And the Mother of the Year Award goes to …

A timeline …

Last night: Syd tipped over in her bath and swallowed a mouthful of water.  I caught her mid-tip, but I wasn't fast enough.  Had to take a few minutes to clutch my coughing baby to my chest and WEEP.

Early this morning:  Came into her room at 3:30 a.m. because the girl was HOWLING.  Cold in her bedroom.  We forgot to turn on the heat.  Takes one hour to soothe her back to sleep in the rocking chair.

Later this morning: Called again to her room at 6 a.m.  Sydney has somehow figured out how to roll over WHILE SWADDLED.  Unfortunately she has no idea how to roll back with no arms for leverage.  She was pinned with her face in the slats of her crib.  I flipped her over, gave her a paci and went back to bed.

Two hours later:  Still swaddled and FLIPPED AGAIN.  Face down on her mattress and HOWLING for help.  BECAUSE I KEPT HER SWADDLED.

Just now:  Look over from my computer and see my daughter giggling and playing on her blanket … with her own spit-up.

WORST. MOTHER. EVER.

10 thoughts on “And the Mother of the Year Award goes to …

  1. Liz says:

    Oooh! Time to stop swaddling (according to my ped. of course there’s always more than one way to do things!). Good luck with that – It took us a week to get over it. Woah, I didn’t mean to be negative, I was actually trying to be funny… Hm.

  2. Lily says:

    Not the worst mother ever. Not even remotely close. I did NOT have anything together when Isabella was Sydney’s age, so you’re a much better mom than I was.

  3. larmar says:

    not the worst mom- i don’t see any pictures of syd playing in her own puke, so at least you didn’t stop to point and laugh and take pictures before cleaning her up. 🙂

  4. Courtney Adams says:

    Just wait till she can stand in the tub! Chase did the same thing standing up..slid down the back of the tub on his tummy and face first into the water…came up choking! Now I get the pouty face every time I tell him to sit down in the tub! And then, he was practicing going down stairs and fell face first and had a huge bruise on his forehead! This has happened or will happen to all us at some point in time! You are not alone!

  5. AmandaLeigh says:

    Oh no. My five and a half month old daughter got ring worm. Yes, disgusting, diseased, ring worm. From my cat. Who I let go outside. Who then apparently rubs her germs all over my lovely little baby. I defy you to not tell me I’m the worst mother ev-ah!

Leave a Reply

