Maternity For Eternity

Have I told you that I LOVE to clean things out?  I do.  I can't explain why it feels so good to re-organize and purge, but there's just something about it that brings me such peace and relief.  I even love shows about cleaning out people's houses!  HELLO!  Have you seen Clean Sweep?  Yes, I realize it's probably a leeetle weird that I'm admitting publicly that I even like to WATCH other people organize but whatever, so does Oprah.  Some people get a kick out of scrapbooking or crocheting, I get my kicks from rearranging my underwear drawer (and my husband's … and one day Sydney's).

This little tic of mine goes WAY back.  As a middle-schooler my mom would catch me up at 3 a.m. rearranging my entire bedroom.  In college my roommates could depend on me to OFFER to put the clean sheets on their beds for them because I LIKED doing that sort of thing.  After a year of marriage my husband finally just accepted that he would never be able to find anything in our kitchen because it got moved around so much.  My BFF Lily had to deal with me "helping" (making) her rearrange her whole apartment before her first baby was born.  Living with a man and having a child has definitely dialed down the neurosis but I still really, really like to organize stuff.  Except, as a side note, for our garage.  It's too scary.  And it's where I move all my crap I don't know what to do with.

ANYWAY, in our neighborhood a charity comes around once a month and picks up donations in the way of clothes, furniture and other castoffs.  It's awesome!  All you have to do is put your old clothes or couches or whatever out on the curb in the morning and by the afternoon poof!  It's all disappeared!  Every month I try to make a point of purging at least one bag of stuff.  It's so easy how could I not?  Last week I decided to try and make a huge donation because we'd missed the last two because of all the baby craziness going on around here.  AND SO we kicked off the most massive organization-fest since John and I got married and I threw out most of his stuff.  Whee!!

It started in my closet.  The baby was napping like a rock star so I decided to finally once-an-for-all put away all the errant maternity clothes.  Did I mention that my sister-in-law gave me all hers even though she was pregnant in winter and I was pregnant in summer?  And she has lots of pals who gave her their maternity clothes?  And I bought a lot of summer things because, wool?  Not so fun in summer.  Especially when you are prego with a 10-and-a-half-pounder and your belly itches.  Add all that together and this is what you end up with:

DSC03312 

This isn't even all of it.  I ended up stuffing at least 12 more articles of clothing on the top of this bag and then it took all my strength to drag it over to my closet … 4 feet away.  The thing weighed as much as I did, AND THAT'S SAYING SOMETHING.  I have enough baby clothes to outfit an entire maternity store.  And I would name that maternity store "Maternity For Eternity … when you have enough maternity clothes to never go back to the real thing."  Too long?  So yeah, sadly, the maternity clothes went away, and inevitably the pre-pregnancy clothes had to come out.  I had all my old bras in with that stuff and I need to just say OH MY GOODNESS MY BOOBS WERE SO SMALL ONCE.  I got rid of a lot of stuff that looked like it would only fit junior-high-version-Manda … I can't believe I could fit into it only a year ago.  Depressing.  None of my old pants came out of hiding yet. I can't stand pants that don't fit hanging in my closet laughing at me.

Next we tackled the baby's closet.  Holy wow the child has lots of clothes.  I pulled out all the 6-month size stuff and washed it because YES my 3-month-old can already fit into some of those things.  I put away all the teeny tiny things she's already grown out of after I hugged and smelled them all and cried a little because my BAAAABY IS GROWING UP TOO FAST WAAAAAAH!

By the end of the day there were three full bags of clothes along with a couch, ottoman and chair we've been storing in the garage and a hillbilly's assortment of other crap on the lawn.  I could practically hear the angels singing when I drove up to the house later and saw that it was all gone.  But I was glad that I snuck out there and rescued a few bras from the pile earlier in the day … hey, a girl can dream.

So I just wrote an entire blog about organizing.  Two thoughts: I AM A DORK, and … anyone else?

5 thoughts on “Maternity For Eternity

  1. J. says:

    Ooh, me, me [raises hand]. I invite myself over to friends’ houses whenever they utter the word “organize” or “closet” or “wardrobe” or “purge.” I, too, love Clean Sweep and watching any show in which things are gotten rid of.

    One of the nice things you’ll enjoy about having a baby is that she keeps growing out of things, which must be purged and stored neatly, and she keeps aquiring new things which must assimilate into her current things.

    I was filled with joy the other day. While K. was playing in the bathtub, I realized I had not cleaned out the cabinet under the sink in a long time, so I got to have fun while she was having fun.

  2. Lily says:

    Well, perhaps I’m a dork but I am also having organizing problems. HELP! I don’t have the blessing of having two babies napping at the same time for long. Now I need to put 0-9 months clothes away. Victoria can fit in some 9 months clothing. Can you help me pack away clothes that are too small for Isabella and too small for Victoria?! Yikes!

  3. rachel says:

    I love organizing too, except my house is to small for everything to have it’s own place, so for right now there is stuff next to my bed waiting for me to figure out what to do with it.

  4. Nikki says:

    I think we might be soul mates. I love to organize and rearrange things … constantly! I also got in trouble for moving my bedroom furniture at 2 and 3 AM. But it always looked so nice and FRESH afterward!

    We just bought a new bed, so guess what WE get to do next week!? ORGANIZE! REARRANGE! I am in Heaven.

    Let’s be friends.

  5. Brandy says:

    I so LOVE Peter Walsh and Clean Sweep. Lately I’ve been watching him on Oprah and I’m doing the 15 minutes a day of purging. I can’t even tell you how GOOD it feels. Sadly I’ve done 15 minutes a day for the last 4 days and haven’t even finished my closet yet. Ugh.

    Oh and apparently I was thinking very similarly to you because I tackled my closet last weekend and holy moly on the maternity clothes! I was pregnant with my son in the winter and with my daughter in the summer so I have a HUGE amount of clothes. I will definitely be taking pics before they are relegated to the garage.

Leave a Reply

