The results are in…

Sydney had her 9-month checkup yesterday!  Here are her stats:

Length: 29 inches (90th percentile)
Weight: 22 pounds, 8 ounces (95th percentile)
Head circumference: 18.5 (above 95th percentile … OFF THE CHARTS)

As expected, we have a ginormous and perfectly healthy baby girl (she wears 12 and 18 month sized clothes already so we were pretty sure that she'd be at the top of the charts).  The doctor told us that usually a baby's head is the first thing to grow in a growth spurt (didn't know that!) so we can expect the rest of her to be spurting soon!  I have a feeling that soon we'll say bye-bye to all her cute 12 month clothes!

We bragged told him about all the wonderful things she can do (crawling, pulling up, feeding herself, blah blah blah) and when we got to the part where she calls John (and no one else anymore) "Dada" the appropriate dog (Henry) by his nickname "Bubba", waves and says "hi!" and calls me and everyone and everything else "HAT!" he was like "Woah!  It's early for that!"  Oh my gosh we were so high-fiving in the parking lot afterwards over that one.  HARVARD HERE WE COME!!

Then after that we went out to breakfast and Sydney spent most of the meal screaming the most earth-shattering ear-piercing scream I have ever heard come out of anyone … except myself.  Turnabout is fair play I suppose.  The only place I have been stink-eyed more than that was when I was ON AN AIRPLANE with a baby.  As those of you know, this is SAYING SOMETHING.  So yeah, that was my LAST breakfast out with child for a looooong time to come.

Also, as promised, how to teach your kid to use a sippy cup:

After I let her drink from my water bottle a few times over the course of a few days (and you know, completely soaked the entire front of whatever she was wearing) I saw these little sport bottles and decided to give them a try.  Since she already got the concept of sipping from a bottle, it didn't take her long to figure out that a little suck would get her a drink!

DSC04450

It also did not take her long to figure out that tipping the bottle over and SQUEEZING would make the water shoot out all over.  YAY!  JUST LIKE A BATH!  EXCEPT MOMMY HAS TO MOP THE FLOOR!

DSC04451

Then, after trying 4 million sippy cups, including one with a nipple-like spout, I found this one by Munchkin at Target.  It has a soft clear top with a "spill-proof spout."  Sydney alternates between chewing on it and sipping from it (she really will only sip if I'm the one holding it for her … odd because she prefers to hold her own bottles but WHATEVER).

DSC04448
I miss you water bottle play toy!!

DSC04449
Mmmm!  Water!

Voila!  She sips!

And if that wasn't enough, here's a (boring to everyone but Nana, Grandma, Grandpa, Aunties and Uncle) video which features Sydney SCREAMING! and making all kinds of fun noises and then very clearly saying "Hi Bubba!" to the dog at 3:02.  Pay no attention to me and my fat butt in my nightgown in the background making myself a huge cup of coffee (and YES that is FAT FREE half and half). 

http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=5001757&server=vimeo.com&show_title=1&show_byline=1&show_portrait=0&color=01AAEA&fullscreen=1

Hi Bubba! from Manda on Vimeo.

p.s. Our glider broke last night. I think I'm going to DIE without it.

3 thoughts on “The results are in…

  1. A'Dell says:

    Um, that is a TOTALLY AWESOME balloon-within-a-balloon there.

    Disney Land is the only thing I miss about living in southern California. *Sigh* We may have to go visit.

Leave a Reply

