I went to Sacramento this weekend and all I brought you was this lame post that does it no justice

Here's a photo of me and 13 of the 15 people I met this weekend. Aren't we the cutest?

We look so harmless.

Out of the 15 people I hung out with at The Blathering in Sacramento, I'd only ever met one of them in the flesh.

All of them? Are bloggers. As in, people who write on the internet. Some of them are bloggers I've followed for years. And some have followed me for years. So even though I was showing up at a "stranger's" house to hang out with people who could potentially be weird old men posing on the internet as adorable women, it really and truly worked out WONDERFULLY. Elizabeth was such a gracious host. She fed us the most gorgeous and delicious and HOME GROWN food, entertained us in her beautiful yard, and basically set the bar REALLY high for having a cute house and a laid-back attitude about people trampling through it. Any nervousness anyone had quickly melted away to laughter and stories and this easiness that can only accompany people who genuinely care about each other already. Because in a way we already do know each other. We've supported and laughed with and cried with each other all these years. Meeting in person was just the icing on the cake. 

I even felt comfortable enough to break Elizabeth's hammock (with Emily and Amber's assistance, thank you ladies).

DSC_0089

(Here I am shouting "DIVEBOMB!!!")
And then, well, yeah.

The Blathering 09 022

And do some very tasteful dancing at a gay bar:
DSC_0503

In between I had some amazing talks about life and husbands and faith and family, was treated to my first Fancy Wine Tasting courtesy of Natalie, enjoyed a mani-pedi with Lizzie and Melissa, watched 15 riveting minutes of Hellboy II in our hotel room, laughed until my stomach hurt with Amy and Whitney, told my entire life story (ok just my engagement story, but it's a DOOZY) to many including Holly and Daniela, longed from down the table to get to talk more with Annie and Shelby, and felt at home with fellow Texans A'Dell and Kristie and Jennie (and YES I qualify myself as a Texan EVEN THOUGH I only lived there three years). It was all that I hoped it could be and more.

(For more lovely posts about the fab weekend go here and here and here, where it's so well said I can't say it any better).

8 thoughts on “I went to Sacramento this weekend and all I brought you was this lame post that does it no justice

  1. Elizabeth says:

    BEST. WEEKEND. EVER.

    Also, you put perfectly something I have been trying to articulate for days with this:

    “and this easiness that can only be accompany people who genuinely care about each other already.Because in a way we already do know each other. We’ve already supported and laughed with and cried with each other all these years. Meeting in person was just the icing on the cake.”

    so thank you for that.
    It really was amazing.

  2. Natalie says:

    Your engagement story was awesome! I’ll bring the wine again next time 🙂 Oh, and I’m a Texan too…even though I live in CA!

  3. Moose says:

    Manda! You totally crack me up. You can break my hammock any time. Or, you know, someone else’s hammock that I happen to be in at the time.

  4. barbetti says:

    You are hilarious! I loved your engagement story and the KIDNEY STONES and the explanation of your inside-dogness. I’m with you there.

    Also, I’d like to just say that you have excellent hair. Am envious.

    AND. Thank you for letting me bum rides off of you all weekend! You were so considerate.

Leave a comment