Polishing a turd (with bonus scrolldown contest!)

There is an old saying that I stand by: "You can't polish a turd." Isn't that lovely? I urge you to work it in to natural conversation at your next cocktail party. I like to throw it in instead of the usual and expected "You're beating a dead horse" line. Charming, eh? You are welcome.

This is the first week I've had off in a long time. And of course, my mind has turned to all my unfinished projects: The scrapbook "story of our family" that I began for Sydney while I was still pregnant with her, the long list of thank-you notes and letters of correspondence that have gone unfinished in a pile somewhere on this desk, recipes I've been wanting to try out, editing programs I want to learn, blog redesign … things of that nature.

And so, in the following weeks you might be seeing some changes in the design, font, and arrangement of this here blog. For a while I have been toying with the idea of hiring someone to do the redesign for me. But you know what? Blogging is my hobby. And once upon a time I could kick the crap out of html code and edit photos and pick out colors and fonts all by myself. I am a process person, and so the re-launch of a blog design at some exciting point in time in the future doesn't really fit for me. Especially since as I type this? My daughter has pilfered (and is helping herself to) the contents of a stale box of Total from the pantry shelf while seated in the middle of the kitchen floor. The dogs are thrilled.

Sydneycereal
Anyway, this blog is MY turd. Even if it IS a turd I would like it to be a cuter, more updated turd at some point in the future. I reserve my right to fickle with it until kingdom come.

And so, let the turd polishing commence! Please bear with me while things are under construction.

(Of course I have to ask … any features you'd like to see on this blog? I'd love your feedback if you feel so inclined. Our first order of business, however? WRITE MY TAGLINE! The winner will receive a prize. And let's be honest, it'll probably be my spare jar of – unopened! Fancy! – Nutella from Costco. Or an extra bottle of Olay moisturizer from Costco … also not opened! Contest ends when some genius writes the most amazing tagline in history that sums me/this blog up in a witty sentence. Because even though I can pick my own fonts and colors? Apparently I suck in the tagline department. Hurry up because we don't want the Nutella OR the Olay moisturizer to expire. Ready? GO!)

6 thoughts on “Polishing a turd (with bonus scrolldown contest!)

  1. Nora says:

    The one that immediately came to mind when I read this was: “More bark, less bite…” If I have a more clever moment later, I’ll let ya know…

  2. anne nahm says:

    Inside Dog… It’s warm and wet in here. No wait, just kidding.

    (Or stolen from Family Guy) Inside Dog: Leaving more creativity in tightly-coiled piles on the lawn than most people generate all week.

    Inside Dog: Circling around this tagline until I’m good and ready to lie on it.

    That’s all I’ve got.

  3. Kara says:

    Did you know Mythbusters busted that line “you can’t polish a turd”? They actually polished one…and it looked pretty good!

    I bet my dad could help you with a tag line. 🙂

Leave a Reply

