My big girl

Yesterday I took Sydney for her one-year appointment.

IMG_1672 
(Keeping ourselves occupied while we wait for the doctor to come in … you know, before all the screaming and gnashing of teeth)

It nearly killed me what with all the shots (FOUR!) and the TB skin test and the finger prick. There really and truly is nothing like your child sobbing in pain and looking to you for help and then you assisting the person who is poking them to make you feel like you should be on the chute straight to hell. UGH. Thankfully we have the most amazing nurse ever in history (her name is Natalia and she is so patient and always lets me ask a million questions and is the fastest shot giver in the entire world I love her so much!). Once my girl calmed down a little she reached out to give Natalia a hug. My child is really and truly perfect, people. Who hugs the person who just gave them SHOTS?!

The good news is that it’s OVER. Sydney is healthy, growing, and is still measuring at the top of the charts!!

Height: 31 and 1/4 inches (last visit at 9 months was 29″) – 97th percentile
Weight: 24 pounds, 8 ounces (up from 22 pounds, 8 ounces) – 95th percentile
Head: 18 and 3/4 inches (up from 18 1/2 inches) – 97th percentile

Our doctor is so funny and had to comment that in weight she’s as big as most 18-month-olds and in height she’s as big as most TWO-year-olds!  Ha ha!  I’m the shortest person in my family and John is the tallest in his family so hopefully she got the height gene!!  He was also very impressed at how many words she can say (I estimated it to be 20 or more) and he said that most one-year-olds can usually only say about five words.

IMG_1680 

Daddy caught up with us at the end of the appointment and brought Sydney’s lovey blanket that she sleeps with for a little extra comfort. Then to reward us both for being so brave and to cheer us up he took us out to lunch! I ordered the most beautiful cappuccino.

IMG_1677 

Sydney charmed all the waitresses and scored about 95 free lemon and orange slices and then ate half a huge waffle, bananas, and a few bites of Daddy’s sausage gravy (to which she said “YUM!  YUUUUUUM!”).  And then?  We took her home and she totally and completely passed out in her crib and took a championship nap. My poor baby, er, I mean toddler.

IMG_1685 
4 thoughts on “My big girl

  1. feefifoto says:

    In case you’re interested, I read somewhere that if you double a girl’s height at 24 months or a boy’s at 27 months, you’ll get a pretty close approximation of the child’s adult height. I mentioned this to my ped when my son was a baby and was surprised when he said that rule is generally true. Accordingly, I anticipate my son will top out at 5’10” and my daughter at 5’6″.

  2. Liz says:

    Lu and Syd are the same height! (Monster, harrrumph.) I always think that Sydney looks just like you, and then I remember thinking that she looks exactly like John’s mom in pics. Either way, she’s gorgeous.

  3. Elsha says:

    I can’t believe she hugged her nurse! Did you just melt?

    Also, sounds like she and Kalena are on the same growth track, which is to say, TALL. Only I have no idea where Kalena gets it! I’m 5’4″ and Brian is only like 5’9″. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

