The new sheriff in town

Today started off as a not-so-good day. I pushed Sydney past her usual naptime to get "one more errand done" and she had a total and complete meltdown in Target. I'm talking flailing, screaming, crying, trying to jump out of the cart (causing a Mom Heart Attack) and this is what happened when I finally plopped her down on the floor in the middle of the greeting card aisle to give her a much needed Time Out:

IMG_3019

That's right. My pants tore across both thighs. To feel fat is really what I needed in that moment, dontcha think? And to add insult to injury? These pants were an $8 score at Old Navy yesterday and today was their first (and last) rodeo.

When we finally made it home for naptime I told my husband that I felt weird, like something had finally sprung in my brain and I'd lost it a little. He asked what I needed to do to calm down and I told him that I just needed to ride it out and just work on putting away the groceries and getting the roast in the Crock Pot.

"But wait, Manda, your 10-year-old Crock Pot Died in Feb. How on earth can you put a roast in the vessel of your shattered dreams?"

IMG_2205
 
The answer is, unfortunately, YOU CAN'T. This was one of the saddest days EVER. My friend Robin even gave me an extra CP vessel she had and once again my hopes were dashed when I realized it was the wrong size. Those of you who read my food blog or follow me on Twitter know how much I cook in my Crock Pot and how much I love it. A LOT. For a month I wandered around the kitchen aimlessly, wondering how in the world I was going to get dinner together. No more chicken enchiladas. No more tortilla soup. No more chuck roast. SO DEPRESSING.

Enter Costco:

IMG_3020

Last week John was on spring break and kept me company on several trips to Costco (the man cannot resist a berry berry sundae to save his life. I love him for that). Since I had someone on baby wrangling duty I actually got to, you know, LOOK AROUND. I'd cut a $10 off coupon for the above Crock Pot out of the Costco circular earlier in the month, thinking that even if it was $40 after coupon we probably couldn't swing it this month (they are priced $50 at Target). Imagine my shock when the BEFORE COUPON price on this gorgeous hunk of machinery was $35. I might have peed my pants a little right there in the aisle. So of course John had to buy it for me. HE LOVES ENCHILADAS TOO (also he hates it when I cry). Also? It came with a bonus mini warmer. I have big plans for cheese dip in there, oh yes I do.

Today as I puttered around the kitchen in post-tantrum shock I felt myself calming down. I threw veggies and broth and bay leaf into my sexy new Crock Pot, seared a beautiful chuck roast, closed the top, and soon all was right with the world. I love this thing so much I even named it "Antonio Banderas" because it's sexy, for one. And secondly, when I imagine it talking to me (I HAVE AN ACTIVE IMAGINATION, ALRIGHT?!) he totally sounds like those Nasonex commercials. Le sigh.

And so, to celebrate, have any fabulous and easy recipes for me to test drive in this hot little number? Links would be appreciated. And remember, you're doing it for my sanity. 🙂

(and here's my basic pot roast recipe if you're interested! Today I omitted the potatoes and threw in a green pepper, sliced mushrooms, and a large can of whole peeled tomatoes along with a lot of baby carrots and an onion and a bay leaf. Yum!)

6 thoughts on “The new sheriff in town

  1. Emily in IL says:

    I have the same crock, but in white. Here’s my favorite crock pot recipe, but sorry, no link to make this smaller :(.

    5- 6 pounds rump or sirloin roast
    ¼ teaspoon crushed red pepper
    2 teaspoons oregano
    ½ teaspoon garlic powder
    1 Tablespoon instant minced onion
    2 teaspoons salt
    2 bay leaves
    ½ teaspoon black pepper
    2 teaspoons sweet basil
    2 teaspoons parsley flakes
    3 cups water (or you can use beef broth for a little extra YUM)

    Place beef in crock pot fat side up. Combine seasonings and water. Pour over meat. Cover and cook on low for 8-10 hours or high 4-5 hours.
    When meat is well done, remove from crock and keep warm. Strain the broth and discard seasonings. Return broth to crock and keep warm while shredding the meat. Put the meat back in the crock pot and serve warm with Italian bread or hard rolls. Serves a large crowd.

  2. Beanie says:

    I have a TON of Weight Watcher crock pot recipies, but it’s in a pdf. If you’re interested, send me your email addie and I’ll pass it along!

  3. Aunt Becky says:

    Aunt Becky’s favorite-Crock Pot Pizza
    1lb.hamburger;1 small onion; 1green pepper; 4oz. pepperoni;1can sliced mushrooms; 16oz. spaghetti sauce; 14oz. jar pizza sauce; 8oz. mozarella and 8oz. cheddar cheese and 1 bag Kluski noodles
    Make the sauce with first ingredients; cook the noodles and then layer in the crock pot-ground beef mixture, noodles, cheese and pepperoni until all ingredients are used. Cook on low heat 2 1/2 hours.
    Also, I agree, I think the jeans were faulty and you should try and return them.

Leave a Reply

