15

Well, my baby is still off the charts! We took her in (2 weeks late, oops) for her 15-month checkup this week. Here are her stats as of Dec. 14:

Height: 33" (above 97th percentile)
Weight: 26 pounds, 10 oz (90th percentile)
Head circumference: 19 1/4" (above 97th percentile)

(See how much she's grown in three months!)

Now just to give you a point of reference, here are MY stats at the same age:

Height: 30 3/4"
Weight: 22 lbs, 4 oz.

And John's:

Height: 31 in.
Weight: 22 lbs.

First of all, is it not SCARY how similar in size John and I were at 15 months? Also isn't it CRAZY how our daughter outweighs us both by nearly FIVE pounds and is TWO inches taller? Our doctor, who never says anything like this, finally made a comment to the tune of "My goodness she is going to be TALL!" Let me recap for you: I am all of 5'4". John is just under 6 feet. We are fairly average when it comes to height, I suppose. I am the shortest woman in my family (my mom is 5'7" and my sister is 5'6" … my dad was 6 feet) and John is the tallest man in his family (his dad is 5'10"ish and his mom is like barely 5 feet tall, his sister is right around my height. And as a side note John's sister and I – whether pregnant or not pregnant – are pretty much exactly the same size. Which is awesome because it pretty much doubles my wardrobe).

ANYWAY. Height. We don't have any women over six feet tall in our family. Not even close. We don't even have any men much over six feet tall in our lineage. I really don't think that her height now has anything to do with what she'll be like as an adult (I, for instance, was taller than all the boys my fourth grade class. And yes, it was as awful as you might imagine it to be. Thankfully it didn't last). But everywhere we go people comment on her height and can't believe that she's just (nearly) 16 months old. She is eye-to-eye with most of the two-year-olds at the playground.

As a parent you can't help but wonder what the future holds for your child. I wonder if and when her height will top out, and how tall she'll be as an adult. John wonders if he'll finally have a worthy opponent in driveway basketball. Only time will tell. As much as you don't want them to grow up (your BABY!) it's also exciting to see how they grow and change and learn. I can't wait until Syd and I can have conversations … I can't wait to hear what she'll have to say to me about the world around her. I wonder what she'll look like when she's grown up.

All that being said? I CAN WAIT. Sniff.

In other 15-month-old news, day by day our daughter amazes us with the skills she picks up. For instance? The harmonica.

http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=8212237&server=vimeo.com&show_title=1&show_byline=1&show_portrait=0&color=01AAEA&fullscreen=1

New skillz from Manda on Vimeo.

She's also mastered the zipper, and there's nothing she loves to do more than unzip her boots the second I put them on her and just yesterday I came into her bedroom to get her out of her crib in the morning to find her NAKED AS A JAYBIRD. As soon as she saw me she burst into a fit of giggles and I couldn't help but join her … it was so cute! And as a bonus she hadn't gotten her diaper off yet so there was no pee in her bed. Whee!

Her favorite words as of late are "Down!" "Walk!" "Go!" "DOGGIE!" "Poop!" "Ball!" "BOOK!" "Bubba!" "Jooo!"(Juicy) and of course "Mama" and "DA!" and she can correctly identify her eyes, nose, hair and tongue. Her favorite activities include brushing her teeth, watching Sesame Street, building towers with Duplo blocks and knocking them down, reading books, singing, tearing apart her bedroom while Mama finishes her coffee, throwing the ball, and chasing the dogs. This month she has been playing at the playground at least three times a week and loves the slide, is bored with the swing, and LOVES to play in the sandbox and bounce on the teeter totter (and of course a ball has to accompany us to the playground every trip). She enjoys playing in the church nursery with her good buddy Jaryse and her her new high school friend Hannah (we can hear the trills of joy all the way up in the sanctuary).  Hannah even came and babysat for the first time this past Saturday (thumbs up!)!

I cannot believe that I have a toddler. I cannot believe it. I am loving every moment. Especially the moments when I get big kisses and hugs and when I'm holding my Sydney in my arms and she puts her head down on my shoulder and twirls her fingers through my hair. I love it when those sweet little hands reach up to me accompanied by that most awesome word of all time: "Mama."

15monthcollage

4 thoughts on “15

  1. Arwen says:

    You are right at one of my very favorite ages! So fun, toddlers. I love them. And I can’t wait until Blaise is that age, in just a few short months. Although I have a feeling it’s going to be a little different (read: more dangerous) with a boy. Heh.

  2. Morgan S. says:

    Oh man is that video cute! I love how she tosses it at the end.

    And Sydney must have some long legs to wear those boots. I think they would hit Hadley’s knees and she is just as tall…

  3. Lizzie says:

    I’m right in the middle of writing Lu’s 16 month update (10 days late much, Lizzie?). Dude. She is SO getting a harmonica for Christmas. Then she and Syd can play duets. When we’re neighbors. I miss you, BTW.

Leave a Reply

