“On the eve of your birth …”

Part I:  Oh NO YOU DID NOT!

Yesterday was a tough day.  John and I were talking over everything and we suddenly came up with the crazy idea that maybe we'd like to wait 24 more hours before we went in for the induction.  We were just curious about what Dr. P would think so we put in a call to his office to ask.  He called back later.  That's when the crap hit the fan.

He started out by saying that if we waited that we were putting the baby at risk … she could pass her meconium any time now since I'm in my 42nd week (and it doesn't matter if she's stressed or not, it's just a reflex once babies get to a certain age in utero).    Since our information didn't conflict with this we agreed with him, but when I challenged him with how beautifully both our non-stress tests went and since the baby was doing so well it probably wouldn't be a big deal to wait one day, he started to get frustrated.  He began to list all the stuff he had to do Friday: a surgery in the morning, a c-section in the afternoon, and he HAD to allow for emergency work-ins since it's a HOLIDAY weekend.  Because of all that, he wouldn't be available to deliver our baby on Friday.  So of course I said, "What about Saturday?"  and he practically laughed at me and said, "I WILL NOT schedule you for an induction on a Saturday."  My reply to all this?  "You know Dr. P, I don't want to offend you, but I don't think your schedule conflicts are really a good reason to induce.  Do you have an associate who could deliver our baby instead?"

Of course, he said no.  He's got a one-man private practice and he wants the paycheck for delivering the baby. On a side note, he also said that an induction would only take between 12-14 hours total.  I've asked around … the usual is closer to 24 hours, which makes me think that Dr. P has a c-section in the back of his mind if I haven't delivered by then. He's got another thing coming if he thinks we're just gonna let him cut me open so he can get home for dinner. 

ANYWAY, this was not a good conversation to have with someone who is 9 days past her due date and is not experiencing labor AT ALL.  I was so upset all day.  I finally got a hold of a friend of mine who is a nurse practicioner in labor and delivery and she agreed with me that Dr. P is a jerkwad, but after we had a long conversation about the benefits vs. the risks I felt a TON better (it doesn't hurt that Ari already has three boys in addition to delivering millions of babies).  She said that today when we go to the doctor we have to find out how much I'm dilated, if at all, how much effaced (yeah, Dr. P hasn't been sharing this with us either), and to also try and get an estimate on how big the baby is.  After I told her that I was 8 pounds 11 oz and John was 8 pounds 4 oz., it seemed REALLY important to find that out.  So that's the plan.  We go in at 12:45 for our last checkup armed with a list of questions.

Can you believe this guy??

Part II: (check back later today!!)

8 thoughts on ““On the eve of your birth …”

  1. A'Dell says:

    OMG! I cannot believe he tried to pull a “my schedule is full” line on you! That is so unethical I can’t even believe it. Sure there are good medical reasons to induce in your case but he shouldn’t have even brought up his schedule.

    I was have been so mad and upset. I am surprised you didn’t launch into labor immediately.

    I’d make sure you tell him that part about “You will not cut me open so you can have dinner. I KNOW an induction can take 24 hours bozo.”

    UGH!!!

  2. Brandy says:

    Holy crap!! That’s absolutely ridiculous. My righteous indignation is in full flare-up for you. WOW!

    If my midwife tried to pull that crap with me she would have another thing coming. Luckily she is EXTREMELY open and happy to talk about issues and what I want to do, not just what she wants to do. From the time I got to the hospital to the time my son was delivered my induction took 16 hours and I was already 5 cm when I got to the hospital so all they had to do was break my water, no ripening medications or anything like that was necessary. That is definitely not to say that some don’t go a TON faster but most people I know tend to have quite a long labor both with an induction and with their first.

    I am really sorry that your doctor is in a one-man practice but hopefully you will feel better after your appointment today. Good luck!

  3. Liz says:

    That totally pissed me off. Let me know if you want me to come down there and kick Dr. P in the shins for you. Cause I will. Total with the cervix softening medicine to birth, my induction was 29 hours. So good that you have a knowledgeable friend like Ari to help you make informed decisions!

  4. Nora says:

    Oh Amanda… I am praying now for peace for you and John… God is awesome and will make all of this right… don’t let Satan rob your joy.

    Philippians 4:6
    Don’t fret or worry. Instead of worrying, pray. Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns. Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life.

  5. Mandy says:

    I’m hoping for the best for you and your husband and new baby. I know I don’t know you, but I’ve been following your pregnancy story. You three are in my thoughts. Good luck, hun!

  6. Carrie says:

    Hi – been following your blog.. Congrats on the new any day now baby!! it’s so fun.

    I wanted to offer my advice. I’ve been induced twice. Here’s the cliff notes on my labors & my suggestions:

    Labor #1: Went in at 7am, Pitocin started at 9am, nothing was happening. Water broken by Dr at 12pm – heavy contrax started. Started pushing at 4pm, 4.5 hours and one episiotomy later, baby was born at 8:28pm. When I went in I was 100% effaced and 3cm dialated .

    Labor #2: Went in at 4cm dialated, 90% effaced. All he did was break my water. Completely different contractions than with the pitocin. They came on fast & hard. Baby was born 2 hour 45 min later. 3 pushes.

    So my labors were totally different and both were induced.

    Both were drug free.

    I wanted to tell you all that so you could hear 2 stories of induced labors that did NOT go for 24 hours. I wanted you to hear positive induction stories.

    My suggestion is, go in & get checked. There are options for HOW they are going ot induce you. I don’t know if you know your dr’s game plan. Is he going to do cervadil first? I noticed it says midnight for induction.

    Since you think he’s gung ho for a c/s, that there are ways to help it along on your own first. Have you looked into movement during labor to help encourage your body? There are so many things

    I wish you the best in the next few days. I can’t wait to hear your story!

  7. steph says:

    I’ve also been following and just wanted to add another induction story. I went in at 7pm for my induction. I was told to expect 24 – 36 hours. I was not dilated at all when I went in. Cervidil was placed, and my water broke on its own at 10:00pm. I started contracting on my own, but they started pitocin anyways. At nine am I was 4cm dilated, and at 9:38am I had my baby! Labor was a piece of cake and I was a NERVOUS wreck just like you about being induced, but it went off without a hitch.

Leave a Reply

