In Real Life

So yesterday something awesome happened.  See the following photograph?  That contains both Maggie and me?  Your eyes do not deceive you, friends. There is no Photoshop magic going on here.  We met, like, IN PERSON!

DSC05610
(In which we admonish our husbands "This BETTER be flattering!" and "FILL THE FRAME!" and "Because! For the BLOG!")

Yesterday Maggie and her family were kind enough to let us invade their vacation (and their hotel pool and hotel room) in order to arrange what was my first official Blogger Meetup. It was awesome. As soon as I saw Maggie walking by from across the outdoor courtyard I recognized her (as she is very photogenic and also very slender and has leg muscles that I would really like for myself, alas I might have to start actually working out one of these days). And then you know, I hoisted my kid on my hip, threw my phone somewhere on the stroller (FORESHADOWING) and hollered her name and chased after her in true wackjob fashion with John trailing behind me with the stroller and the giant turtle floatie thing that must accompany us to any body of water.  Then I accosted her with a hug. Because! It's Maggie!

Of course I was wondering for a moment if it was a teensy bit awkward for her to have me - a person who up til then had only 
existed on The Internets - and my family totally show up at her hotel whilst she is 
on vacay.  I wondered if I looked fatter in person (by the way I showed up IN MY BATHING SUIT) or if I was intruding on her personal space (it's hard to know these things when you're not savvy to a person, er, in person) or if I was somehow different in person than I present myself in writing. And certainly I didn't want to intrude or be weird and OMG it was like the first day of school and LOOK there's one of the COOL KIDS!

And then?  There were our husbands chatting away on lounge chairs in the shade while we herded our respective toddlers in the kiddie pool.  We chatted about blogs, life, mom stuff (you know in between the howling and the splashing and the sippy cups and the Cheerios and the head bumping and LOSING MY iPHONE and then sending the men on and iPhone hunt and THANK GOODNESS THEY FOUND IT and you know the drill.  We ended up talking for like five minutes total).  And you know what?  I was sitting there with a person who I know a lot about and who knows a lot about me and it was the most natural thing in the world.  

DSC05614
(Sydney and Jackson are kindred spirits who will not knowingly smile and sit still for photos)

DSC05606
("Ooh pretty look at Phillip's MacBOOK BOOK BOOK!")

I'm so glad to have finally met my friend face-to-face.  And I cannot WAIT to just totally talk talk talk uninterrupted in a few weeks when we meet again at The Blathering. WOO!  And coming soon … Emily shacks up on the air mattress in Syd's room and then we ROAD TRIP!

DSC05613
(I promise when we meet again I will have done something about my hair.  YIKES!).
6 thoughts on “In Real Life

  1. maggie says:

    For the love of God, woman. I look like hell in those pictures, and there you are looking all tan and and fabulous. What kind of friend ARE YOU?

    P.S. CAN’T WAIT TO SPOON!!!

  2. Manda says:

    OH GOOD LORD don’t make me punch you. I’ll do it. We’re all comfy now! I
    mean with the spooning and all!

    On Tue, Sep 8, 2009 at 9:58 PM, wrote:

  3. Manda says:

    I just double-checked and you do NOT look like hell not even a little. I
    mean do you SEE the wild nest of hair on my head! And that was AFTER I
    tried to do something about it! SHEESH!

    On Tue, Sep 8, 2009 at 10:01 PM, Amanda Huddle wrote:

  4. morgan s. says:

    Wahhhhhhhhhh, I am so jealous! I would have loved to have invaded the pool with my giant inflatable red crab floatie toy w/baby and pink life jacket-clad toddler! And you two ARE the cool kids!

  5. Elsha says:

    I’m jealous too! I’m also wondering how it is that I’ve moved like a million miles from where I used to be and I’m still not anywhere near everyone doing all their bloggy-friend meet-ups.

Leave a Reply

