In which I give things away, vol 1.

So! I've been on an organizing bender. A stressful month of October led to a LOT of organizing and rearranging and purging at my house the last few weeks and there's more to come! (I'm sure my husband is more than thrilled to read this! Hi Bud! Hold on to your hat … or I might donate it to Goodwill! Tee hee!) I've gone through loads of kid clothes, bagged up old toys and halved our stuffed animal population, dropped off bags and bags to our local drop box. It feels AMAZING!

The whole process began when one day I – finally fed up with Sydney's dramatic hollering in the morning to GET! ME! MAMA! I GOTTA GO POTTY! – wrestled the guest room mattress into her room and set up a new camp.

There have been a few bumps, but the Big Girl Bed has gone over like gangbusters!

IMG_4812

Napping in her Big Girl Bed LIKE A BOSS.

We decided to keep the crib in her room for emergencies (like, Hey! You got out of your bed 49 times! If you get up one more back to the HOLE with you!) and by the time my family comes to visit in January we hope to have her brother moved in there. And what are we doing with the spare room I ask you? Making it into the bad assest playroom of all time! I scored a $50 4×4 Expedit on Craigslist and it is shaping up to be AMAZING. The kids actually PLAY in there! Imagine!

Anyway, stuff has gotta go. A lot of it is easy to part with, but I actually have some decent stuff that I don't know what to do with … namely books. We have so, so many books. What do you do? We were both English majors with MFAs in creative writing. We like to keep books! We like to read them! We stack them everywhere until we are drowning! We (thus far!) refuse digital readers!

So! My point! I am getting to it! I have some books that I thought maybe YOU might like. I'm going to give them away one at a time and a few other things too. It's pretty simple: I throw up a post with the item I'm giving away and you comment and then I plug the numbers into random.org and post the winner and mail you the thing you won! And there's a pretty good chance you could win (MULTIPLE TIMES!) over here on inside dog versus, say, a pretty redheaded Oklahoma lady who gives away fancy non-used thingies alls the time! Now don't get all excited. This stuff isn't all that fancy. But it's free! And it's fun to get things in the mail!

Mostly, this is November, and my mind is turning to the things I am thankful for. One of the things I am thankful for is this blog. I have loved getting to know so many awesome people through this blog and hope to meet more of you! I am thankful to have a space where I can speak my mind, write about my family and my dogs and my little spray-paint projects. I feel blessed to have the chance to connect with awesome people who I would not otherwise know.

So if you're out there and you'd like to win today's prize? Just leave a comment and answer this question: My LEAST favorite Thanksgiving food is (fill in the blank)."

And the prize is?

IMG_4771

My once-read copy of Bossypants by Tina Fey!

It was a fun read. If you love SNL or 30 Rock or writing or just need a light read, this is a good one. (Beware the f-bomb, though, sensitive friends. It's in there.)

So that's it! Leave your comments after the beep. Good luck!

(My LEAST favorite Thanksgiving food, by the way? Pumpkin cheesecake. One of the times I barfed while visiting my family in Colorado was right after I ate A LOT of pumpkin cheesecake. Pumpkin cheesecake that I insisted on making and serving. Even though I had to RE-make it after an unfortunate incident involving a mixer and a rat DON'T ASK. So yes, I stick to pumpkin pie. And cheesecake is on the Bad List. Forever.)

Comments will be open until Sunday night at midnight (PST). Please comment only once and enter a valid email address so I can contact you for your mailing address. I'll announce the winner on Tuesday, November 15 along with the next giveaway!

This is NOT a sponsored giveaway. I bought these items and no one is paying me to give them away! Shipping is coming out of my own pocket and I'll send them along as soon as I get the time.

31 thoughts on “In which I give things away, vol 1.

  1. Dr. Maureen says:

    Aw, dammit, I forgot to say what food I don’t like. Feel free to delete my first comment so I don’t screw up a random number generator, if that’s how you’re doing it. Anyway, turnip. Not a fan of turnip.

  2. Colleen says:

    If you are willing to ship to Canada… My least favourite Thanksgiving food is stuffing. One too many times eating nasty, soggy bread, I just can’t stand it any more.

