Watch not, lose not

Confession time: Week 2 of Operation Get Out of Fat Pants didn't go so hot.

Weight loss? Zero. None. Stalled.

P1170575
(Ironically? This week's overdue new toenail polish color is OPI's "Oh Yes I Can-Can!" Oops.)

I'm actually wiping my brow in relief over this, believe it or not. My family visited this week and when I'm with my girls (Yaya and Auntie Ash) we live up to our reputation of eating anything and everything that's not nailed down. On Tuesday we went to Disneyland and I truly WENT FOR IT and had an EIGHTY-TWO point day (I get 43 points a day and 49 weekly points). And that's not even mentioning the break-and-bake cookies we ate two nights in a row with extra ice cream. And let's not forget the fried fish sandwich with extra tartar sauce and a huge slice of American cheese. Should I mention that I think the bun also might have been buttered? And that YES, I had fries with that?! And then came home and ate ice cream that had the words "Butterfinger" and "Explosion" in the title?! I'm sure you're not surprised to hear that I was teetering on the edge of barfing as I went to bed that night, scarfing Tums and sipping water and praying for mercy (or death) as I sweated onto my pillow. Ugh.

Then this weekend I pawed through my closet helplessly, looking for a pair of pants with a button and a zipper that might fit me. I came away with the same old stretchy yoga pants that have become my necessary uniform. Size 14 is too big, size 12 is too small. I grumbled and complained in near shock when I saw a photo of the broad side (and I do mean BROAD) of my butt in those same, forgiving but not forgetting, yoga pants.

Something is seriously wrong with me.

So I guess we can call this week the week I skated by and didn't have a heart attack and as a side bonus didn't gain five pounds back even though I really deserved it.

My resolve is renewed. I'm freaking sick of my every thought being consumed by what I might get to eat next. My cabinet is stocked with light Progresso soups and diet hot chocolate. My freezer is bursting with Weight Watchers frozen treats. I am eating a banana and sipping on a glass of water as I type this and my next order of business is to count my WW points. I am so done with these yoga pants. I'm done doing the laundry four times a week so I don't have to go out in public in my pajama pants. I am tired of being a slave to food. It's time for a role reversal.

How are YOU doing with your weight loss? How do you keep yourself on the wagon when it's challenging and there are cookies?

13 thoughts on “Watch not, lose not

  1. Erica says:

    I say you treat yourself to some new pants. I think it’s important to look good even when you’re working on your weight. That way you feel good no matter what.
    Also, here is a grain of salt to compliment this advice.
    Good luck!

  2. Elizabeth says:

    I can’t do it when there are cookies! I have to make sure if I bring it in the house, it would be ok if I ate all of it. Because chances are I will. Although sometimes I can do ok with stuff that I buy for Eli if I think “nope, that’s not for me!” But I am an all or nothing kind of girl, so it works better for me to not have any of something delicious like ice cream. I know that I will NEVER eat just one bite so I don’t even get started at all.
    I lost two pounds this week but I won’t lie, I wasn’t exactly on track and I have to work a little bit harder if I don’t want this to take FOREVER. So I am renewing my commitment this week, just like you!

  3. nanette says:

    I’m right there with ya this week — no loss at all, exactly the same. I had a gluttonous weekend & some weird tummy things yesterday/today, so it’s hard to know where I really stand.

    Thinking good thoughts for ya this week!

    OH! And my current OPI toe nail polish is “Lincoln Park After Dark.” Heh.

  4. MamaBub says:

    I gained .2 lbs this week. I’m not surprised given the week I had, so I’m just glad it wasn’t more.

    The only thing that kind of helps is having lots and lots of acceptable snacks because I’m a snacker at heart.

