In which I lose my mind for the zillionth time

Today I am overwhelmed.

Last night I had a work meeting. To be vague: It sucked.

Then I came home to a quiet house … John had fed, bathed, and put Sydney to bed. AMAZING.  We ate dinner and talked things over.  I felt better.

AND THEN?

Around 9:30 p.m. Sydney woke up screaming.  It was too cold in her room (and as we discovered this morning, tooth # 9 has reared it's ugly, jerkwad head).  And then? We tagged out trying to put her back to sleep until I just gave the heck up and abandoned John at 11 p.m.

AND THEN?

Six a.m. this morning Syd awoke … again NOT a happy camper.  Usually she'll take a paci at this time and go back to sleep.  No dice.

And so I got up with her, made her a bottle, made the coffee, fed her breakfast and then read every "BOOK!" she demanded until John got up around 8 (if I so much looked away from her in that time she let fly with a shriek that would literally wake the dead). And then I was planning on you know, finishing my coffee, going to the bathroom … totally LUXURIOUS and UNNECESSARY things of that nature.

AND THEN?

Someone decided that Mama was the only one. And someone decided that she was tired but was never, ever going to admit to being tired and let's read POLAR BEAR POLAR BEAR WHAT DO YOU HEAR? ONE THOUSAND TIMES, OOOHHKAAAAY? And I'm evil-eyeing John because ZOMG YOU'D BETTER HELP ME OR I WILL SHOOT MYSELF. And thinking HOW DARE YOU WORK AT HOME SO YOU CAN SPEND MORE TIME WITH US WHILST SIMULTANEOUSLY KEEPING FOOD IN OUR BELLIES AND A ROOF OVER OUR HEAD AND WATCH ME GET FRUSTRATED WITH OUR BABY YOU BLESSED MAN I WILL KILL YOU.  

And he even tried to help (I suppose he got the hint) and told me to leave the room at one point which I STUPIDLY REFUSED TO DO.  BECAUSE QUITE OBVIOUSLY I DON'T NEED TO GO TO THE BATHROOM EVER.

AND THEN?

Soon the girl was totally melting down because she was so freaking tired … perhaps from not getting her usual TWELVE HOURS STRAIGHT A NIGHT?  I tried to rock her to sleep. Instead of drifting off like a little cherub angel she decided to try to claw me to death and wiggle out of my death grip and bang her head on the hardwood floor (for kicks and giggles!) so I plopped her in her crib with her blanket and paci and ran into my room and dove headfirst under the covers.  Because that was the adult thing to do.

(she fell asleep approximately 5 seconds later, after one final earth-shattering Rebel Yell)

DSC05111

Oh my aching ears.
8 thoughts on “In which I lose my mind for the zillionth time

  1. morgan s. says:

    Ugh. Babies this age can be both so sweet and so obnoxious. Also, they are so STRONG. When they shriek for you ONLY YOU to hold them and then they thrash like rabid monkeys – NO FUN.

    Teething is rotten, for sure.

    Hang in there, Manda. Hopefully you will get a nice long nap in while Syd is sleeping!

  2. SUPAHMAMA! says:

    i’m blaming all my toddler and infant related issues to the fact that it’s a full moon and they must be more of my husband’s children than my own…

  3. larmar says:

    it must have been the day. i swear, yesterday was the worst day i have ever had with alex. throw an infant on that, and i was in tears by the end of the night. i thought someone had switched my sweet little girl with satan’s spawn.

  4. Rachel says:

    I’m sorry you have a had a rough day. I’m so glad I’m not the only one who has days like this though, it makes me feel normal.

Leave a Reply

