Tardy for the party (Bossypants winner and giveaway, vol. 2!)

Oh you guys.

I had PLANS! I was going to write all your names on pieces of paper! And put them in a cute hat! And then have my daughter draw the WINNER! And take photos and post them and it was going to be the cutest thing EVER!

Man. We make plans, you know? And sometimes those plans fall WAY SHORT.

Like so:

What happened over here is that on Monday night Sydney barfed her guts out from 7 pm – 6 am. Every hour, on the hour. It was THE WORST. So far no one else is sick, thank goodness. Please SHOUT a prayer out for me because I ALWAYS get the stomach bugs around here and John is on a work trip as of this morning and Mama is TIRED y'all.

Anyway! I was supposed to announce the winner yesterday but instead I did 4,000 loads of barf laundry and tended to my sick little girl.

But now it's Wednesday! And she's feeling a lot better! And I'd like to give away Bossypants now.

Without further ado:

Our winner is commenter #3: Colleen! Who lives in Canada and hates stuffing!

And well, WHY NOT! I WILL ship to Canada! Although Colleen, I must warn you, I am a cheapskate. So you can expect your book sometime this coming summer, just in time to read it by the pool while sipping a frosty beverage. ENJOY!

And now for our next giveaway:

My half-read copy of Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

IMG_4772

(It was half-read because I read the part about the "Eat" and then got sorta distracted. I watched the movie last Christmas as I wrapped gifts so that totally counts as finishing the book. This is totally an airplane read. Just in time for holiday travel!)

AND! A bonus book!

IMG_4774

The Time Traveler's Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

Ok so here's the thing about this book. The idea is really interesting, however I am an MFA nerd so I don't think it's all that well-written. BUT! I still found it fascinating and cried my face off at one point. SO! Maybe don't read this one on the airplane! Also I think this one was better than the movie.

SO! I am giving away two recently popular books that you might love or you might hate! But it's better than reading your husband's old Stereophile magazines on the toilet! Ahem.

Leave one comment to enter to win the package of both books. Commenting will be open until Thursday at 12 pm (PST). And since I've got barf on the brain, please tell me about the one thing that always makes you feel better when you're sick! And if magic, magic Zofran doesn't count, then I'd like to say that when I have been barfing, sweet iced tea always makes me feel better. My mom gave it to me when I was sick as a kid and it still does the trick.

Good luck! I'll announce the winner on Friday (I HOPE!).

14 thoughts on “Tardy for the party (Bossypants winner and giveaway, vol. 2!)

  1. Jennifer says:

    I think sweet tea can make just about anything better? Right? 😉 Sorry to hear the illness has hit your house with the consistency of a newborn baby’s night feedings. :/

  2. sarah says:

    Hi Manda,
    Longtime lurker, firsttime commenter (does that make me greedy and rude? blerg) …
    It’s a tie:
    – my Mum, and
    – tea and toast
    I have the first book so would gladly re-re-gift it! 🙂
    Thanks,
    sarah

  3. seussgirl says:

    I am definitely a fan of the ginger ale. And I love that it’s one of the few sodas we can buy in a 3-liter bottle, because that’s about all that will be used to dehydrate me after a tummy bug.

Comments are closed.