In which I pretend to be stylish and see if you buy it

I wrote about my jean jacket today over at Style Lush and have been shocked over the EMOTIONAL response! It's been nice to know that so many have jean jackets hanging in their closet that they are also torn over. Truth be told I'll probably wear my jean jacket until it quite literally falls apart. I love that stinkin' Bruce Springsteen-wannabe jean jacket.

In fact, I need to spill a secret: I have two jean jackets. My sister mailed me a hand-me-over when I was prego and it served as an acceptable substitute for my regular jean jacket as it was two sizes bigger. Here's me in said jean jacket #2 at about seven months pregnant with Syd:

IMG_0268
All of this jean jacket drama has only thrown in to sharp relief that most of my clothes? Have been in the rotation for a long time. Like maybe TOO long. But I guess this could mean a couple things, the first of which is that I spent way more money on clothes when I was single, wild and free (good riddance single life! My Visa card is appreciating the rest!). The other option – and this one is probably the more true – is that now I just prefer to spend money on FOOD. Me and Trader Joe's (and Tito's Tacos and the sushi bar and … OK you get it I love food) are likethis.

… which is probably why my food blog has been getting all the love this week! I wrote about two new Crock Pot victories here and here and about seeing the (wonderful) movie Julie & Julia here. Lately it's clear that my chosen form of therapy is cooking. I have so much fun printing recipes off Smitten Kitchen or The Pioneer Woman and getting down to the work of list-making, grocery shopping, prepping and cooking, and then of course sharing the meal with my family. 

And by "family" I mean "John." Because a certain someone? Who turned 17-months-awesome today? Refuses to eat anything that is not yogurt or oatmeal with brown sugar. But on the upside, she's a super cutie pie who gives great hugs and lots of kisses.

She also sleeps 12 hours a night beginning at 6:30 pm, takes a two hour nap almost every day, and to be fair, she will also eat pinto beans and Cheez-It Party Mix (sometimes).

I think we'll keep her. πŸ™‚

11 thoughts on “In which I pretend to be stylish and see if you buy it

  1. A'Dell says:

    Mine also only wants to eat yogurt these days. I swear to you, the people at Yo Baby are rich just because of me.

    That bib looks stout – what kind is it? The ones we have are, well, not standing up to the thrice-daily yogurt trauma that is inflicted on them. Thanks!

  2. Elsha says:

    Many of my clothes have also been in the rotation WAY too long. But, Weight Watchers starts again next week so hopefully that will necessitate new clothes soon!

    By the way, I’m totally jealous of the sleep.

  3. Lily says:

    First of all, 17 months. What a big girl; give her loads of smooches and hugs from Auntie Lily. Second, I read your other blog post. Somehow, since my departure from working in retail, my brain must have fallen out for fashion. Didn’t know wearing jeans jackets was controversial. Still have mine and still wear it from time to time.

  4. Anna says:

    I think I recognize that jacket! πŸ˜‰ and holy WHAT, 12 hours a night??? officially jealous of your girlie girl. (I think sleep is my drug) that plus you guys as parents, and she’s got a pretty sweet gig going.

  5. Caroline says:

    I still wear mine. And will. About Syd’s eating habits, Elizabeth (3.5 years) just started eating after many meals of tears and going to bed hungry. Don’t let what happen to us happen to you. We wish we would have had her try something we were eating at dinner. She now eats chicken nuggets (only crunchy) and ham ( only on a toothpick). You see my monster.

  6. larmar says:

    first, i HAVE that jacket. And I remember the trip that Ash and I took to buy it together. πŸ™‚

    second, 6:30??? how do you DO that??? We wait till 8 to put her down, and it’s STILL about an hour before she falls asleep.

  7. Shelley says:

    I went to the grocery and bought all the fixin’s for the raost this am! It is snowing and sleeting outside right now (IN ALABAMA!!!) so I think it will be a nice cozy comfort food for us while we are holed up at home this weekend! Thanks for the recipes! I HEART my crockpot too!

  8. Sarah says:

    Agh, you’re making me wish I had not given away my beloved Gap jean jacket so long ago! One day, when I’m preggo, I am totally going to emulate your style in that picture. Too cute!

Leave a Reply

