It’s Christmas card time! (and a Shutterfly giveaway for YOUR holiday card!)

For many years (up until Sydney's first Christmas, I think) I wrote a belabored Christmas newsletter that I painstakingly edited down to one page. It's funny actually, how I could come up with PAGES of information about what was going on in our lives pre-kids. It was a lot like blogging I suppose … a bit narcissitic and involved a lot of navel-gazing and everyone prefers it when there are cute kids involved but I DIGRESS. Once I had something (or someONE) worth a Christmas newsletter? I was too tired and overtaxed to get it done. From there on out it's been a personalized photograph card, and even getting THOSE addressed and mailed in time is a bear.

This year I've been toying with the idea of doing a newsletter again, but the idea of sitting down at my computer for a few hours and banging something witty and actually interesting is still, well, overwhelming (and impossible, because my kids GO NUTS when I open my laptop). So! I've been checking out a lot of cool "bullet point" newsletter cards over at Shutterfly and I have to admit they are COOL! It's the right balance of photos and a few fun – and QUICK – updates about the year in the life of your family.

Like so:

Screen Shot 2012-11-05 at 8.51.15 AM

Or this!

Screen Shot 2012-11-05 at 8.50.49 AM

Just a few words about your year, updated photos, and a "Merry Christmas" wish, all-in-one. Sounds like a perfect Christmas card for us this year!

And now for the fun part, the giveaway! Just enter a comment on this post and tell me if you'll be sending out holiday cards this year (and if so what kind!) and you'll be entered to win $50 off an order of $50 or more* on Shutterfly.com for your holiday card order this year!! The drawing will close next Friday (Nov. 16) and soon after I'll announce a winner. Good luck!

Also, check out Shutterfly's special offers here. I don't know about YOUR family, but mine has come to expect an updated photo mug every year for Christmas. A personalized photo gift is the sure way to make Grandma cry happy tears under the Christmas tree, folks.

*The fine print: $50 off excludes tax
and shipping & cannot be combined with any other promos and expires
12/14/2012 – no extensions.

This post was sponsored by Shutterfly. I received free product in exchange for this post, but the thoughts and opinions expressed are my own.

29 thoughts on “It’s Christmas card time! (and a Shutterfly giveaway for YOUR holiday card!)

  1. jan says:

    Yes, we always send out Christmas photo cards since having kids five years ago and I always look for the best deal since we mail out A LOT!

  2. Seussgirl says:

    I used photo cards for the first time last Christmas and loved them! I saw an idea (Pinterest maybe, probably) about using the photo cards you receive to make a contact book or “Who’s Who” for kids that might be fun to do this year.

  3. Melissa A says:

    Yes! I have cards already setup on Shutterfly, I’m just trying to choose which I prefer. I love this ‘highlights’ card idea too though…although if I win, I’d use this towards a photo book I have waiting there instead 🙂 Pick me!

  4. Angela (@Aferg22) says:

    I always send out photo cards, and Shutterfly is my favorite site! I have never sent out a newsletter, but I have been toying with the idea, so the card + newsletter in one is perfect.

  5. HereWeGoAJen says:

    First, I want to know why those people in that second card moved to Switzerland for such a short period of time.

    I am considering a newsletter this year too. I suspect I will run out of time and not do it, but we will see. I am definitely doing cards though and using Shutterfly! 🙂

  6. Caci says:

    We’ve never sent out a Christmas card. We’ve wanted to, but just never get around to doing it. Love the picture & highlights card idea. Maybe if we happen upon a good family photo, we might have to take the plunge.

  7. shannon says:

    Sometimes we send out cards, sometimes we don’t. This year will probably be a check in the don’t column because we’ve had a lot of big expenses (tires on 2 cars, etc) and are scrimping just to get the kids some things for Christmas.

  8. Scott says:

    We send out about 125 Photo Christmas cards. I love all the new Shutterfly designs. So many choices to choose from. I will order from them no matter what so $50 would really help with the cost. It only my sons 2nd Christmas.

  9. Michelle says:

    We usually sent out photo cards too. This year I am going to use a collage of our snapshots as we are waiting until spring to have our professional family pictures. I love he highlight card idea. Hmmmm….. I never do the whole newsletter but I am loving the bullet point style.

  10. Jesabes says:

    I’ll definitely be sending out Shutterfly holiday cards this year! And calendars and coasters and anything else we can think of. (The coasters are our favorite, actually.)

  11. Shannon says:

    We do send out cards every year, now that we have 2 lil’ chitlins we do photo cards. We have used Shutterfly for other things (ahem photo calendars)… would love to try them for Christmas cards!

  12. tess says:

    i would love to send out holiday cards- if i could afford them…and i want to send a photo card with all 3 of my kids on them
    tcogbill at live dot com

  13. Miranda says:

    We’ll do a photo card, but I haven’t thought much about it beyond that. This is our first Christmas as a family of four, so I’m excited to have Damien’s smiley face appear on the card.

  14. Lisa says:

    I do send Christmas cards every year, and I do a letter, too. I always feel so cheesy doing it, but people tell me that they love them, so I guess I will continue….

  15. Jenny says:

    What a great idea! I was thinking about writing a letter (since we haven’t in 5 years) but everyone’s letter all sounds the same and I frankly just don’t feel like it. Will definitely look into this option.

Comments are closed.