Five things I’m on the fence about lately:

1. NaBloPoMo (National Blog Posting Month). I thought about doing it last year, but soon realized that with a three-month-old baby? It wasn't going to happen. And now it's arrived again and while I'd like to give it the old college try and post on my blog every day from here until Dec. 1, I have qualms about it. Number one? When I post on my blog it's because I have something to say, and I'm afraid if I participate in NaBloPoMo I'll just write drivel (such as lists of things I'm on the fence about) every day just to write SOMETHING. I like my blog. I like that I have the freedom to post when I want. I feel like my life is so scheduled and there are so many other expectations everywhere else … this little corner of the universe is mine and I can do as I please and not have to be on a schedule. But then again? A lot of my friends are doing it, and it would be nice to actually challenge myself in some way. But then again? I don't really feel like any extra challenges right now. Hmmm.

2. Going to bed earlier. For the last few weeks I've been staying up late. Like WAY TOO LATE. As in midnight, one … sometimes two am. That is just crazy. I'm realizing that as an adult I am one of those people who needs a solid nine hours to be functional. Lately when I get up in the morning I feel like absolute crap and it takes me two large cups of coffee just to get going. That is just ridiculous. Also? I've heard that it's easier to lose weight and maintain weight loss if you sleep more. And so? SNOOOOOOOORE. I guess I'm really not on the fence on that one (unless you consider me wanting to go to bed earlier but staying up late anyway to be a conflict of interests, ha ha).

3. Getting real makeup. I have a very small makeup bag, the contents of which were entirely purchased at Target or where ever. Every day I wear pressed powder, maybe some concealer (if the under-eye bags are really bad or I have a zit), blush, brow powder, eyeliner and mascara. The formulas are all unscented or for sensitive skin. I have wondered, though, if it might be time for me to visit a "real" makeup counter? I will probably never increase the amount of makeup I wear and I don't wish to look any different – I feel ok about the colors that I use and the methods that I use to apply them – but lately I have been more interested in using higher quality products. The problem is that I just don't know where to start. I don't have the time, money or patience to be matched with products that are the wrong color or make me break out, to go to the mall and have some painted lady try to sell me all kinds of products that I don't want or need … which makes me think that I should just stick to what's working. My mother is a Mary Kay lady and while I love many of their products, their face makeup (as in base, powder, etc) in particular has not agreed with my fussy olive-toned skin. Any suggestions?

4. Vaccinations. While I was ok with Sydney getting a regular flu shot, I'm not so sure how I feel about the H1N1 vaccine. Sydney is not in day care and does not visit a church nursery. She is exposed to other kids sometimes, but it is very limited (mostly it's at home or at church). I know that she is more at risk of contracting the flu from me or John, as we are in constant contact with Very Germy college and high school students. BUT! A new vaccine makes me very nervous. It just came out in October and it seems like everyone who can get it is getting it. Please understand, I am for vaccinations, and I realize this is a very sticky subject. I feel like I have it easy because our pediatrician has two young children. Every time he goes over something with us (at our office visit before vaccinations are coming up he goes through them all with us and explains why he gives them, what they're for … all that), I simply ask him if he gave them to his own children. If he says yes, then I'm fine with it … because if it's good enough for the doctor's kids, it's good enough for mine. Last visit he mentioned the chicken pox vaccine and I was all "What?! Isn't it a rite of passage to get chicken pox?" and he said that kids have been getting vaccinated for chicken pox for a while now. I felt a little unsettled about that, as I had never heard of it. I need to do more research, but all this vaccination talk has me spinning. I live in a liberal state where people are very black and white about issues … I just want to do what's best for my child. This first bout of sickness she had over Halloween weekend really put me into overdrive thinking about it. GOSH WHY DOES PARENTHOOD HAVE TO BE SO HARD!?

5. This movie. It looks like a heartwarming story in which a privileged family steps outside of their comfort zone to help someone who so desperately needs it in a permanent way. I'm all for that! And yet? I know that it just makes the idea of someone doing such a thing an occurance that "only can happen in movies." It just removes us farther from the concept of actually doing something like this in real life, doesn't it? I mean, what white upper-class family do you know who would welcome a black high school boy into their home? For real? With all his baggage? Also, from the preview? I don't like how the boy's family is portrayed … here is this white, rich, blonde, overbearing southern lady (stereotype) "saving" this young man from his black, uneducated, 40-ounce drinking, subsidized-housing-living, ungrateful biological family (STEREOTYPE) and how they SAVE EACH OTHER. It claims to be based on a true story but I think Hollywood is so guilty of boiling all these stereotypes down to these caricatures that it makes me cringe a little. But also? I really want to see it. I so desperately want to see people who have the means reach out to those who are in their path in real, tangible ways. I want to see people extending "cups of water" in Jesus' name. In ways that change the lives of all parties involved, inconvenience and rejection from the people who are their friends in the world of "the other" be damned. And so you can see how the opening shots where this family stops their car on the side of the road as this boy walks down it alone and freezing cold and does something to help him TOTALLY SUCKS ME IN. ARGHHHH.

Is anyone else doing any fence-riding lately or is it just me?!?

14 thoughts on “Five things I’m on the fence about lately:

  1. Rachel says:

    I don’t think the movie is based on the book, “Same Kind of Different As Me” but it is a similar concept. It is an excellent book about people living out God’s will. If you read it, you will cry.

