In which you help me sleep and I cyber-hug you

So this pregnancy has brought a new, fun twist into my life: round ligament pain. I didn't experience this with Syd (with Syd I had killer lower back and sciatic pain). Basically, it feels like a Charlie horse … in your groin. AWESOME. I've been having these pains intermittently for over a month, but in the last few days they have stepped up. My doctor explained that my uterus is making room for baby … DUDE. His sister was 10 pounds seven ounces. DIDN'T SHE STRETCH IT OUT ENOUGH?! My guess is that our little homie is riding low. REAL LOW. If I sit on the couch wrong, if I laugh too hard, if I pick up Syd too fast I feel like I'm getting stabbed in the crotch. The worst of it – OF COURSE – is going down at night. Every time I turn over from one side to the other I have a shooting pain going up and down one side of my hip that sucks the wind out of me.

Needless to say, it's body pillow time. My good friend who is a physical therapist AND my doctor have both recommended that I start using a long, weird, space-stealing pillow in the queen-sized bed I already share with my 6-foot-tall, 185-pound husband at night (and I would just like to add for the record that he wears a size 11 shoe. That's a whole extra two square feet of space he takes up!!).

ANYWAY, a regular body pillow from Target just doesn't seem, well, functional enough. This is where you come in oh Lovely People of the Internet. Is there an amazing pregnancy pillow out there that I don't know about? Because I'm dying here. I need sleep. I basically have three months before the newborn craziness begins and I need MORE TIME WITH MY BED before the home stretch of pregnancy.

Case in point: Yesterday I finally went to pick up Syd's birth certificate at the County Recorder's office. I printed out the paperwork ahead of time and had it all filled out. I Google Mapped the address. I had plenty of quarters for the meter and snacks for Syd. I even remembered a pen! I WAS SO ON IT! And then? I walked up to the counter when it was my turn and asked for a GIFT CERTIFICATE. The employee had a good laugh on me. 

And so, I beg of you. HELP ME SLEEP. Recommend a fantastic pregnancy/body pillow STAT (links would be appreciated!!). And if you tell me a body pillow from Target is the way to go then OFF TO TARGET I GO … twist my arm why don't you?!

11 thoughts on “In which you help me sleep and I cyber-hug you

  1. Anna says:

    I don’t have any links for you but I always just used one of those long body pillows and it was my best friend!! I had those pains too and it really did help me to have the pillow at night!!! Good luck with pillow shopping 🙂

  2. Beanie says:

    I had gotten away with simply using a king sized pillow until about two weeks ago.

    I couldn’t justify the Snoogle for two reasons, first – the cost and secondly – the size. It would take up a ridiculous amount of room, and we have a king sized bed.

    So I asked around and most of my girlfriends said to simply buy a regular body pillow. I did, the Laura Scott (or Ashley) one from Bed Bath and Beyond. It was $20 and the cover was $10. I had a coupon too, so it was 20% off!!

    Holy Moley has it changed my sleeping (I’m 27 weeks). I adore it and frankly don’t know how I slept without it.

    So while I can’t offer a pillow specifically for pregnant women, I can tell you that the regular body pillow works wonders for me and my aching ute.

    Good luck!

  3. Lizzie says:

    Aw man, that sucks. I have nothing for you – I stacked two normal pillows between my legs when leg/back issues started with Lu. We endearingly called them the “crotch pillows” and A was super careful which bed pillows he put his head on!

  4. Courtney says:

    Oh man, I had that exact same issue with Tyler. I would be walking around and then the pain would just hit me..my students came to think it was quite funny. I DO NOT MISS those pains at all!! And I have no suggestions for a pillow…I just stacked two between my legs and that seemed to help at night at least.

  5. Elsha says:

    I sleep with a body pillow all the time, but I can’t live without it when I’m pregnant! I use a $10 one from Costco (I think it’s from Costco, I’ve had it for like 7 years) and it works great. My only issue with the one I have is that it doesn’t have a cover. I love the fabric, but unless I put the whole thing in the washer I can only spot clean.

    Also, I had some round ligament pain with Kalena and the pillow definitely helped!

  6. Jenny P. says:

    Oh man, round ligament pain is a symptom of pregnancy no one ever told me about. I have had it since the very beginning! It totally takes my breath away and it freaks people out if I laugh or cough and then go “ow!!” Hope you find an awesome pillow that helps you sleep. I cannot help you with such things out here in the Middle East. I haven’t seen body pillow/pregnancy pillows in the stores here and online stores don’t like to send bulky things to FPO addresses, so… I guess I’ll be using two pillows out here.

  7. Michelle says:

    I used a regular body pillow that I got from Linens and Things (I think they are out of business now). I’m sure Bed, Bath, and Beyond has the same type of thing. It was thicker and seemed more “sturdy” than the one I almost bought at Target. I loved it…and I actually still use it over a year after my son was born.

    My sister used the Boppy total body pillow and loved it. I was just too cheap to spend the $60 on one (although I’m sure I would have been running to the store to buy one if the body pillow didn’t work).

    Good luck! I had round ligament pain too! I’m thinking it must come with being pregnant with a boy!! It was definitely the worst part of my pregnancy!

  8. anne nahm says:

    I recommend getting two or three fluffy pillows. I had a body pillow back before I was pregnant, and back then I only had to roll from side to side once or twice a night (instead of every four minutes. Trying to roll with a body pillow is like trying to heft a dead body over or under you. Plus, that dead body gets twisted up and instead of resting between your knees, it is kicking you in the butt.

    When I was pregnant, I had four pillows – head, knees, and one on either side of my waist. Then, I could twist with the pillow between my knees and either way I went? There was a pillow waiting to rest my belly on.

    TMI, just for you!! The only downside of this set up is that occasionally, my husband would see my fortress of pillows and apparently think he could edge in on some awesome knee pillowage for himself. I had to sock him in the belly a couple of times, but eventually he learned he could not take mah preg pillows.

Leave a Reply

