How to get a reputation.

SO! Last week I finally got Sydney to her rescheduled 3-year checkup. I had an appointment scheduled last Monday but dropped it like it was hot to go wedding dress shopping with my sister and mom who were in town visiting (good thing too! We found her dress! AIEEEE!). I made the mistake of calling to reschedule on a Monday morning about 15 minutes before I was supposed to be there for the appointment, for one, and also called before imbibing my necessary day-starter cup of coffee. The conversation went something like this as I pawed through my calendar:

"Hi! I need to reschedule my daughter's appointment? For today? That's supposed to be in like 15 minutes? Tee hee?"

"Of course, Mrs. Inside Dog. When would you like to come in?"

"Wednesday?"

"Morning or afternoon?"

"Morning please– OH WAIT! Sorry! I can't come in that day. How about tomorrow?"

"I'm sorry Mrs. Inside Dog, Dr. L is not in on Tuesdays. Is there another day you can come in?"

"Oh! I know! Friday afternoon!"

 "I'm sorry Mrs. Inside Dog, the doctor is not in on Friday afternoons either." (I study my calendar hard, again.)

"So how about Tuesday morning?"

"The office is closed that day."

"Oh! Sorry! I knew that! How about Wednesday morning then?" (yes, I'd already told her I couldn't do it.)

"We have 10, 10:30, 11, 11:30 available."

"11:30 please. No wait! Crap! I meant 10:30. Eep?" (the receptionist audibly sighs.)

"Ok then Mrs. Inside Dog. I have you down for 10:30 on Wednesday morning. We will see you then."

Aaaaand, yep. This is why everyone at the pediatrician's office knows me so very well. Blech.

5 thoughts on “How to get a reputation.

  1. anne nahm says:

    That is awesome. And also awesome to know I’m not the only one. And also, awesome that you got a dress!

    TrueFax: I once had the exact opposite only same conversation with a dentist receptionist, where she kept saying, “can you make Wednesday at 11? How about I have an opening Thursday at 10, 11:45, and 3:00?”

    And all I could do was say, “nope,” repetitively in shame. But it was true! I had to see them, but life was seriously busy.

    Finally she said (in tightly restrained fury), “Well, Anne, why don’t *you* just tell *me* when you can come in, and I’ll see if that works for us.”

    Doh.

  2. K says:

    I have the same type of conversation (and also sound like I’ve had a stroke) whenever I need to make an appointment anywhere.

  3. Mama Bub says:

    But I think this is how every appointment scheduling phone call goes, because you’re trying to find the magic hour that works for both your schedule and theirs. Plus, I always feel like I’m inconveniencing them when I call to schedule something, even though this is 100% their job.

Leave a Reply