    As far as vaccines it is hard to decide when it’s your child. We did do the chicken pox & regular flu shot but aren’t doing H1N1 for our son. I’m getting the H1N1 for me since my husband has forbidden me to die and leave him with an infant & toddler (I think he was joking though). There are lots of horror stories of pregnant women being on respirators or not being able to see their babies after they are born. However it simply isn’t available here for our son to get unless we are willing to go stand in the health dept line. I’m more worried about him getting sick standing in line. As for chicken pox I had a really bad case as a child, I was sick for over a week, vomiting, feverish, and generally miserable. My brothers & sisters got a few spots and you couldn’t tell they were sick. Since I remember how sick I was, we got it for LG.

  2. maggie says:

    Yes on the makeup. I have been on that fence for YEARS.

    My ped has a son Jack’s age and maybe that’s a bad reason to trust everything she says, but I do! We’re doing it all.

    As for NaBloPoMo, the one year I did it I had a theme. So when I didn’t have anything to write about for a particular day I could fall back on the theme. (Mine was how four years in campus ministry totally warps your brain. HA.) Anyway, it was super fun and now I have a Written Record of all those mixed up thoughts I’d never before tried to organize. GO FOR IT!

  3. Elsha says:

    I’m doing NaBloPoMo because even though I know some days I’ll write stupid nothing posts (um, see yesterday) it mostly forces me to sit down and actually write about the stuff I’ve been THINKING about writing for too long.

    I am also on the fence about makeup. I’ve decided that 27 is old enough that I need to stop using hand lotion on my face (not that I actually have any good face lotion yet, I just decided.) But the makeup. Hmmmm. My reason for being on the fence is that I just don’t wear makeup that often. So is it worth it to get the good stuff? On the other hand, if I don’t wear it that often, shouldn’t I get good stuff because a) it will last me a long time and b) aren’t I old enough to not be wearing wal-mart makeup? I even have a sister who is a licensed esthetician who would happily help me pick stuff that was right for me if I asked. But, still on the fence.

  4. Kristie says:

    I have so little to say as it is that I can’t fathom writing something everyday for an entire month. I hear ya, sister!

    About the H1N1 shot. I won’t be getting it and Jackson won’t either. He eats a very good diet so he’s well nourished, is in a home daycare with just a few kids and I just don’t trust this new medicine. I feel like we often give too many medications when we just need to prevent health issues. If that makes sense.

  5. Emily says:

    The H1N1 vaccine is just a regular flu shot. I promise. Every year, seasonal flu shots are altered, because new strains mutate EVERY YEAR. So no flu shots are the same, year to year. The H1N1 flu shot is just a flu shot – just altered to battle the strain of flu named H1N1. It is just as safe as any seasonal flu shot.

    Lucy got it last weekend. i am all for any vaccine that makes it possible for me to not have a sick baby. Sick babies suck. And who knows? Not to be alarmist, but someone could very well sneeze on her at Target, and I can’t control that. But I can control whether she is vaccinated against it.

  6. Beanie says:

    Make up: About a year ago, I converted to good (read: expensive) make up. Don’t get me wrong, I had been wearing Maybelline or Loreal for years and didn’t know what I was missing.

    Hoo boy.

    I’ve been hooked on Bare Escentuals ID. They sell it at Ulta and it is the loveliest of lovely.

    You can get a starter pack, which includes the special brushes for $60. I know, pricey but SO worth it.

    Keep us posted!

  7. Lauren says:

    You’re so ridiculously good looking, a few pricier make up items will do the trick, you don’t really need anything! My two cents is Bobbi Brown, my bff worked for bare escentuals, Bobbi and some other teen line so I’ve tried all three. Bobbi’s goal is to enhance natural beauty and what I love about her product is that it smells good, isn’t heavy and looks natural (I sound like a sales lady geez…)

    If you ever need a department store or sephora buddy 🙂 Or I could probably haggle my friend to give you a private consultation, she’s the best.

  8. Moose says:

    I thought about doing NaBloPoMo! And then I realized it was November 2 and I’d already screwed it up. Whoops.

    I’m with Lauren on the Bobbi Brown. I use the cover stick and it’s MAGIC. Plus, it lasts forever. I bought a new one because I thought mine was running out. Two months later the old one still going strong.

  9. Courtney says:

    Try Origins or Bare Escentuals make up..I use both and love them and they are all natural products….Chase and I both got the H1N1 and I would get Tyler vaccinated also, but he is too young still. I agree with Emily…it is just a regular shot. H1N1 has been around before in the 60s or 70s..it is not a new thing. Chase had zero issues with the shot. He possibly has asthma so there was no way I was taking a risk with him. Remember, you gotta do what you gotta do..you are the momma..trust your gut.

  10. Susan says:

    Aveda makes a tinted moisturizer with spf to die for. It goes on light, but gives amazing coverage. If you splurge on one thing, splurge on that.

    Also, Dior Black Out mascara is the best mascara I have ever tried. It gives you huge lashes without any clumping…i dunno, something about the shape of the applicator.

  11. Manda says:

    I am also a Bare Escentuals fan. I got a start pack a few years ago for Christmas and have never used any other brand of make up since (besides mascara).

Leave a Reply

