Apparently her eviction notice was lost in the mail.

We just got back from the doctor's office and it seems that our daughter has set up camp in my womb INDEFINITELY.  Dr. P. examined me and almost immediately said: "See you next week."  We were all, "WHAT?!"  Not only has nothing changed since last week, her head is actually HIGHER than it was last week. FRICK!  This is so not cool.  Last night I had a big contraction … it was menstrual cramp-y, took my breath away, and lasted around 30 seconds.  Granted, I didn't have another one but I thought FOR SURE that it was working it's magic on my cervix.  WHINE WHINE WHINE!

Ok, so now I need everyone's unprofessional opinions:  Have you tried any of the old wives tales to get labor going?  Some of you had suggestions earlier but I need to know what WORKS!  I've heard castor oil (but how much do I take and when?), spicy food, long walks, sex, nipple stimulation, hot showers, some kind of foot massage (any clue how or where to press?), chili dogs, GOOD GRIEF WHAT DO I DO?  And make sure it's safe.  I'm not going to drink booze and I don't want to risk cord entanglement … HELP.

Anyway, the health report:  I've lost 1.5 pounds, my blood pressure was a good 130/80, the baby's heart rate was 146.  Everything's fine.  EXCEPT THAT I'M PERMANENTLY PREGNANT.

16 thoughts on “Apparently her eviction notice was lost in the mail.

  1. larmar says:

    SEX. That worked for me. and long walks. they suck, but they seemed to help. we would just go walk in the malls around us. around and around and around.
    but yes, sex seemed to help her on her way.

    it will happen when it happens. (helpful, right?) it sounds like you are definitely headed in the right direction. she’s already dropped! that didn’t happen until AFTER 17 hours of labor for me. 😉 and once it really starts, it has the possibility of moving very quickly. you are already getting contractions, so that’s a great sign.
    you are almost there! don’t lose heart! she’s just waiting for auntie and grandma to get there. 🙂

  2. rachel says:

    I ate salami & cheese until I got heartburn and watched a terrible movie the night I went into labor. I’m not sure it that is what caused it though.

  3. Nora says:

    My sister tried ALL OF THEM.. and I mean all… and she was 2 weeks overdue… I don’t say that to scare or discourage you… it just means when she’s ready, she’s ready and not a second before… it stinks… possibly the stinkies part of pregnancy, but that could be debated for several hours.

  4. Erin says:

    Just make sure that whatever you do, you don’t stress or wear yourself out too much. Studies are showing more and more that nothing is scientifically proven to work other than the prescription medications they use to induce. I wore myself out walking and stressed myself out thinking I should try to have more sex even though it was really uncomfortable and my baby was still 8 days late. I’m sure you won’t have to wait that long though, sounds like your body’s already making progress all on it’s own!

  5. Lily says:

    Though you can’t do anything to guarantee eviction, there’s much you can do to make her less comfortable in utero – sex, lots of walking, hitting those acupressure points. But don’t stress if you don’t see immediate results from trying those thing.

  6. Caroline says:

    I took long walks. I think sex was way out of the question by then. Like most other comments, do not stress over it. It will happen when it does and in no time, you will forget how long you waited.

  7. Liz says:

    Dude, I tried everything, I promise you. And nothing nothing nothing. The doctor had to decide for her – she didn’t even deign to come after things started to get not-so-nice and cushy in there. And now here I am echoing everything I hated hearing in the last couple of weeks! Sigh. I know exactly how you feel. Hang in there – Lucy and I are rooting for you and Little Buddy!!

  8. Brandy says:

    Here’s my “cruchiest”, most “granola” type home remedy to bring on labor. My childbirth educator/doula recommended it and now I recommend it to all pregnant women.

    I know it’s going to sound insane but it’s using Evening Primrose Oil directly on the cervix. You just get the capsules, break a few open and with very clean fingers use the oil on your cervix. If you ever checked your cervical position while TTC then this won’t sound too freaky but if you didn’t it may sound insane. 🙂

    Basically it’s a natural form of cervadil. If your cervix is ready to start softening and opening then it will just help that along. From 36-40 weeks with my son I was 1 cm and nothing much else going on. At 40 weeks I started using the oil on my cervix and at 41 weeks, without many contractions or anything like that I was 5 cm and ready to have my water broken to really bring on labor. Of course some might say it was a coincidence but I have to say at 36 weeks that at 39 weeks I will start the EPO so that hopefully I don’t go a week late with this little one.

    Good luck!!

  9. Jenny says:

    Okay – seriously! You need to post more often or I’m going to assume you’re in the hospital at THIS moment pushing out a baby. Oops — that sounds really bossy. I’m sorry — we just want little buddy to get here soon – esp. for your sake.

  10. larmar says:

    alright missy. my monitor crashed on my laptop, so i made paul lug out the old dusty monitor from the back room from our old desktop computer, and now i have wires connected all over my living room JUST so i could see if you had a baby… and come to see you haven’t even updated on your DUE DATE to tell us the news.
    it’s ok. i will forgive you. only because you are really really pregnant. (or have a very sore bottom?!?!)

  11. Jackie says:

    Apparently, repeated, gut-wrenching, body-shaking coughing from an upper respiratory infection. I’m SURE that’s what made my daughter come a month early (sorry…), but you might not want to try it.

    Hang in there! It’s only been 6 months for me and I SO REMEMBER the “I’m just DONE being pregnant” feeling, but everything will change soon enough! GOOD LUCK!

  12. Angie Matheis says:

    hey there you! well, you’ve been on my heart and in my prayers since auntB’s bday. Beck gave me an update and sent me to your blog. so, little miss content in the womb seems to be doin just fine where she is, huh? well, I will assure you, she WILL be born, really, I promise!!! since I’ve had a little experience in this department, eh, I thought I might try to send some encouragement your way. I am convinced that the only thing that brings that sweet baby forth from the womb is prayer and waiting for God’s perfect timing. If Dr p has become an enemy, we must pray for him..that he’ll be in God’s perfect will regarding the birth of your precious little girlbaby. 🙂 just what you wanted to hear, Im sure and hardly words of encouragement at this point, sorry 😦 believe me I have tried EVERYTHING. Induction, however, definitely helps things along..Alex and Ainsley and Ava were all induced and things still progressed at a tolerable pace following.AbbieChellie and AdriannieMarcellie broke their own water and that works real well too! May God bless you as you endure these last few hours of carrying her without your hands, I know she will be well worth the wait!!

Leave a Reply