  3. Kristy L says:

    This is fun 🙂 My least favorite Thanksgiving food is the green bean cassarole. Just cant bring myself to like it!

  4. Amy L says:

    Fun! My least favorite thanksgiving food is a jello salad my husbands gramma makes. It is orange jello, cool whip, and shredded cheese on top. Yuck!

  5. Anna says:

    I just can’t get on board with mashed sweet potatoes- with the marshmallows, it’s just way to sweet to call itself POTATOES. Crazy, I know. (Also, I would LOVE to read Bossypants- the waiting list at my library is months long and I am not that patient!)

  6. J. says:

    I don’t know why the cranberry stuff that comes out of a can and retains the shape of the can even exists, but it is my least favorite (and I typically like processed foods). I’m crossing my fingers–this book is at the top of my would-like-to-read list.

  7. HereWeGoAJen says:

    Yams, sweet potatoes, whatever you want to call them. Potatoes are not intended to be sweet. Yuck. (Although, I’d vote for that jello salad with the cheese if it tried to make an appearance on my table.)

  8. Jackie says:

    The canned cranberry stuff for sure! It’s just wrong! My favorite, even though you didn’t ask is pumpkin pie… But I like it cold!

  9. melissa says:

    Oooo I WANT this book. I keep trying to find it at the library or somewhere that I don’t have to buy it and here you are! giving it away! Awesome. My least favorite Thanksgiving food is…pumpkin pie. I am not a fan of pumpkin anything really.

  10. Jennifer says:

    I am stuck between hating the mashed-up sweet potatoes with marshmellow goop on top and the cranberry out of a jar. Love Tina Fey- hope to read her book soon! 🙂

  11. SUPAHMAMA says:

    I can’t STAND “canned” Cranberry Jelly. There is nothing appetizing about a jell can shaped side (if you can call it that) sliced and served in disks. Um, no. No, no and NO.

  12. Kelli says:

    Fun idea! Um, my least favorite is squash…yucko! Not sure if is the stringy texture or what but I don’t care for it!

  13. Angela says:

    Add me to the list of cranberry haters. Just don’t like it! I would love to read this book- I am somewhere in the low 100s on the hold list at my library. 🙂

  14. Julie says:

    I really can’t stand the sweet potatoes with marshmallows. I’m in charge of the sweet potatoes this year, and I’ll probably have to make that version for my dad, who only eats sweet potatoes that way. But I’m also going to come up with another sweet potato recipe that doesn’t give me diabetes just by smelling it.

    (Also, green bean casserole, which I have to make for my husband. Why do that to a poor, defenseless green bean?)

  15. Miranda says:

    I think my least favorite Thanksgiving food is cranberry sauce from a can. I can eat it when it’s fresh, but I don’t want any of that jelly stuff.

    However, this pregnancy I’m completely off of poultry, so there is a good chance I’ll be passing on the turkey this year. So sad. But, barf.

  16. Ashley says:

    This is hard because I LOOOVE Thanksgiving, but I have to go with green bean casserole. There are very few vegetables I don’t absolutely love, but green beans top the list. Oh, and the canned cranberry goop? Is the BEST STUFF EVER OMG I LOVE IT. Can’t eat turkey without it!

  17. Jen says:

    My MIL’s stuffing. It is comprised of WET CROUTONS. Gross.
    I have been on the wait list for this book at the library forever! Fun giveaway!

  18. Tara says:

    Cranberry sauce. Why is that a holiday food? I don’t like cranberries ever. And I don’t want them to ruin my Thanksgiving food.

  19. seussgirl says:

    I completely forgot about green bean casserole until read the comments, but that right there makes the top of my icky list. Icky, icky, icky, pating. :p

  20. Shelby says:

    I’m thinking really hard about this. As a kid, I hated both stuffing and pumpkin pie, but I’ve come around on both. Maybe mine would be green bean casserole? I don’t hate it, but I could take it or leave it. It just never seems to have as much flavor as I want it to.

  21. Nell says:

    I hate sweet potatoes, which happen to be the contribution to the large Thanksgiving dinner have each year – WTH?? Really?
    I would like to say VERY much of the clutter at our house is books also! I would love to add to the clutter! 😉

Comments are closed.