My favorite thing to celebrate

Four years ago today, this guy made me his wife.  It still goes down in history as the greatest day of my life!


Our Wedding 160 


Last year around this time we were settling down to our new life in California.  I can hardly believe that in a matter of weeks we’re going to be parents!  There’s no one who knows me better, there’s no one I love more, and there’s no one I’d rather embark on this next adventure with.  Who could have known all those years ago when we were dating our way through every Mexican restaurant we could find and the entire Chili’s menu that we’d end up here?  A million mix cds, two dogs, three states, hundreds of sushi rolls and 9.5/10 of a baby later, we’re still going strong.  I went barrelling straight down the aisle on our wedding day and I’ve never looked back or regretted a single moment.


In honor of my loving husband (the biggest Bruce fan I know), I think this song’s lyrics can say it better than I can. 🙂


“Land of Hope and Dreams” by Bruce Springsteen


“Grab your ticket and your suitcase
Thunder’s rolling down the tracks
You don’t know where you’re goin’
But you know you won’t be back
Darlin’ if you’re weary
Lay your head upon my chest
We’ll take what we can carry
And we’ll leave the rest

Big Wheels rolling through fields
Where sunlight streams
Meet me in a land of hope and dreams

I will provide for you
And I’ll stand by your side
You’ll need a good companion for
This part of the ride
Leave behind your sorrows
Let this day be the last
Tomorrow there’ll be sunshine
And all this darkness past

Big wheels roll through fields
Where sunlight streams
Meet me in a land of hope and dreams

This train
Carries saints and sinners
This train
Carries losers and winners
This Train
Carries whores and gamblers
This Train
Carries lost souls
This Train
Dreams will not be thwarted
This Train
Faith will be rewarded
This Train
Hear the steel wheels singin’
This Train
Bells of freedom ringin’
This Train
Carries broken-hearted
This Train
Thieves and sweet souls departed
This Train
Carries fools and kings
This Train
All aboard

This Train
Dreams will not be thwarted
This Train
Faith will be rewarded
This Train
Hear the steel wheels singin’
This Train
Bells of freedom ringin'”


Love you Bud.  You’re still — and always will be — My Johnny.


Love, Your Girl

5 thoughts on “My favorite thing to celebrate

Leave a Reply

