generous BFF Lily, but I’d like to get one that’s really secure for when she’s an infant and it would also be nice to be able to breastfeed with it (and it would also be nice if John could use it — not for breastfeeding obviously!).  I’m thinking about the Moby Wrap that Maggie raves about or a HotSling.  Any suggestions?  I’m not crazy about Baby Bjorns just so you know …


P.S. Happy Birthday Mom!! Love you!

9 thoughts on “Waxing sentimental

  1. A'Dell says:

    I’m going to get a HotSling. I tried one on at a baby shop a few weeks ago and the lady fitted me and they even had a doll there for me to try out the various positions in the sling. It was decently comfortable.

    She said that of the slings in that style there’s not a lot of difference in function – it’s mostly personal taste and fit (which you can’t figure out until you buy the damn thing) and the difference in patterns.

    I liked the HotSling patterns better and since it seemed to fit ok that’s where I’m going to start.

    Good luck!

  2. larmar says:

    i have an infantino sling. it was great. i could breastfeed in it, and it was comfy to wear. most people thought it was a purse until they got closer 🙂 and alex always went right to sleep in it. she was all curled up. it was sweet.

  3. Morgan Swanson says:

    I could not get the hang of the sling and I tried three different brands and two different babies. The baby just always seemed to flop around while I moved around wearing it and it never stayed up on my shoulders. There was also NO WAY I could figure out how to breastfeed wearing it, either.

    I had the most luck with the Bjorn and use it occasionally.
    Maybe you will have better luck in that department.

    ps – I know the blog you are talking about at the beginning of your post and it brings me to tears just thinking about it!

  4. Nora says:

    First, I am so completely sorry. After I posted that I began to think about you reading it along with oh say any number of my pregnant friends, including one who is 30 weeks and on complete bedrest. Anyway, I am sorry.

    And sorry about your toe… that sucks beyond belief.

    Secondly, my sis has the moby thingy and LOVES it… although I think she’s about done with it now that Stella is 3 months old and getting ever more chunky.

  5. Maggie says:

    LOVE MY MOBY. But this time I also have a Peanut Shell. No idea how I’ll like it, but it was hell trying to get a sleeping baby out of the Moby. (BUT STILL. LOVE.)

  6. rachel says:

    I have been reading that same blog. I keep asking M if he knows how to do stuff like trim LG’s nails and unclog his nose just in case something happens to me. It makes me cry almost every day yet I can’t pull myself away.

    No recommendation on a sling. I hope you find one you like.

  7. Caroline says:

    I have no recommendation. I did the Infantino sling but it was way too hot for baby. She was born in early summer. IT is thickly coated. I think either sling will depend on the return policy.

  8. Brandy says:

    I love my maya wrap. The ring sling saved my life. I still carry Aiden around in it and he’s a 23-pound 16-month-old. It does take a little getting used to but I am so excited to have it with our little one due in September because we didn’t get it with Aiden until he was about 3 months old. I can even remember a time that I was cooking dinner and he was hungry so I just nursed him standing in my kitchen while I was waiting for dinner to get done. It was awesome! 🙂 Good luck finding the best one for you!

  9. J. says:

    I had an infant carrier-type sling (mine was the Lamaze brand, like the Infantino one) and I could not make K. feel safe in it, to say nothing of comfortable. I got a Maya wrap and was not smart enough to make it work for me and her. At a friend’s advice I got a Hotsling and I Loved It–it was a very straightforward design, comfy for both of us, easy to use, and I liked that I could fold it up quite small and keep it in my diaper bag. There were times that I would be shopping at Target and K. would become disinterested in sitting in her car seat in the cart. I just popped her in the sling and away we went.

    Mine is a chocolate color because I’m really funny about things matching and coordinating, but I love the various prints they come in.

    I did also have a Bjorn that I liked very much for around-the-house wear. I would also have used that if I was cultured enough to take K. to a museum or something when she was small. I’d also use that if I lived in a city where a stroller was less-than-practical, but alas, in my suburban world, the strollers rule.

    I didn’t really ever nurse her in it except once or twice–you need to be sure you’re wearing an “easy access” type of shirt. I found that most of the time you’ll be sitting when you nurse, and if you get to the point that you need to nurse while doing something else, you can just hold the little one.

    She hung out in the Hotsling for an hour while I played piano and lead a choir rehearsal–and this from a colicy baby! I lova my Hotsling.

Leave a Reply

