Owning up, growing up, and firming up

I need to get a few things off my chest.

So, remember when I was all "I'll never shampoo my hair AGAIN!"  Yeah, that lasted about two weeks.  The first few times I washed my hair with baking soda the results were amazing!  But after doing it repeatedly I kept catching myself scratching my scalp because I was getting this wacky residue/buildup because (I thought) I was using too much baking soda or not washing it all out, etc.  So I skipped that step a few days and furiously rubbed my scalp … and still had the weird residue.  The only thing that would get it off and make my hair feel "normal" was regular shampoo.  Right here and now I admit it:  I'm putting the chemicals back on my head and I'm HAPPY about it.  And you know what else?  My hair is growing back in!  YAY!  Sure it looks like I got experimental and gave myself a buzz cut on my temples … BUT WHO CARES?!  Now all I have to do is fight the urge to whack all my hair off (not that I have a hairdresser I can trust in this city anyway) and let it grow out for the next two years. UGH.

In other detox updates, I found a non-toxic laundry detergent that I like!!  Recently at Target I was in the detergent aisle fretting over purchasing a ginormous container of Tide.  You see, fresh laundry is my FAVORITE smell.  I have been known (in my single, frivolous years when I had nothing better to do than stay up all night watching television and eating cookie dough, that is) to wash my bedding MORE than once a week just to be able to ROLL AROUND in the lovely smell of clean laundry washed in a combination of Tide detergent and Bounce dryer sheets.  I still stick scented dryer sheets in odd places like under the front seat of my car, in my funky (F)Ugg boots, in the closet, and of course – not so oddly – in the diaper pail.  Nothing is better to me than getting out of the shower and burying my face in a clean, fresh towel.

Anyway, you get the point.  It seemed IMPOSSIBLE for me to ever give up the Tide.

So I was at Target one day and lo and behold … a kindred spirit.  A woman was across the aisle from me sniffing detergent.  Have you ever been caught sniffing things at Target?  Body wash?  Deodorant?  Candles?  I do it ALL THE TIME.  Guilty as charged.  I noticed that she was sniffing the Method brand detergents with intensity that I could totally relate to and I just blurted out "If they just smelled like Tide, I would be sold.  Right?!"  And then the most wonderful thing happened … she was all, "OH MY GOD I KNOW!  Isn't it awful!?"  And then I was all, "Yes!  I can't help myself!  I love the way Tide smells but I would NEVER wash the baby's stuff in it!"  And she was all, "TOTALLY!"  Then we had a lovely conversation about how horrid animal testing is and that it doesn't sit right with us and then she told me to try "the green bottle" of Method detergent that she'd found at Whole Foods (she couldn't remember what the scent was called).  It just so happened that John and I had plans to hit the food bar of wonderfulness at Whole Foods that same night so I went hunting and found Method water lily + aloe laundrydetergent.  Cue the "Hallelujah Chorus"!  I love it … it's a "clean/fresh" smelling detergent as opposed to a "fruity/overly sweet/just plain weird" smelling one.  YAY!  I also got a bottle of the Sweet Water scent and like it a lot.  I feel so much better now.

Another product that I found and love is Method baby's hair and body wash in rice milk + mallow scent.  It makes Sydney smell babylicious and yep, it's non-toxic.  When we finish out the Dreft we have left I'm going to start washing her clothes in the Method baby detergent with the same scent.

***

Now that we've gotten all that out of the way…

MY BABY!  SHE ROLLS OVER!  SHE DRINKS PEAR JUICE!

PC270204 

In two days Sydney will turn 5 months old.  Where does the time go?  At her doctor's visit on the 8th of this month, she weighed in at 14 pounds, 11 ounces (80th percentile) and was 26 3/4 inches tall (98th percentile … since I'm only 5'4" we have hope that she'll one day be able to dunk a basketball on her daddy, ha ha).  At that doctor's visit, by the way, she got TWO shots and DID NOT CRY.  I've been trying to hold off on rice cereal as long as possible, but in the last two weeks I have not been able to keep up with her appetite with breast milk alone and we've been supplementing with formula (she is about half breast milk and half formula now).  This was going fine until yesterday when she got majorly, upsettingly constipated from all the iron.  Her poop was coming out almost solid, and she was CRYING after she pooped.  Right away I lit up the phone tree and my brilliant friend Ari – who is also a nurse practitioner with three kids - told me that 2 oz. of 100% pear juice mixed with 2 oz. water would do the trick.  BOY HOWDY was she right!  Last night we were so thankful (words I never thought I would EVER utter) to have a huge poopy blowout diaper right before bed.

While I was at the store getting Sydney pear juice I also picked up a box of rice cereal, some stage one veggies, and some baby spoons.  She's super interested when she sees us putting food in our mouths, and is RAVENOUSLY hungry after she's nursed during the day (hence the formula), so we're going to give cereal a shot soon.  A few people have mentioned to me that you can put a little super-diluted rice cereal in a bottle with fast-flow nipple to get babies started on it, but I think we're going to try to skip right to the spoon.  Dribble dribble here we come! 

