As snug as a bug in a rug … er, womb

We passed our non-stress test with FLYING colors!  My blood pressure was a little high at the beginning which caused the nurse a some concern but she re-tested me later and I was fine.  More importantly, Little Buddy is healthy and content. 

Here's the rundown:  She slept for the first half hour we were there, even though I'd indulged in a cup of coffee on our way to the hospital!!  The nurse tried a little buzzer noise on her to try and wake her up, but it was totally ineffective.  John and I looked at eachother and just laughed – our house is kinda loud and our kid can sleep through a LOT of noise during the day so a little buzzer that sounded like the game Operation wasn't gonna cut it – so we went to work on her.  John talked to her for a while but she wasn't interested so I went on to the old standard of poking her in the butt, which she HATES.  She got so mad that we woke her that I had a huge contraction!!  Her heart rate raised at all the right times so after about 45 minutes total we were clear. 

Then came the exciting part … we got to have a sonogram!  As we knew, her head was down.  It looked to me like she had some hair but it was hard to tell.  Then we saw her perfect little heart chugging away.  Sigh, sigh, sigh of relief.  The nurse also pointed out her lungs which were moving like she was breathing!!  Since they are full of fluid, she's not actually "breathing" … she was practicing!  According to the nurse (who told us she's been doing this for 25 years at that very hospital), this is a sign that baby is very happy and content and so NOT stressed out in any way.  Sigh again.  Then, the battle of gender was finally ONCE AND FOR ALL SETTLED:

She's still a girl.  🙂

We have another appointment scheduled for Monday morning if I still haven't delivered.  Mom, Ash and Mike all head home on Sunday, but Mom and Ash are coming back on Friday and staying through the Labor Day weekend!!  I am so blessed to have such travel-ready family!  I just hope they get to be here for the birth.  Keep praying, friends!!  It's nice to know that no matter what by this time next week we should be holding our daughter in our arms.  I really, really don't want to get induced but 10 days seems like a reasonable amount of time to wait according to every medical professional I've met.  The nurse also pointed out that all the baby's development is done at this point and she's only gaining body fat so we're in the clear as far as having any probs associated with prematurity (obviously!).  I guess I just mention it because I'm a firm believer that due dates get miscalculated pretty regularly!

Sooo … in the spirit of the cup being half-full, 5 days (or less!) to go!!

IMG_0552

p.s. My sister started a blog!!  http://smashpants.blogspot.com/

5 thoughts on “As snug as a bug in a rug … er, womb

  1. Brandy says:

    Sounds like you’re doing FABULOUS! Of course I’m sure you’d rather just have your little gal here already but it’s good to know that things are going just fine in there.

    I am definitely jealous of the sonogram! Even when I was a week late with Aiden and had to do the NST I didn’t get one of those. 🙂 Oh well. I’m hoping not to go too late with this pregnancy and not have to worry about the NST at all.

    Good luck!

  2. larmar says:

    hahahaha. anna, so true.
    manda, keep up the positive spirit!! im keeping you guys in my prayers… hopefully she will be making an appearance soon!!

Leave a Reply