  5. Maggie says:

    I’m only trying to lose 5 lbs, but I’ve been trying to lose them since November and I am falling off the wagon every single stinking day. I just get HUNGRY! For me, I need a “wear a hot dress” deadline and I just don’t have one right now. Perhaps I should get the husband working on that…

  6. Elsha says:

    What keeps me on the wagon is not probably the healthiest way to do things. I drink a Monster energy drink (lo-carb version) around 9 am to kill my appetite til lunch. Also, if I’m “good” all day I get a hot chocolate (2 pts) as a treat after the kids go to bed.

  7. Michelle says:

    I’ve kind of hit a wall too. I just hate being on a diet. I try to tell myself that it’s not a diet, it’s just making healthier choices…blah blah blah. Whatever, it’s a diet. I realize that I got myself into this situation, and only I can get myself out, however, it is hard. Dieting is hard. It’s a lot of planning and figuring out what to eat (and I completely agree with you about constantly thinking about what the next thing I will eat is going to be). And when you have a husband that works odd hours and a busy toddler at home, it’s just rough.

  8. seekingclarav says:

    I am so on your wave length it’s redonkulous. I am now at the same point I was with my first baby except I gained a crap load more weight with her. I lost the first 20 like nothing but then nothing after that. 6 months later and still in maternity jeans, I shit you not, I went crazy and put myself on 1100 calories. Lost 25 in 3 months. BUT my milk dried up. And I got psycho about running and injured my ITB.

    Just yesterday I put myself on 1500 calories but just ate 2 platefulls of brocolli gratin. Mmmmm.

    And I eat cookies,then I feel remorse. But I eat them.

    You can do eeet!

  9. Theresa says:

    I’m totally there with you! I just ate a 14 pt Whopper and 12 pts(!!)worth of fries. Are you going to the meetings? I think they help keep me on track, well at least normally =) Also, they are my little block of time away from the kids. I have a 21 month old and a 8 week old so I know how important YOU time is.

  10. larmar says:

    I just weighed myself for my second week of WW, and guess what??! Zero! Ha. that’s too funny. I was feeling pretty down on myself, but I am pulling some motivation from you. Paul wants his clothes back. 😉

  11. JEnell says:

    Hi manda its me Jenell for the naz church well i too have two babies but mine our two boys well i was weighing in at 180 but last augs it finally hit me that i wasnt so happy being my big self so i started changing so far im doing ok i still get coke instead of water and chow down chips wehn my husbands at work but im trying to work on that and im making a stands on my diet and putting my foot down and sayin gone with all bad chips and soda which is my only addiction lol..but on the good note im down to 150 i lost 30lbs i still need more to lose only 20lbs but it seems that is the hardest thing to lose

  12. Shauna says:

    I’ve sooo been there! I agree with Erica, buy at least one pair of new pants! You’re already trying to eat healthier to better yourself and your body, you deserve to feel good about yourself too!
    I know it seems annoying, but I will literally plan what I’m going to eat all day every morning. When I’m being extra out of control, I even right down the times I can eat them. Ridiculous? Yes! But it works! If I can visualize that at this time, I’m going to eat this, it will stop me from pigging out all the time in between. I just find something else to do to pass the time (you’re laughing at this point because, two kids? FIND something to do?! Haha) I realize this makes me look like I have no self control but hey, it works and I don’t care!
    I also figured out that I like snacks more than I like meals. I used to have normal sized meals but then I would still snack all day and use all my points and then some. I started eating lower point, smaller meals and continued to eat a lot of snacks, because that’s what I like and I realized I was just going to do it anyway.
    I’m no expert by any means, my highest weight was 185 and I’m down to 140 now, I thiiink with 10 more pounds to go, we’ll see when I get there what feels right. But anyway, I SO think you can do this and I can’t wait to follow along as you kick ass 🙂

  13. Courtney says:

    You CAN do this! Get all the “bad” stuff out of the house! Ever watch Biggest Loser? Well, it works for everyday people too. Gotta have a lifestyle change…diets don’t work in the long run. Are you eating because you are hungry or because you are bored? Ask yourself those questions. Is what you are eating going to benefit your body in a good way? I have lots of ideas if you ever need any!

Leave a Reply

