I chose well.

Ladies? You have the chance to hand-pick the man who will one day be the father of your children. It's a big deal.

You not only have to figure out if the man you have in your sights will be a good mate to you, but you also have to make an educated guess about the relationship he might have with any future children.

You hope that he'll love your children just as they are;

that he'll laugh with you and weep with you over them;

that he'll be kind and fun,

gentle and honest,

humble and teachable;

that he'll lead by example and discipline with love;

that he'll be confident in you as their mother;

that he'll do everything in his power to provide for his family;

that he will teach your children how to dream and take them on adventures.

 

We hope for those things, and I am well aware that some of us do not get them all.

DSC01800

But I did.

I got it all.

And that blesses me and the children to whom he will forever be "Daddy."

 

Love you my Johnny. Happy Father's Day.

5 thoughts on “I chose well.

  1. Jessica says:

    I got it all, too:)

    I’ve been meaning to tell you I love Elijah’s haircut. It looks great! (I know his hair isn’t cut in this picture.)

  2. steph says:

    Mmmm. This was great!

    I may print this list out and pray specifically for each of these things!

  3. Nate says:

    Wow, incredible words, Amanda. Beautiful. And what an encouragement to him. Thank you for posting these. I think you chose well indeed.

Leave a Reply

