Too soon for fat pants.

Today I had big plans to get out of the house with the baby and see how things went.  I'm still in that precarious place between healing from the c-section and finally starting to feel more like myself and oh yeah, GOING STIR CRAZY.  I'm not really supposed to lift the car seat by myself yet but I did ok with that yesterday so I figured it'd be all right.  When my husband heard about my upcoming outing, he did something totally out of character.  He told me to SPEND MONEY.  The conversation went something like this:

Me: "Hey, I think I'm going to try and take Sydney to Target by myself today.  We need diapers and some other stuff anyway."

Him: "Yeah, it'll be good for you to get out.  In fact, while you're there, buy yourself some new clothes if you need to."

Me: (Stunned silence).

Him:"Well, you said you needed to get some stuff, right?"

Me: (Dumbfounded nodding of head.  Drool).

For a little background, my husband hates spending money more than anyone I've ever met in my life.  It's one of those yin vs. yang things because, you guessed it, I LOVE spending money.  When we were first married — and BROKE — John helped me mend my money-hemorrhaging ways with this awful thing called a budget. Three years ago I could seriously calculate a cart of groceries within a dollar of the actual total … including tax!  Thankfully we don't have to be as super-extremely-ridiculously careful these days.  Still, the effects of that first year have stayed:  I am now so used to penny-pinching that I actually feel guilty spending money on things we need (such as nursing bras … oh my gosh that one killed me).

Anyway, in my GLEE! over getting to cut a little loose today I decided to pull out some of my "fat pants" to see what exactly I needed to get to fill in.  BAD STUPID HORRIBLE IDEA.  They were nowhere close to buttoning, don't even mention them being way, way too tight.  I wore these pants up until I was 4 months pregnant!  WAAAAAHHHHH!  I'm not going to lie, I stupidly thought that they might actually fit.  I'm a little sick of wearing the same pair of black pajama pants every day instead of real pants.  I'm not totally against wearing maternity pants for a while (hello, why don't ALL pants have stretchy waistbands?) but I'm not crazy about it either.  Out of curiosity, how long do people wear maternity clothes after the baby is born?  Is there a statute of limitations?  Because it's gonna kill me to buy any pants with numbered sizing right now.  Ugh.

And just when I was starting to think that I could eat unlimited cookies as long as Sydney breastfeeds.  BOO.

11 thoughts on “Too soon for fat pants.

  1. Katie says:

    Manda–it’s ok to keep wearing those maternity pants as long as you want! I’m 5 weeks post c-section and made the mistake of trying on non-elastic-waisted pants yesterday. All I can say is, don’t do it! Find some elastic skirts on sale (try j jill online–I just found some myself), and keep eating cookies….sidney needs that high-octane milk!

  2. Rachel says:

    I wore mine for 2 or 3 months and then ended up buying pants a size larger than I had ever worn in my life. I just wanted to wear real pants. Thankfully I only had to wear them a couple weeks.

    Don’t worry, the weight will come off and your body will get more like normal.

  3. anne nahm says:

    I think I just got a little crush on your husband. Also, be gentle with yourself. It took nine months to make that baby, it will take at least that long to get rid of all that baby stuff.

  4. J. says:

    When I was four weeks post-partum I went out and bought real, but fat, pants. I wore a size (okay, two) larger than normal, but was glad to have them. I was mostly surprised by how differently they fit and how I now carried weight in places I hadn’t before.

    But when I was pregnant and got used to wearing maternity pants, I wondered why the button and fly ever were invented. Wear those maternity pants as long as you can!

    Oh, have you had shirt troubles yet? I slimmed down a bit and was confident that I could, with some excess around my belly, fit into my pre-pregnancy shirts several weeks after giving birth. Let’s just say that I had to buy a size larger (uh, that’s extra-large-r) than I wore before–for the entire year I breastfeed. Yes, the rest of me slimmed down nicely, but I needed a new set of shirts to accommodate my milk storage.

    The nice thing is that the weight gain, then loss, is so dramatic that people will periodically tell you how great you look. I still get people coming up to me at church noticing the pounds I lost (am losing).

  5. Emily says:

    It takes a while. I think I wore my maternity clothes for at LEAST 8 or 9 weeks and then Christmas came along and NONE OF MY REGULAR CLOTHES FIT so I had to wear an old, fatty fatty pair of JEANS to church on Christmas Eve. Take your time, it will happen, I promise!!

  6. nora says:

    Thank the Lord for maternity jeans that don’t necessarily look like maternity jeans when you wear a long shirt :). I lived in my maternity pants for at least 2 or 3 months before fitting in to some old “fat jeans”. It will come off with hard work, but more importantly TIME. Especially after c-section. That area will be swollen for a while.

  7. Caroline says:

    I bought fat pants at Target around the time you are or went . But keep in mind you will have them for the next round and for any friends who are in the same situation as you. Girl, you get out as often as you can. Stir craziness can be horrible.!!!

  8. Auntie Ashley says:

    I love that. I’m too fat for my fat pants. I’m at the point where I can only wear 3 pairs of pants comfortably and my weight at my physical today was not to my liking at all. Poop.

  9. Jackie says:

    4 months for me – FOUR MONTHS – I stayed in those maternity pants. When I fit into regular jeans again – the ones with ZIPPERS – I cried (seriously, real tears rolling down my cheeks). I completely get where you’re coming from. It’s way too early for you to be hard on yourself (and, hey, winter’s coming, so stay in some cute hoodies and matching running pants without feeling guilty). :o)

  10. Brandy says:

    UGH. I am so going through this right now too. It just plain SUCKS but it does get better. Eventually you will get back there, although you may have to give up the unlimited cookies. 🙂 And just when I found the new fudge oreos. Oh the humanity!

Leave a Reply

