This is not happening. No really. It is NOT HAPPENING.

In terms of weight loss we are going from stalled to IN REVERSE.

Week4 +1.8 pounds

I want to tell you that I weighed in a day late. I want to tell you that I had not pooped yet. I want to tell you that I was fully dressed whilst on the scale. I want to tell you that I tracked points with INTEGRITY last week up until Sunday, because that is the last day of the week for me on WW and I usually weigh in on Monday mid-morning AND I had lots of overflow points left. I want to complain that the weight is not falling off this time because I am nursing a baby. I want to tell you that the baby's not sleeping (hasn't made it through the night in nearly TWO WEEKS. And that's after a blissful 2-month-ish stretch of sleeping a solid 12 hours a night) and I'm pretty sure this is sleep-deprivation related. Because you retain water when you don't sleep. RIGHT?! I also want to tell you about the lady in my mommy and me class who keeps bringing boxes of doughnuts to class and about how this is totally her fault.

I want to cuss. I want to quit. I want to eat an entire box of cookies because WHAT IS THE POINT. After all my big talk last week I'm already in the red.

Blerg.

14 thoughts on “This is not happening. No really. It is NOT HAPPENING.

  1. Jenn says:

    I’m sorry, girl. Hang in there and blow us away next week! Don’t let this one tiny thing throw you off course. It’s over now, so just keep moving. And if you tell me where you go to mommy and me, I’ll go kick the bitch who keeps bringing the doughnuts.

  2. Caroline says:

    stressing about losing weight also can be a factor. Any type of stress can be a factor and yes lack of sleep is one. Keep going. I know lots of mommies lost weight when they stopped nursing. Don’t stop nursing however to lose weight. Keep trucking.

  3. Ashley says:

    That really sucks. But my first thought upon seeing the picture was, “She weighed in wearing jeans? Those suckers are heavy!” So I really think you ought to try again without the clothes! (And after a good poop, of course.)

  4. larmar says:

    Sorry Manda! I know how depressing that can be. Sometimes I think our bodies sense things that we never know about, and acts accordingly. Like maybe Elijah is about to have a growth spurt, and his body was all “Stock up, yo.” And your body was all, “Holla.” Then it doesn’t matter if you do everything ‘right’. But that’s ok. Things will regulate in time. Just hang in there.

  5. Amy says:

    Oh I HEAR THIS. I’ve been running and eating healthier than I thought possible and generally being Very Good and still, up a pound or so. FOR NO GOOD REASON. So annoying.

  6. C says:

    I’ve been having the same problem lately, but weightloss is a weird process. It very often makes no sense to me. My husband has been encouraging me to keep it up and give it time. He keeps telling me “You’re only 3 weeks in! It takes time for your body to adjust to the new calorie and exercise intake.” It’s encouraging to hear, but honestly… he can lose 5 pounds in one week easily. Which is why I love/hate him. Males. Female bodies just want to hold onto those extra pounds. We have to work harder. Does your WW program include walking/running?

  7. C says:

    Oh, also: DO NOT GIVE UP, SISTER! And: STEP AWAY FROM THE COOKIES! GET THE COOKIES OUT OF THE HOUSE! (You know what is a surprisingly sweet & tasty snack? Yellow bell peppers. Me likey.)

  8. MamaBub says:

    Oh, we are living the same life. What I need now is a walking buddy as it is very, very hilly where I live so walking is not just a cop out but actual exercise. If I ever actually eave the house to do it, that is.

  9. Brandy says:

    I have definitely had weeks like that. Don’t give up, you can absolutely do it! I know how it feels to have that happen but don’t let it get you down. Next week you will have an even better week, I just know it.

    Now I have a question. Are you doing the traditional WW or are you doing the new Points system with free fruit? Just curious, as I love me some WW. šŸ™‚

  10. Emily says:

    You can do this, Manda!

    Remember the first two weeks are SO VERY HARD. Two weeks! And it takes THREE weeks to cement a habit. So if you can make it three weeks, you’re golden. Your body just needs time to adjust.

    Listen, you did this once before. It is SO HARD, I know. But you have crazy willpower and you have all of us here to support you and think of how awesome it will be to attend the Blathering in the fall with some new awesome clothes and feeling so damned sexy. Are you with me? I know you are! I know you can do it. I believe you can!

  11. Maggie says:

    Diets SUCK. SUUUUUUUCK. And I don’t know who these people are who say nursing makes the weight fall off. NOT FOR ME! And isn’t your life hard enough without giving up COOKIES? I am hating this for you. I think we should go to Disneyland and eat our weight in those parmesan fries. ??? Not helpful?

    But I believe in you too! And you can do this and the new baby funk won’t last forever and GO MANDA!

Leave a Reply

