A little help from my friends: Baby stuff

So as baby #2 makes his way down the pike I'm trying to fill in a few holes baby-product wise. Lots of people have been SO generous with baby boy clothes, so it looks as if Rocky will be avoiding pink for at least the first 6 months of his life. It's hitting me hard, however, that I'm soon to be mom to a wild 2-year-old (who will presumably still be in diapers when her brother is born, we're not pushing her hard on the potty training stuff yet) and a newborn. Aside from growing an extra set of arms and hiring someone to sleep for me, I'm gonna need some gear updates.

IMG_2338

And this is where you come in. I need you veterans to float me some recommendations!

First order of business? A diaper bag for two (three if you count me). I have an older generation black Skip*Hop duo that has been washed many times, but it seems too small … sometimes even for one kid. I love many of this tote-style bag's features (especially the clips-to-the-stroller strap that also converts to a messenger strap), but I'd prefer something that zips across the top. And since I have an awesome husband who cheerfully throws on the diaper bag, perhaps it could also be gender neutral?

I'm also really on the fence about a Moby Wrap. They look soft and cozy and comfy but I for the life of me cannot choose a color. I like black, but since I know I'll be washing it frequently I'm concerned about fading and also lint pickup. The other color I like is the "natural" color – that basically looks cream-colored – but we all know that won't look good with Frosty dribbled across it. Any suggestions? Did you have a color that was versatile and stain-friendly? And what about the warmth factor … did you find that your baby got too hot in the Moby? HELP. (I have a Bjorn and an Ergo as well. I'm already planning on getting the infant insert for the Ergo.)

And that's all I can think of right now. John is out of town this week and frankly I'm beside myself with exhaustion. What else will I need? Fourteen weeks to go doesn't seem like a lot of time left to get ready … crap I just realized it's only 13 weeks since I'm having this baby at 39 weeks!

In other news, I go in for my glucose test tomorrow morning … not looking forward to that after being sick such a short time ago. I guess I'd better just get used to the idea that life goes on for Mama, sick or not!!

14 thoughts on “A little help from my friends: Baby stuff

  1. Caroline says:

    Something that helped me with 2, was getting a diaper pouch. It helped keep the bag more organized and then you can separate Syd’s diapers from Rocky’s. I had the insert for the Ergo. It made it difficult to get him at at infant stage. I have other mom’s who just put the infant in the ergo sideways? Praying for you.

  2. Colleen says:

    I don’t have two kids, but for a while I was hauling around a breast pump and cloth diapers (now just the cloth diapers) and I found the Columbia bag worked well enough for me. http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=3199291
    It’s been going strong for more than a year of heavy use bordering on abuse, and the only thing that’s not good as new is one zipper pull that pulled itself apart. The zipper still works fine though. My husband doesn’t mind carrying it around, and best of all, it doesn’t show the dirt (we have the red version).
    As for the Moby, can’t help you with colour choices (homemade version) but it is toasty warm. I used it mostly in the fall/winter/spring, and I think I ended up warmer than he did.

  3. larmar says:

    Well, I still use the diaper bag I got for Alex, but it’s a zip one, and it has the straps for the stroller… it’s not exactly this one, but it’s close
    http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2401256
    And as for the wrap… I never did put Eli in a wrap… I had one that I used for Alex all the time, but I always gravitated towards the Bjorn. And when he was big enough, we went to this: http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2301479
    That has been a life-saver. I definitely wear it in stores while I do my grocery shopping. And on walks. Wherever Alex is allowed to roam free… this way I can still have both hands free. And I can pick Alex up if I need to and not have her crush the poor kid. It’s expensive… but really, it’s worth it. I love it.

    And, I know this is probably fruitless to say, don’t worry about things too much. It’s crazy adding another one, but you’ve done the hard part already: Adding ONE to your family. That was a much bigger shock to my system (and my way of life) than this one is. It’s harder, but not twice as hard. You’ve got the knack already. 🙂

  4. Courtney says:

    Manda…it is going to be what you make of it!! If you decide now that you are going to be stressed because you have two then you will be…just gotta go with the flow..that is how I “survived!” I simplified from the start…one baby bag! Harder at first, because a wee one needs so much, but soon it will be easier. Just remember to always take time for yourself. I always brushed my teeth, put my contacts in and washed my face BEFORE I got the boys up, even if they were WAILING and KICKING to get out of their rooms. And, yes, caffeine…lots of it! You will do just fine-you are a GREAT mommy already!!!