Also?  On the 20th of this month I put Sydney down in her crib on her stomach and she promptly rolled on her back to get a better look at her mobile.  It happened so fast I almost couldn't believe it!  Since then she's rolled over again and is very apt at getting from her back to her side, but she keeps getting her arm pinned and can't figure out how to get it out of her way.  Sigh.  No more abandoning her on the top of the dresser on her changing pad!  She also found her feet recently.  Last night she grabbed them and tried to get them in her mouth.  Woo!

Yesterday at church Sydney flirted with everyone, per usual.  She is so SMILEY!  It's great because she basically makes everyone's day and I hear the phrase "She likes me!  She smiled at me!" over and over again wherever I go.  It's fun!  I don't mention to those people that she also smiles at the dogs, her teddy bears, and herself in the mirror.  And since she's so popular and now web cams with Nana (yes, Nana got us a web cam for Christmas) she also smiles at video streams on the computer, hee!  Since I mentioned the dogs, I need to say that the girl is OBSESSED.  Whenever she sees Juicy or Henry walk by her when she's in the exersaucer she laughs and SCREAMS with joy.  Henry wags his tail at this and usually plops down on the floor right next to her in his usual position; Juicy high-tails it and hides in the office when it happens.  Oy.  I don't know what we're going to do with that dog.  He can't stand her!  What's going to happen when she can chase him?!

DSC03651 

DSC03656 
(Someone SAVE me.)

And did I mention the SCREAMING?  I'll have to get that one on video sometime.  We should have known this would happen considering that John and I both have trouble controlling our volume levels.  The child is LOUD.  She'll just be bopping away playing and then all the sudden she winds up and lets loose with this joyful – albeit earth-shattering – holler.  Then she giggles at herself.  Fun times!

We have also been reading a lot of books and Sydney really seems to enjoy that.  She looks at the pictures and reaches out and tries to grab the pages.  We really like to read to her from The Jesus Storybook Bible (if you have been looking for a Bible for your little ones, this is the one.  The drawings are gorgeous and uh, ethnically correct, and the language is absolutely beautiful) and a book called Give Me Grace.  My other two favorites are Olivia and Some Dog!.  One of my joys in life is reading to my daughter.  I can't wait until she can stand to sit on my lap and read for more than 5 minutes at a time!!

I would write more, but I still have like 30 minutes of nap time left and I want to try and lie down because I HURT.  John and I have been doing the 30 Day Shred (today is day 4 and we are on level one) and not only do I now HATE Jillian Michaels (she taunts me effectively with statements such as: "If 400 pound people can do jumping jacks, SO CAN YOU"), I can't walk or lift my arms very well.  Now where did I put those brownies?

5 thoughts on “Owning up, growing up, and firming up

  1. stacia jones says:

    Okay, I’m commenting…lurker alert… I have to say, I read your blog and was inspired to do the hair thing. I’ve had trouble with mine growing back after #2 and soooo….I love the baking soda thing…cheap (always good) and it helped with body in my hair. However, I can’t say I totally committed. I’ve done it a few times a week and then the other days normal shampoo and a vinegar rinse. Works great for me. Also, the Jesus Storybook Bible, we discovered this one this year. It is absolutely the most beautiful book ever! I love it, my kids do as well, but mainly its for me! Thanks for all your ramblings, you’re so funny and dude, you can write!

  2. Liz says:

    So glad you wrote about the pear juice! We’ve been using formula exclusively for the past week that I’ve been so sick and it’s been taxing on Boo’s system. I’m totally trying that. Also – any creative ideas about how to get my supply back up after a week of basically no nursing/pumping? (I hope you say “eat copious amounts of ice cream)

  3. Mighty Maggie says:

    Our kids are that close in age?! Molly will be 5 months on the 1st. Ack. I am totally considering cereal soon (even though I swore up and down I would delay solids as long as possible because WHY PROLONG THE MISERY?) because I think she’s super hungry at night… But you know, all my theories, they get me nowhere.

    I’ve been wanting to try the no ‘poo method, but not anymore. Thx.

    And? I hate laundry smell. I think I am sensitive to smell in general, but everything I buy is UNSCENTED lest I go around sniffing for the HEADACHEY PERFUME REEK. Except baby soap. I do like baby soap. Must try the Method kind…

  4. Edna B. says:

    Hi there. I’m coming out of the dark. 🙂 I live in the general LA area and spent three years living just east of Inglewood…not far from where you’re at. I can’t remember how I found your blog…I think I googled “faint line pregnancy test” or something. Anyway, glad to hear you won’t be feeding your baby cereal out of a bottle. It’s a total no-no…stuff like that leads to overweight kids. And about the low breast milk supply: the lactation nurses gave me fenugreek when my daughter was born. It makes you smell like maple syrup but it works.

Leave a Reply

