And men wonder why we don’t put them in charge of anything

(This post brought to you by CAPS LOCK)

Yesterday morning I got my daughter out of her crib, unzipped her sleep sack, and found THIS:

DSC03994 

These used to be footie pajamas.  SO, either my daughter totally Hulked Out or my husband finally did what he's been threatening to do for months and CUT THE FEET OFF HER PAJAMAS. As you can tell from the bulging thigh gaps they were a bit too small (someone had a major growth spurt in the last two weeks and as it happens?  Footie pajamas in size 12 months and above are really hard to find and then once you find them?  They're really freaking expensive!  What is up with the shortage of footie pajamas!?), but honestly, THE GIRL HAS PANTS.  Could we not have just put her to sleep in comfy clothes?  And folded up these cute footie pajamas in one of the million rubber tubs that are clogging up our garage JUST IN CASE WE HAVE ANOTHER BABY GIRL ONE DAY?

DSC04005 

Oh well.  Sydney wasn't too broken up about it.  At least her yellow socks still fit.  So yeah … send 12-month footie pajamas so I can bring all our scissors out of hiding.

Yesterday was a big day for me … I lost my Costco virginity!  I KNOW!  Way to hop on that train a little late, Manda.  I've held off because honestly I didn't know what would be so wonderful about a store that charges me $50 a year for the honor of crossing the threshold.  The nerve!  I also have vague memories of going to Sam's club as a kid and what I remember is ALL THE SWEATSUITS.  Like millions of Hanes sweatpants and sweatshirts in every size and color (and yes, I wore them all).  And the walls and walls of generic EVERYTHING.  Who knew that these places actually had name brand stuff?

I must tell you, though, COSTCO HAS THINGS.  I bought my usual diapers-wipes-formula (but? I got TWICE as much for just a few dollars more) AND a gorgeous palate of strawberries and some asparagus and green beans AND enough Cetaphil lotion and Oil of Olay to last me through the summer (at the LEAST) AND new floormats for my car PLUS new – way overdue – undershirts for John and … I got out the door for less than $200.  THIS STORE IS GOING TO CHANGE OUR LIVES.  And!  Have you seen all the lovely food?  And!  The bicycles!  And!  The dog beds?!  And!  The fresh flowers!  And … THE CHEESE SECTION?!  AND THE HOT DOGS?  AND THE VERY BERRY SUNDAES?!  LET ME TELL YOU ABOUT THE VERY BERRY SUNDAES!!!!!!   I CAN'T SHUT UP ABOUT FREAKING COSTCO!

Costco! 

We really were just brimming with joy over it all day yesterday.*

*We live in a metropolitan area. Which means?  Target is where I MUST get all my paper products, cleaning supplies, toiletries, etc. because grabbing any of these things at the grocery store means paying TRIPLE (and there is no Evil, Evil Wal-Mart anywhere nearby.  I say Evil Evil Wal-Mart because Californians are mostly snooty and think Wal-Mart is evil.  Like, more evil than Al-Quaeda.  I like Wal-Mart, but don't tell my neighbors please. They might hurt me).  And you know what?  Target ain't cheap.  I am constantly searching for bargains and coupons AND THAT GETS OLD FAST.  PLUS, TARGET DOES NOT HAVE VERY BERRY SUNDAES.  Hmmm, wonder how many WW points THOSE are gonna cost me.

8 thoughts on “And men wonder why we don’t put them in charge of anything

  1. larmar says:

    um. costco is great. have you tried the big cinnamon stick things? oh they are so good. and you can’t beat all the free samples of things. when i was doing weight watchers, i used 3 points a week on samples at costco. so great.

  2. Lily says:

    I hear Costco also has a decent selection of organic stuff. Am tied to Sam’s at the moment, with free tire rotations there. I don’t like Wal-Mart for humanitarian reasons.

  3. lori says:

    funny…
    So I’m moving to Guadalajara (Mexico) in July for med school and I’m emailing with this girl who is the current tenant of the apartment I’m probably going to rent. I sent her an email thanking her for posting picture of the apartment and surrounding area and how it’s nice to know that things are pretty normal and I’m not leaving the face of the planet or something like that. Her response?
    ” You are definitely not leaving civilization behind… there’s Costco”
    I kid you not. Of course, I had NO idea what Costco was… but now I do and the excitement is building 🙂

  4. K says:

    Oy! Can’t believe he cut the feet off! 🙂 Around here (in the Northeast) we can find footie pjs at Children’s Place (and usually pretty reasonable – 3pr for $20 or something). I’ve also bought them at Target in sizes up to children’s 8. Hope that helps! 🙂

  5. Mackenzie says:

    Costco is the greatest! We buy just about everything there. The dog beds are incredible. We just put both our dogs on the dog food too…good stuff, they tell me. 🙂

  6. Katie says:

    Costco is an addiction! My husband and I are there at least once a week. The food is phenomenal, the prices are great and they even have great clothes! That membership is the best money I spend all year. Plus, any place where you can buy a HUGE and delicious pizza for $8 is the place for me. Welcome to the club, Manda!

Leave a Reply

