There are seven of them, but they ain’t quick

1. It's time to FINALLY bump the freak out post. Just for the record, I'm not freaking out (so much) any more. Thank you all for your encouragement! Having two children is going to be a wild ride. I am constantly repeating the mantra "Jesus loves me, I'm going to be all right." It's working. And when I'm in a funk all I have to do is look up and around:

IMG_2382 

DSC01156

DSC01165 

Life ain't so bad. And this little guy is about to get the best big sister and daddy anyone could hope for.

2. I was planning on writing last night, but instead I finally made chocolate chip cookies in my KitchenAid. OH BABY. They did not disappoint. But before you get all Pregnancy Police on me, let me tell you all about the amazing dinner I had! I ate scrambled eggs with cheese, avocado, and pinto beans on a bed of quinoa made with chicken broth. YUM. I've been all crazed on twitter lately about my newfound love of quinoa (pronounced KEEN-wa). My new quinoa BFF Rebecca has hooked me up with many, many quinoa ideas. I was starving last night and knew a bowl of cereal wasn't going to cut it. So even though I was tired I made the effort and fixed myself a big ole healthy dinner. You guys, TRY IT. It's AWESOME.

3. This week was stressful, but it was for good. On Wednesday we cleaned out our entire garage. There are many things about this that go totally against our family's character, the most notable of which is that my husband, who I love dearly and who is father to the Blonde Tornado, is himself a Blonde Hurricane. Organizing and John (to my chagrin!) do not mix. However, it was HIS idea to clean, rearrange, and organize our deathtrap garage this week. We got up early, enlisted Grandma for toddler duty, and got to work. By 3 pm we were both exhausted, but we threw out 1/3 of what was in our garage, neatly organized and stowed 1/3, and decided to sell or give away the rest. IT IS AWESOME. And of course, the whole process jump-started my nesting juices. We moved the file cabinets and desk out of our guest room/office/Rocky's future room and I disassembled, cleaned, washed, and reassembled our bassinet and put it in there along with some other soon-to-be used baby items (bath tub! bouncer! I can't believe we have just over two months to go!). The following day I went through three huge boxes of papers and old junk mail (don't ask me why we had boxes of junk mail SAVED, but alas it's true) and spent most of Wednesday organizing files and shredding. Goodbye paper and boxes! The recycling man is going to be PISSED when he sees what's waiting on the curb when he gets here Monday morning!

4. The other part of my week that has been stressful is making phone calls. I hate phone calls (and so does Sydney … if I'm on the phone it's basically guaranteed that she's clawing me to death and doing things she knows she's not supposed to do). With a baby on the way and straightening out paperwork, it's unfortunately a necessary evil. I cannot believe the loads of crap and garbage we get in the mail EVERY DAY. It should be illegal.

5. Speaking of mail, I did us a solid and downgraded our Netflix account to one movie out at a time (instead of three). I am letting my magazine subscriptions expire. I am just all about purging, simplifying and saving money right now. I also gave Target brand diapers a test drive this week! I bought a small package because I didn't have time for a Costco trip and I'd been interested in trying them out for a while. I couldn't resist the price compared to our usual Huggies Snug n' Drys. Well folks, I'm a convert!! I've noticed that Syd has little more "sweaty booty" with these but you know what? We throw them out and her sweaty booty gets a bath every day. And she hasn't sprung a single leak all week! I am very interested in what OTHER generic products I've been missing out on! When Rocky is born I think I'll stick to Pampers for NB/size one, Huggies for size two, and then when he's ready for size three it's Target all the way (I'm HOPING that Syd will be potty trained by the time he's in threes). 

6. Pregnancy, late week 28: I no longer waste precious nap time on showers. I shower at night. My hair is scary looking all day, but I don't care. I can't make it through the day without a nap anymore unless caffeine is involved. I also am to the point where I can't get up on the first try. Also we are going through a clementine phase this week. I seriously eat at least 4 a day (and so does Sydney!). I'm surprised we haven't turned orange yet. I'll keep you posted.

7. Something I am thankful for: The weather in So Cal (thus far) has been very forgiving this year. There have only been two nights where I was uncomfortably warm and had trouble sleeping (KNOCK ON WOOD!). Our vegetable garden is EXPLODING with green beans and zucchini right now. Lots of tomatoes hang green on the vine and I'm getting tons of basil and cilantro from my pots on the back porch. We get to be outside a lot. We get to be together as a family a lot. We have faced some major challenges and curve balls (and some days are still really hard) but we are doing ok and moving forward.

Today I am excited about what the future holds. I am excited to learn how to be a mom to a little boy, to see my daughter as a big sister, to know my husband as a daddy to a son. I am excited to finally settle on a name for this child (will it EVER happen?!). Change is coming our way. Today I choose to see it as fresh air that we so desperately need. And how do you prepare for a change in the wind?! You can't. You just breathe. And so that's what I'm going to do. Slow down, enjoy the moment, simplify and breathe.

IMG_2385 

Matthew 11:28-30

 "Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light."

More Quick Takes here.

3 thoughts on “There are seven of them, but they ain’t quick

  1. Pamela says:

    I like that cute little girl. She’s a gift from God. My baby makes me happy all the time even when I’m tired. They are really precious. You have a great post! Keep on posting.

  2. Lisa says:

    Don’t remember how I came across your blog but I have been reading for a little while and really enjoy it. Since you have a ton of zucchini I thought I would share an amazing zucchini bread recipe (not so healthy but delicious!):

    3 eggs
    1 c. oil
    2 1/4 c. sugar
    2 c. grated zucchini
    1 Tbls. vanilla
    3 c. flour
    1 Tbls. cinnamon
    1 tsp. salt
    1 tsp. baking soda
    1 1/4 tsp baking powder
    1 c. raisins

    Beat the eggs and add wet ingreadients. mix together dry ingr. and then mix wet and dry mixtures together. Add raisins and bake at 350 for 55 minutes.
    Sometimes I add nuts too, it is great with or without. ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