  5. little miss mel says:

    On a whim, I bought a diaper bag back pack at BRU to use for a trip, I believer.

    http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=3199292

    It can snap over a stroller bar, has an insulated pocket on one side and another for keys, etc.

    I use it way more than I do anything else, and we got the one that has orange on it, not the one pictured. 🙂

    I bought the Moby wrap in that soft teal color. Loved the color, but the wrap was too much for me to handle with babe and the weather. I also put him in incorrectly and had one of his legs turn blue. (But that was my fault, not the wrap.) I sold mine on craigslist not long after. 🙂

    I have the insert for the ergo as well. Hola was too big by the time I realized I needed it after he outgrew our peanut shell sling. I am hanging on to it in case we need it again.

    Wow, that was a lot of info. What was the question? 😉

  6. Elizabeth says:

    I love my Lands End diaper back pack, but I also saw a diaper the other day that I wanted SO MUCH even though I don’t need it…

    It’s probably not any larger than the one you have, but its so pretty!
    http://www.amazon.com/JJ-Cole-Collections-Theory-Diaper/dp/B002VJYEAK/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=baby-products&qid=1278601460&sr=8-3

    Also, I have the Moby in navy and I love it. We’ve been using it almost exclusively these first three weeks – I put baby girl in it (in less clothes if it’s hot out) and Eli in the stroller and we’re off!

    My Snap and Go has also proved strangely useful, but I do have a toddler who will walk next to it.

  7. Lily says:

    I didn’t change diaper bags going from 1 child to 2 children. I felt the same way as you did with 1 child; the diaper bag seemed barely enough for 1. I guess I learned to pack more efficiently; less is better? Besides neither Troy nor me wanted to lug a heavy or bulky diaper bag.

  8. Lady in a Smalltown says:

    I only have the one kid but I have never really liked the Skip*Hop (Duo Deluxe) I got, so this summer I am using the bag my mom used for me. It is an old orange canvas CB bag with one zipper and a snap pocket on the outside. It is a bottomless pit.

    I got a hand-me-down Bjorn, one of the fancy ones with back support, that I loved and used nearly all of last summer. I also bought a Moby when he was about 2 weeks old, but I didn’t use it for long. For our birthday (he was born on my birthday) I got a Ergo. I wish I had had it all along. I might have liked the Moby more if I hadn’t gotten the Moby D, but it was all my local store had.

    I don’t think any of that helped, sorry.

  9. HereWeGoAJen says:

    I had an Ultimate Baby Wrap, which is basically a Moby, I think. Mine was navy blue and it was a good color. And I used it ALL the time. It does get hot, but I’d strip the baby down to her diaper and me to a tank top before loading her up and that helped a lot.

  10. Dr. Maureen says:

    This is probably unhelpful, but I hated the infant insert for the Ergo, and used a pocket sling until she was big enough for the Ergo. And I tried the Moby wrap. I wanted to love it. I did. But I only got her into it successfully one time. It was a glorious time, but I could not get the thing tight enough to save my life. But my friend used one all the time and loved it, so it’s probably just me. (FWIW, it was teal.)

  11. Katia says:

    Check out the Lands End website for their well made, roomy but not too bulky, reasonably priced, gender neutral diaper bags, used mine (in mint green) with both kids and I also have a smaller one the “little tripper” which is perfect now that only one is on diapers. Miss ya!

  12. seekingclarav says:

    The Ergo insert did not work for us at all. My daughter looked like a pig in blanket, staring up at me with a “please help me, woman” look on her face. And the Moby wrap, forget it. I used to get anxiety about even attempting to put it on. We used the Bjorn until the Ergo fit…I actually wadded up a blanket and put it in the bottom of the Ergo as a prop until she was long enough to use it for real.

    Diaper bag? I am at a loss too. I have the same skip hop style as you and love the stroller clip/shoulder strap thingy. Please post if you find a good one.

Leave a Reply

