A moment to catch my breath (and up on my errands).

Yesterday my mother-in-law came over to visit with her granddaughter for the afternoon after being out of town for a few weeks. 

IMG_1421[1]
Grandma's here!  PARTY TIME!

Being the opportunist that I am, I decided to take off for the afternoon to catch up on the colossally humongous grocery list that's been building up at our house over the past few weeks.  Under normal circumstances I keep our pantry stocked with staples like canned diced tomatoes, packets of taco and chili seasoning, canned vegetables and beans, pasta, rice … you get the idea.  Things have been busy and financially tight the last month, and so I've been VERY creative and used everything we have on hand to make our food stretch as far as possible and only making smallish trips to the grocery store.  Thankfully over the weekend a little money came in and I got the green light to head to Costco and to the grocery store to do some damage.

It took me FIVE HOURS.  AND I DIDN'T EVEN HAVE A BABY WITH ME.  (For the record I wasted the first two hours returning a rug at Target and then going to another Target trying to find the rug I wanted to find that the rug I wanted was only available ONLINE, just LET ME DIE).  I was so tired last night it wasn't even funny (and yes, the kid is still staying up until 10 p.m. just for the record).

(Also? I have yet to get around to finishing my business at the Social Security office, getting a TB test, and getting my application at the district employment office done.  UGH.)

The point of this whole story was to say that today I'm finally able to try out a few recipes that I've been eyeing.  And it feels so good and I am so blessed to have a full refrigerator and pantry.  And my husband – after eating his good lunch – just left the house and on his way out said "You're SO getting a fun surprise later!" YEAH!

Also? I WON A CONTEST!! That totally made my day today.

Also?  My sister has volunteered to train and run the half-marathon with me.  I LOVE MY SISTER!!  She lives in Denver but we're going to train together via text message or something.  I'm toying with the idea of this half-marathon even though it's in San Francisco and uh, SF is HILLY and stuff.  But I've never been to San Fran before and I'm thinking we could just make a family trip of it and do dorky things like ride the trolleys and see (and of course take pictures with) the Golden Gate Bridge. 

In WW news, it's definitely time to recommit.  I lost zero pounds this week, stalling my weight loss total at 23 pounds.  I've enjoyed all the baked goods and cheese and pasta and bread, but I tried on my favorite jeans a few days ago and while I can zip them up … that's all I can say about it.  They were horrendously uncomfortable.  My daughter turned 10 months old two days ago which means that I have less than two months — 8 weeks to be exact — to lose another 17 pounds!  YIKES!

Also?  My baby is ten months old??!!

IPhone Roll 038  

IMG_1408

IMG_1412 

IMG_1397

Why does it surprise me that she now refuses eat baby food?

That she claps?

That she points at her dogs and says "dog"?

That she can stand for a 5-count by herself?

It is so strange that she's now been in the outside world longer than she was in my womb.  Soon people will ask me "How old?" and I will say "one."  ONE.

To my daughter I say: STOP RUSHING.

To myself I say: SLOW DOWN.  You're missing it.

(Sigh.)

[UPDATE!!  The surprise my husband told me I was going to get?  WAS A MACBOOK.  He just walked in the door and handed me a huge bouquet of sunflowers and a MACBOOK, people.  I have no shame in admitting that I just cried like a baby.  The lesson? DON'T DOUBT THE POWER OF FOOD. EVER.]

5 thoughts on “A moment to catch my breath (and up on my errands).

  1. Morgan S. says:

    What a sweetie-pie of a husband you have there! πŸ™‚

    Also, I don’t think you have shown us Sydney’s room??? I can see some snippets in the background here, it looks adorable!

  2. larmar says:

    so, she’s ten months old now. imagine being FOUR MONTHS PREGNANT.

    you missed out, manda. πŸ™‚

    and… yay for new macbooks! i wanted one, but we found good deals on some pcs. and there you have it…

Leave a Reply

