“And from then on, all she ever blogged about was her baby”

No one told me that beginning the second she was born, time would start passing in a total blur.  It's crazy!  Most of the time I have no clue what day it is, how many days old she is (just kidding, 10 days today), what time it is, who I am, who you are, the last boob she nursed on, etc.  And I thought being PREGNANT messed with your brain!

In the last few days we've had lots of activity:  Both Sydney and I visited our respective doctors on Thursday.  I got my staples out (not as bad as I thought it was going to be) and Dr. P warned not to do any heavy lifting for 4 weeks to avoid hernia.  He said my incision looks great and I can even drive … when I stop taking Vicatin that is.  Um, I like Vicatin so I won't be driving for a while.  A worthwhile compromise, I think! Well, it is as long as I have someone staying at my house, which sadly ends tomorrow.  My sister goes home tomorrow afternoon (WAHHHH!), so my extra set of arms and legs is officially coming off.  Now will I have major responsibilities like taking photos, getting my own apple juice, picking out what Syd will wear for the day … AHH!  It's almost too much to bear!

P9040019

Sydney's doctor's appointment was VERY eventful!  She started off by taking a big ole poop in her diaper as soon as we had her undressed and ready to weigh.  Then in the process of getting her changed she peed all over the exam table …TWICE (atta girl!).  It was awesome.  We finally got her cleaned up and weighed:  10 pounds.  She's put back on a few ounces (she was 9 pounds, 9 ounces at her last hospital weigh-in) and we have to take her back next week for a weight check because the doctor wants her to get back up to her birth weight.  Which was 10 POUNDS, 7 OUNCES just to remind you.  Let's see, she's still 22 inches long and in perfect health.  She does have two little knots, one behind her ear and one on her elbow that the doc thinks are probably just cysts (OMG IS THAT BAD? I AM STILL A LITTLE CONCERNED!!) and said "we'll just keep an eye on them."  He didn't seem too worried about it.  She did great … only a little fussing.  I, on the other hand, nearly passed out from standing up too long in the hot exam room.  The doctor practically ran to get me a cup of water the size of a thimble while Ash and John made me sit down.  And then I got Jamba Juice and Motrin and it fixed everything.  Hee!

P9040032

P9040026

And now an important question:  Why the crap do they keep the pediatrician's office so dang hot?  With all those dirty sick kids running around it seems like a bad idea to me … although I get that you have to strip down your baby in there and you don't want her to be cold, but STILL.  A sick kid thought I was his mama when I was waiting to sign in and he was reaching up at me and pressing in to my leg and I was all "NO BUDDY YOUR MAMA'S OVER THERE!!" while keeping my arms above my head so he couldn't make contact with any of my skin.  I'm considering filling a squirt gun with antibacterial gel to spray on snot-nosed kids (and adults) as they approach me or my baby.

Yesterday we had another outing to Babies R Us to get a stroller!  We picked out this one and it is PIMP.  I can't wait to take Syd out for a walk (John is already dreaming of Disneyland … I'm thinking more along the lines of the beach path).  Sydney stayed in the car with Auntie Ashley as we shopped, poor John was SO tired but he was a trooper too.  He happily waited in the car with his Starbucks when Ash and I hit Target to restock the house and pick up a few shirts for me to wear while I'm in "transition."  I can't bring myself to try on any of my old clothes yet, but at the same time I can't bear to wear maternity clothes!  Needless to say, I've been in pajamas most of the time since we got home.  My mother-in-law got me some cute sets that are visitor-appropriate for the hospital but I never ended up wearing them because hospital gowns! Easy to get on and off and who cares what kind of bodily fluids get on them!  Because you push a little button and they'll bring a clean one!  With a side of apple juice!  Ah, I miss that.  I've got to tell you all about my hospital stay one of these days.  Instead, here's my cute baby:

P9050017 
"This little pink person is KILLING me."

And my other cute baby:

P9050073 

Happy Grandparents Day to Nana, Pop and Grandmommy!! 

8 thoughts on ““And from then on, all she ever blogged about was her baby”

  1. kathryn says:

    I can’t believe you made it to target and babies r us only 9 days after a c-section! I’m 3 weeks out and not nearly as active yet. Sydney is adorable! Congrats!

  2. rachel says:

    Sydney is such a cute little chub!

    I think they keep the docs office warm for the little babies. Now that LG is older we are always in a room that is more comfortable.

    Does your peds office have separate waiting areas for well and sick kids? I’m not sure how well it keeps the germs away but it makes me feel a little better.

    Glad to hear everything is going well.

  3. O Me, O Mine (Morgan) says:

    I LOATHE the pediatricians office. I get so grossed out picturing all those germs and I do my best to keep my healthy toddler away from the toys. I see those other kids germing them up like crazy.

    And LIKE CLOCKWORK both girls explode their diapers whenever we have a ped. appointment. It was so embarrassing at Baby #2’s two-week apt. She had an enormous blowout right before the stripping and weighing and I thankfully had another diaper, but no back-up outfit. My baby was the one in her diaper ONLY when we had to make a run to Wal-Mart (of all places) after the appointment. I chalked it up to being exhausted from taking care of the two girls and trying to keep it together as best I could.

    I think the phrase “bring back-up outfit” is now burned into my brain.

    I am so glad you are feeling well enough to run errands and blog! That is fantastic.

  4. Lily says:

    Cysts, if the pediatrician isn’t worried, don’t worry then. I had a surface cyst on my chest when I was a student at Mizzou. The nurse said that cysts just happen sometimes.

    Can’t believe you’re running around already! I wasn’t going much of anywhere until 6 weeks out. Part of it was my ob’s strong recommendation, and part of it was not feeling that fantastic.

    BTW, you probably already know this. But, it can take months, sometimes, for a baby to gain back her pregnancy weight.

  5. Auntie Ashley says:

    Sydo!! It has been such a blessing to spend time with her, you, and hubby over the last few days. I’m so sad to leave. But as always, Auntie will be back!! I love you all with my whooollee heart.

  6. Rachel says:

    HAHA! I LOVE the idea of filling a squirt fun with antibacterial gel… too funny! You are hilarious. Sydney is adorable!

  7. Jackie says:

    Had to laugh at your title. SAME THING happened to me! I got pregnant and then it seemed like all I ever blogged about were pregnancy quirks. Someone actually posted to my blod, “other people have been pregnant before, you know.” LMAO!

    I’m glad things are going well. You both look great!

Leave a Reply

