The 27 week report

Yesterday I went to the doctor for my scheduled checkup. We were in and out in about 20 minutes (unheard of for me lately, thanks to this pregnancy's magical mystery tour!). Lots of good news: I passed my glucose test! Yay! The doctor even commented that I did "very well" on my test … I wanted to throw in a little comment about how much sugar my body handles on a regular basis but I held back (my doctor is a very good doctor, he gets all frowny when I talk about junk food). But hey! Something's gotta be said for conditioning, AM I RIGHT?! All the more reason to test out these cookies this week! WOO!

IMG_2342

I explained the whole July 4th Stomach Flu Debacle and Dr. G took notes and assured us that we'd done the right thing (we did after all, follow his instructions explicitly). He also congratulated me on managing to gain 2.5 pounds this month despite being so sick! Did you HEAR THAT?! My doctor basically gave me a HIGH FIVE in terms of pregnancy weight gain! I don't think that has ever happened to me ONCE in all the pregnancy checkups I've ever had in my LIFE. I love you Dr. G.

I really have to take a little credit for the reasonable weight gain this month. I have been a super good girl! I gave up my ice cream with chocolate syrup and Honey Nut Cheerios. I eat tons more fruit and veggies. I only occasionally drink soda (Diet Squirt for the WIN!). And thanks to stomach flu? I no longer drink coffee AT ALL. I'm even remembering to take my prenatals regularly … I take them at bedtime. I'm proud of myself. When I was on my own with Syd last week I napped like crazy, but it didn't totally do me in. I chased my girl, kept the house cleaned up, and didn't go to Taco Bell ONE SINGLE TIME. Shall we have a party? Yes, I think we shall.

In other news my blood pressure is great, Rocky's heartbeat is perfect.

Lastly, we asked Dr. G about when we'd know the exact date of the c-section. I am very new to this whole "planned" thing and had no idea how it all works, so I wanted to start the ball rolling. Essentially the surgery/birth will be scheduled 4-6 weeks before we go in at 39ish weeks … we have to wait about 7 more weeks to find out. Last time we had no idea when Syd would come. When her due date came and went it started to KILL me, the waiting. It's nice to know (and a little weird!!) that there will be an exact end date, something to look forward to. I'm just glad I will NEVER, EVER have to be 42 weeks pregnant AGAIN. And yet? I'm already bugging my doctor for a date. That is just SO ME.

10 thoughts on “The 27 week report

  1. Ashley says:

    My second baby was a repeat c-section, too, and I scheduled it as soon as they let me so I could Plan! Ahead! Then the little bugger came two days early anyway. :o) Because I was induced the first time, it seriously never occurred to me that I might not make it to my c-section date!

  2. Diane says:

    The cake mix cookies! Manda BE CAREFUL. They are so good. I made them last week because we accidentally somehow had a cake mix in the house and I wanted to use it up. But then they were SO AMAZING that I made them AGAIN over the weekend for a little party thing we did for my dad. Which is where it gets dangerous, because we used them to make ice cream sandwiches. I’m already scheming for a way to get my next fix. You have been warned!!

  3. barbetti says:

    Those cookies sound amazing. AMAZING. And good for you for staying on track with your prenatals. Even with my complications with D, I rarely took my vitamins and never took my required-iron (I was anemic). Too nauseating.

  4. Courtney says:

    Awesome job kicking the honey nut cheerio and chocoloate syrup habit! You will appreciate it later!! And I must try these delicious cookies you are talking about..anything with the words “cake mix” has to be fabulous! Keep on ROCKin!

  5. ANNIE says:

    If I’ve said this to you before, well, then just stop reading now. But I have to say that my scheduled C-Sections were AWESOME. Not because the surgery was a piece of cake and everything went smoothly (which they were and it did) but because no matter how TIRED I was and how SICK I was and how HUGE I was, I knew my delivery date and I knew that I would not be pregnant past that date. Sure there was the possibility of going into labor before (which never happened with me) but, like you, there was ZERO possibility of being 2+ weeks overdue. And also wonderful? You don’t have to even question yourself about how in the world you’re going to be able to go through labor and pushing because you’re so exhausted now and can’t imagine actually doing that much WORK. Because the Dr. does it all for you. And that’s nice.

  6. Sara says:

    High 5 for sure! Nicely done on the fruits and veg…though the ice cream does sound delightful. And a tremendous HOORAY for Rocky and his perfect heartbeat…nice show little love!!

Leave a Reply

