Thirty

You know you're getting older when your husband surprises you with a new cookware set for your birthday and you almost pee your pants with excitement! Stainless steel! Copper-bottomed! Swoon!

Paula Deen Porcelain 12-Pc. Cookware Set Multiple Colors Available

(I also got a ton of other Very Fancy gifts. I am Very Spoiled.)

Last night we sat at the table at Island's and over cheese fries (oh yes, there were cheese fries) I told my husband that I wasn't so upset to be thirty. I accomplished a lot in my twenties! After all, I met him, graduated from college, MARRIED him, moved across the country, finished my master's degree, moved across the country again, got pregnant and had Sydney, and here we are expecting our second. In between I have worked a few jobs, lost my father and two of our babies, learned and grown a lot, and well, this might sound corny, become a woman. I feel stronger than I ever did at age 20, even though I am not quite the physical specimen I was then (SIGH). But even so, I think I'm better now than I when I was hotter -er, I mean, younger. I treasure being a wife to my husband who is my best friend, is always in my corner, and is still the apple of my eye nearly ten years later. I am so blessed every day by our sweet, wild, Blonde Tornado of a daughter. I look at her dear face sometimes and wonder how I ever lived life without her in it (most of the time I think I really didn't!). And soon we'll have a son who I'm betting will keep even the Blonde Tornado on her toes.

Life is very sweet. I get to cook, I get to write, I get to snuggle on the couch with my favorite person, squeeze my little girl, carry our son in my womb, laugh with friends, be loved exactly as I am. I get to enjoy my sister as an Auntie, as an adult who I cherish as a best friend, I get to laugh along with my mom who loves to be called "Yaya" and sing silly songs with her granddaughter and who is absolutely the happiest I have seen her in a long time. I have in-laws who love me as if I am their own flesh and blood. I am so very blessed.

And so thirty? You and me are gonna be great friends. I can't wait to see what the next decade holds. 

Saves 006 Age 22 (Henry, age 2)

Our Wedding 205Age 24

S42507ca106058_9_2 Age 26

DSC04563 Age 28

LIP_0093 Age 30 (photo courtesy of Laurel Isle Photography)

From Psalm 37: "If the LORD delights in a man's way, he makes his steps firm; though he stumble, he will not fall, for the LORD upholds him with his hand. I was young and now I am old, yet I have never seen the righteous forsaken or their children begging bread. They are always generous and lend freely; their children will be blessed. Turn from evil and do good; then you will dwell in the land forever. For the LORD loves the just and will not forsake his faithful ones. They will be protected forever, but the offspring of the wicked will be cut off; the righteous will inherit the land and dwell in it forever."

10 thoughts on “Thirty

  1. Anna says:

    Happy Birthday, you piece of sunshine, you! Glad you feel loved & cherished by your family today. 🙂

  2. larmar says:

    You are beautiful, Manda!

    Happy Birthday! Gaining years just means you’re gaining wisdom. … Most of the time. 🙂

  3. K says:

    Happy Happy Birthday!! I’m 34 and haven’t accomplished most of those things!! You should be proud! 🙂

Leave a Reply

